We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ole Sereni hotel was more than we expected”
Review of Ole Sereni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ole Sereni
Ranked #19 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2011

My wife and I booked our safari with Naady Travel a Kenya based tour operator because we were referred to by a friend who had used them for their masai mara safari. In All the safari was a 9 day safari and it included masai mara, and a mombasa experience. I had never heard of this hotel before but since i wanted a hotel next to the airport Naady Travel recommended it. We spent one night here. The hotel is located just 4 km from the airport and is within Nairobi National park. Even though the hotel is in the park we did not see any animals. The service was fine and the food was great. I would recommend it for someone staying there after a safari because its so close to the airport.
The only negative thing i would say is their internet connection sucked. I did not connect to the internet not once but the lady at the business center insisted on charging me Kshs 200 anyway for a wireless connection which did not work.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jowwii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,244 - 1,250 of 1,369 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2011

During the recently held Airtel Africa partners' meet, had the pleasure of being in this hotel. The hotel is located bang on the boundaries of the Nairobi wildlife national park...in fact many rooms have the view of the park. The first floor resturant is a very good place to sit watch the wild animals like Giraffe and others roaming in the park.
The food is quite good and the people are very pleasant.
The recetion, business centre etc are located in the first floor...this area could have more illumination..especially the reception desk area is little dark.
But the price of the hotel isvery high...not woth the rates.
Other than that every thing is good about the hotel

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plpalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

I live in Nairobi and visited the hotel for their Sunday brunch and i must admit for a price of $30 per person I wasn't to happy. Generally it is hard to get good value for money for a good meal and I expected more from this hotel, and as per most of the restaurants in Nairobi, we ate at the Big Five restaurant, it fell short and the most shocking thing was that they didn't have hand towels to clean our hands before the meal and we had to visit the bathrooms to have them I cleaned,I personally declined and requested for a hand bowl as I was with my baby, really that's a flaw, the hotel needs to look into that.I am sure never going back :-(

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Manesha w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

The Ole Sereni is a wonderful hotel. The property has a wonderful location between the airport and the city center (which is very important when one considers Nairobi's legendary traffic), right on the edge of Nairobi National Park. The rooms are well appointed, there is an excellent terrace bar and restaurant that overlooks the game park and the business facilities are exactly what one would expect from a top quality business hotel.

So what is the problem? The staff, though very friendly and eager to help, seem entirely unable to comprehend the concept of time and focus. While holidaymakers might appreciate a leisurely multi-hour breakfast, a business traveler can usually spend 20-30 minutes at most. To wait that long for the cup of coffee you have requested simply means that you must go without. Similarly the chef at the custom egg station seems to think that adding ingredients you didn't ask for is a good thing, which it may be unless you have allergies. And one morning they forgot to lay out the butter at the buffet. Twenty minutes later it still had not arrived so again one had to do without. Also please budget at least an hour to check out. Longer if you intend to pay by credit card. The checkout process involves sending someone up to your room to check the minibar consumption and to ensure you haven't nicked anything of value while you wait at the front desk.

If the hotel can educate its staff about the value of focussed service delivery, it has the potential to become the best hotel in Nairobi. The hard product is excellent, it just needs a bit of a soft product tweak.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SeanMendis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

The rooms are big, clean, new and comfortable; you could not ask for better. The staff were helpful and sorted our issues some of the group had with the configuration of the rooms booked. The breakfast was one of the best on our month long tour; big buffet with great choice and quality. There was a party the night of our stay which was a bit noisy for those in the group near the party.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTraveller234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Located 10 minutes up the main Mombasa Road from JKIA int'l airport, this is a transit hotel or base for those active in the industrial areas southeast of the city, and also hosts local (small scale) meetings downstairs.

Location is the draw for those who need to be in this area, and it is definitely NOT for those who want to go downtown ... another 6km distant and with daytime traffic 30-45 minutes to/from the CBD area directionally depending on time of day and traffic flow.

Nearby buildings are warehouses, showrooms, and some brand new office buildings on Mombasa Road; while the hotel itself sits on a large plot of undeveloped open land 100m off the road by itself. The hotel directly fronts the Nairobi National Park 100 meters away, and one can see Zebra herds etc while you eat. The views and large empty scrubland space of the park makes in-your-face Nairobi seem distant.

There is absolutely nothing of interest within walking distance or nearby, but with two local shopping centers are a few km's in each direction if you need basic supermarket supplies with no traffic jams.

Run by the foreign Sarovar hotel group, the low-rise 4 story building isn't new as it was once upon a time the US Embassy. The building exterior is newly refurbished, as is the interior decor which is very new, modern, and artsy. Overall it has good security, it's clean, there's a 100% back-up generator for the infrequent power cuts, and staff are very friendly and helpful. Room decor and bathrooms is all very new, with flat screen TV, good wi-fi, nice firm mattress, and with it's semi-remote location .... quiet!

This is not a cheap hotel, so breakfast is to decent standard as would be expected; and also offers numerous hearty Swahili style vegetable-only dishes probably new to most people.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ggggggggggghhhyttfff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2010

This hotel was one of the best in our many travels if not the single very best! The 5 star service began the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the porter was delightful he spoke Swahili, English and German and went out of his was to impress us which he suceeded in doing. The room was absolutely divine in every way as was the bathroom. The shower was piping hot and so enjoyable, the bed was fresh and comfortable. The internet was fast, and the room service was great!

The restaurant was DIVINE, I highly reccomend you have the 'Lobster Tail' it is well worth the cost, as is everything else on the menu.

I reccomend this hotel and will come back as soon as I can. It was romantic, and also it was on a huge game reserve park, we saw the big 5 from the restaurant as we dined. The hotel is expensive compared to some however it is well worth the cost, and if yo uare on a budget it is worth saving to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DuchessRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#14 of 169 in Nairobi
885 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#9 of 169 in Nairobi
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Nairobi
#17 of 169 in Nairobi
1,074 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 169 in Nairobi
1,191 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole Sereni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Sereni

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $159 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole Sereni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Ole Sereni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing