We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Peaceful place to stay in Nairobi.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ndemi Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ndemi Place
Ranked #53 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful place to stay in Nairobi.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

We spent several nights at Ndemi Place (using it as a base when travelling to Masai Mara and Lamu). Monica was very prompt and professional when dealing with our booking via email (and very friendly in person).
Ndemi Place is located in Kilimani, away from the busy city centre (so bear in mind taxi costs; we had access to a friend's car for the most part. Incidentally, ask for Kennedy, if you need a taxi- he's reliable and negotiates reasonable prices). It's certainly a quiet, peaceful place to stay and has lovely gardens to relax in. The en-suite rooms were regularly cleaned and well-presented (though, the only criticism is that the showers are quite weak and water temperature is temperamental).
Breakfast was great (pancakes, toast, spanish omletter, various hearbal teas etc). There's also a TV in the lounge area and a computer with internet access (Thomas was very helpful in sorting out any internet problems).
I would recommend this as a good, safe mid-range option.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arcadefire84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    40
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
11
25
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

I had a most excellent stay at the Ndemi Place for 2 nights in November. Although the location is a little way out, and the water supply though constant and reliable is a little weak, the stay was most comfortable. The room is spacious and there is a nice living area to watch TV or just to chit chat with others. Breakfast is great, and the staff is excellent. Very polite and very helpful, especially Monica who manages the front desk. The owner whom I met briefly is a very nice distinguished woman. Hebie (not too sure about the spelling, sorry), the owner's son is most helpful in finding out what I was interested in and arranging my itinerary for the 2 short days I had. So even though the location is not ideal, everything was arranged and made very easy with a car to bring me around. He took me, and another traveller, out on the second day to Lake Nakuru National Park. Aside from the many wildlife which we saw freely roaming in the park, especially the flamingos, the trip was really very enjoyable as Hebie is a very personable and pleasant travelling companion, sincere to give his guests the best experience in Nairobi. We ended the day with an excellent and inexpensive somalian dinner, which only the locals will know about. The B & B is very reasonably priced and most importantly, they can help tremendously in recommending the itinerary and arrangements for your stay and nearby visits. I would recommend the Ndemi Place as a home base for your long safaris or for short stays in Nairobi.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardT2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

I am a 23 year old college student, and was traveling alone through Nairobi on a mission trip. I paid $60 for a single room, but my room did have 2 beds. It was easy to do reservations by email with Monica and I paid in cash when I arrived. The taxi drivers that Monica arranged for me were great, and Thomas were very nice. The layout is very comfy to a western traveler. The room had two twin beds with mosquito nets and a bathroom
and plenty of space. The shower had two temperatures. Freezing cold
and burning hot. There was a switch on the outside that turned on the
heat and during my shower I had to run back and forth a few times to
get a medium temperature. That is something that travelers might have
trouble with. But everything was very nice and clean. It is in a
locked compound up a dirt road with a night watchman. The living room
has a tv and computer with internet and wifi. Everyone was very
pleasant and it was very quiet and peaceful, not too close to a main
road. I left for an early flight so I did not have breakfast and therefore can not comment on that. I would go back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah2486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

My husband and I recently spent a few days at Ndemi Place while in transit from Canada to DR Congo for a month of volunteer work. We have lived in Kenya before and travelled in Africa. We do not like big touristy hotels and prefer a more local feel. Ndemi Place fulfilled all our needs. The staff ( Monica, Thomas , Cosmos and Evans taxi ) were all very helpful and really took care of us. They were gracious and arranged a luncheon meal for us to share with some Kenyan friends . This was served out of doors and everything possible was done to make our friends feel at home .
Yes the decor is basic and the shower is the typical African electric heated stream but the hotel was clean , the beds comfortable , and the interior garden was very pleasant. We had laundry done at a very reasonable cost . The breakfasts were nicely served and hot. My only criticism would be that we would prefer the coffee to not be powdered. After all, Kenya has fabulous coffee.
The location on the Karen side of Nairobi was perfect for us because we wanted to visit people near Ngong Hills and Kikuyu hospital. The airport pickup was prompt and helpful.
If you want an American style experience in Africa, go to a big hotel in downtown Nairobi, but if you want to experience a little well kept secret, give Ndemi Place a chance. It is good value for money and you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francophilerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

I travel to Kenya every year for Christmas vacation. Last December I wanted a change from the top hotels. I just wanted a quiet and secluded place to enjoy my vacation. The Ndemi place provided just that - privacy, quiet and serene environment, and warm and cozy feeling. They facilitated a cellphone that made my life much easier. I met professionals from Europe, US, South Africa, Pakistan and several nationalities and they all seemed at home. I kept wondering why I'd never known of this place before. I would recommend this place to anyone that's seeking peace of mind. Plus the savings were great!
George, Texas USA

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k51252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

I stayed here based on reviews from TripAdvisor - happy to report it met expectations. The staff were very friendly and made us feel at home, bring a thermos of hot water for tea to our room when we arrived at night and they noticed my cough. Breakfast was tasty and included and again the chef made us feel right at home. We had two nights then off to the Mara. Overall a great value and I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunrajaXIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2010

Found this place when waiting in Nairobi for a friend to arrive. I had spent a night in The Country Lodge but needed somewhere cheaper to hold up for a few days. It is a nice quiet B&B with really friendly staff. I stayed in a single room first which wasn't amazing but was clean and did the job. Then moved in to a twin when my friend arrived which was really nice. It is in a quite area and has a big garden doesn't feel like your in Nairobi at times. There is a nice front room with an open fire giving a nice homely atmosphere. They serve a good breakfast and all in all for the price I would recommend it. If you want something up market and willing to pay a bit more go to the Fairview.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ras78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
West Breeze Hotel
West Breeze Hotel
#40 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Nairobi Transit Hotel
#41 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Qaribu Inn
#44 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ngong Hills Hotel
#42 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Mvuli Suites
Mvuli Suites
#47 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Harlequin Suites Hotel
#96 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ndemi Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ndemi Place

Property: The Ndemi Place
Address: Ndemi Close, off Ndemi Road | P.O. Box 76120, Nairobi 00508, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a serene natural resort of Kenya’s capital city, The Ndemi Place is the ideal stop over for guests seeking peace and vintage charm in the city of Nairobi. Enjoy the warm and inviting touch of guest house hospitality combined with all contemporary comforts for the distinguished business or leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Ndemi Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ndemi Place Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing