We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Ole Sereni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ole Sereni
Ranked #15 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

When we first got here the hotel could not find our reservation which we had made on the hotels' website. I had actually even made two, one of which I wanted to cancel, but couldn't as the website was down (they couldn't find any of them). I had to forward them the e-mail whereupon they made a new reservation at the rate specified in the e-mail. They sorted all this out, so no problems really, but might have been more of a problem if the hotel was fully booked. Don't know if this is a recurring problem.

Anyway, the hotel is fantastic. Both the premises and our room were very, very clean and well maintained. Wi-fi in the room was somewhat unreliable, and as I am writing this my computer is blinking from the power coming and going. After calling housekeeping they promptly fixed what we had asked for. Breakfast is incredibly tastefully prepared with something for everyone, accompanied by a man playing the grand piano. Other seating areas are plentiful, with a variety of restaurants on the premises. Pool area looks nice, although it is too cold to use it now. The game park is no safari, but we've already seen giraffes and ostriches which seems more than one would expect in a big city.

Last, but not least the hotel is close to JKIA. There is no airport hotel in Nairobi, and this was the closest we could find. Although it is not an airport hotel, that was still what we were looking for, and therefore maybe partially expecting. And as far as airport hotels go, this one beats them all. A very nice place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldWide-EBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    503
    199
    73
    65
See reviews for
152
274
74
554
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

was our final night of a great holiday - conveniant for the airport!!. Hotel itself is very nice although staff were efficient but not particularly friendly - perhaps that is the expectation from the large numbers of buisness guests.

Food was very nice and the view across the Nairobi national park was pleasant although easier to spot airplanes than animals when we were there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pog_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

My babe came back again early last month because apparently he cant keep away from his woman and the beautiful county Kenya....Anyway thistime round I didnt get any days off work and thought his visit was going to be a disaster since we wouldnt be able to go far.

Wechoose to stay atOlesereni located on Mombasa road and a few minutes away from the Airport,this turned out to be a great spot as it was also a few minutes away from my place of work.

The hotel has managed to brong together the feeling of being in the wildereness and city life together, They have a bar which doesnt have much activity, You have to love the live band which plays there on the weekends and you can also request a song and sing along!!

On the terrace they have beautiful girrafe carvings which bring out the Wild and at night you get to sit with a glass of wine, candles lit all around and see various animals pass you by, very romantic.

Their food is good, I especially loved pork chops and Chocolate fudge cake, ate it everyday.

The rooms are a bit small and there is no much space between the bed and the bathroom but all in all they were clean. What I loved most about the room is the fact that they all face the forest and through their ernonours windows one can see the wildlife at night.

The location was also convinient as I left work as usual and returned to my baby in the evening, We would go dancing at various nightclubs located not far from the hotel, I also got to take him to the famous Maasai Market to get some sourveniours to take back with him

We stayed there for 3 nights and would reccomend it for someone coming here for business.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bridgitndinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The actual attitude of all the staff is very pleasant and can-do, but delivery is poor. In the week I stayed at the hotel, there were many instances of poor/no feedback and service.

WiFi in the rooms is weak and unreliable, which is not helped by numerous power failures.

The hotel is overpriced in every way, particularly food.

Attention to detail is poor and I experienced many examples - two small ones was that the price in the room service menu of the meal I ordered was different from the the price actually charged ( apparently as it came from a different source within the hotel - strange?) and the other that there was no TV guide. There were many small issues like this.

The design of the doors (slam shut) and the corridors, in conjunction with poor soundproofing from the corridors, makes it a very noisy night experience, especially if your room is close to the lift end of the floor

The location of the hotel is unfortunate for everything except if you are coming from or going to the airport. It is out of town ( higher taxi costs ) and horrific traffic congestion ( which is probably unavoidable anywhere you stay in Nairobi )

Room Tip: My room was well thought out and good. I believe they are all the same but ask one at the other end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GabrielaJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

A recent solo trip through Africa landed me in Kenya, requiring a hotel overnight i ended up at the Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi. i say 6 STARS, perfect for business, pleasure, solo, romantic... it caters for all. the room are impeccable, the dinner and bar areas perfect for a vino to relax and take in a sun set, free good wifi, and a great gym to wake up the body ... the best surprise is the breakfast, brilliant buffet overlooking the national park.... with the eagle eye you will be able to enjoy some giraffe spotting as well.

Room Tip: be sure to ask for a room overlooking the national park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbourneTravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisumu, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Ole Sereni's greatest asset is its location near the airport. It is far enough from the center of town to not get stuck in the worst of the traffic that plagues this city. The rooms are small but comfortable, and ours was perfectly clean. The staff were very good, and breakfast was quite nice. The game park is scenic, even if you don't see any animals.

If you are staying for a longer time in Nairobi, then there are better places to stay (e.g., Fairview, Tribe, Sankara). However, if you are just there overnight and coming from the airport, Ole Sereni is very convenient. This is especially true if your arriving or departing flight would require being on the road during the morning or evening rush on weekdays, where it can take literally hours just to get to the center of town (although now it seems like those morning and evening rush periods are extending to cover the whole day!).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Relatively close to the airport (about $15 taxi ride) and not bad rooms etc! But not cheap!!
However, what lets this place down is the attitude of the staff! They were sullen and almost downright rude! maybe that was because it was late at night and they wanted to go home.
That said - the room service staff were excellent - attentive and caring - they couldn't do enough for me!
Don't know what the hotel was like during the day - this was a business trip stop-over and one I won't repeat!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.2 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#14 of 164 in Nairobi
765 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
631 reviews
4.6 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Lazizi Premiere
The Lazizi Premiere
#13 of 164 in Nairobi
80 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,267 reviews
3.9 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#10 of 164 in Nairobi
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Sereni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Sereni

Property: Ole Sereni
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole Sereni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ole Sereni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing