We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“DONT BE FOOLED BY THE WEBSITE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Ndemi Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ndemi Place
Ranked #50 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“DONT BE FOOLED BY THE WEBSITE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I feel very betrayed by tripadvisor reviews. this place is below poor standards. I guess the reviews were biased because of the service from staff which was very efficient but not even that can move this hotel from zero star to one.

1. NO TV in the rooms, only one room which is deemed executive has a TV, the rest must watch in the lounge. this is convenient for a group booking,notherwise u get stuck watching whatever the others are watching
2. No Intercom in the rooms so when u need an iron or anything, u have to wear the 1 green robe that u n ur partner have to share to walk all the way to reception to get it
3. the shower has more hot water than cold, I thought my skin was gona peel off under that shower
4. The breakfast is an oily omelette and the fruits are stale.
5. Not all rooms have Wifi, connection is mainly in the lounge, reception and patio.

Just add a few shillings ang go to a good hotel. Don't waste ur money.

The only redeeming quality about this place is the transport company they are in partnership with. if you ever find yourself in need of a taxi driver in Nairobi ask Ndemi Place to give you Lazarus the taxi owner & driver's number. He is simply the best, helpful,patient and full of respect and knows all the back routes to avoid Nairobi's horrendus traffic.

You've been warned

Room Tip: Dont take room 6, Wifi connection poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sewela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    40
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
11
25
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bungoma, Kenya
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Our group of eight from up-country was given a very warm welcome. The place is peaceful and the staff very friendly. Cosmos's breakfasts were amazing!
Nairobi suffered a major power outage on our second night and the generator was sufficient for our needs.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Asifiwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Charming, friendly, quiet place set in a lovely walled garden. I stayed at Ndemi Place for three nights – Saturday before a week in the Rift Valley, and the following Friday and Saturday nights before I left for home.
The overall feel of this place was cool, green, quiet and safe - totally different from the surrounding dusty streets filled with traffic. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Nairobi.

I paid $4800 ksh (about $58.00 USD) per night. Like most places in Africa, they require payment in cash, so make sure you visit the ATM and don't plan on using your credit card at the hotel.

Ndemi place is not an American style luxury hotel – not cheapo but not upscale either. Just solid and comfortable. The building has the gracious feel of an old colonial English lodge (I think it originally was one). Lots of dark woodwork, casement windows, high ceilings, and solid dark wood furniture.

A small but comfortable breakfast room is located on a greenhouse style porch, where they served sausage and eggs to order in the morning along with the usual breakfast buffet – coffee, tea, cereal, fruit, etc. The grounds are very green and leafy, with a bench here and there to relax and watch the birds. The hotel doubles as a conference center, so there are a few large buildings on the grounds. One is a kind of ugly, barracks style building, but the beauty of the rest of the garden made it easy to ignore. There was a conference one of the days I was there. Everyone arrived in the morning and went straight to the conference buildings without entering the hotel itself. They made no noise or trouble.

The comfortable living room has armchairs, a TV and a computer with internet access for guests. The hotel was not very full when I was there. The staff were invariably very friendly and helpful. They arranged for taxis and told me the prices up front.

There is a shopping center about a mile and a half away, down the Ngong road, which is a busy boulevard with a dusty path on each side. I walked there once and it was a comfortable distance. I felt safe as I walked, with all the traffic and bustle, although it was a bit too hot because I went at noon and forgot my hat. The shopping center was VERY much like an American shopping center – bookstore, drug store, gift stores, clothing stores, American-style coffee shops and restaurants, and a big supermarket/general store (Nakumatt) with the feel and products you'd find in a U.S. Wal-Mart or Target store. There are also several ATMs there that took my ATM card from a major American bank with no problem.
I would definitely recommend Ndemi Place.

Room Tip: The first room I stayed in (I think it was room 5) was in the interior of the building looking onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Santafrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Ndemi Place is a very nice hotel - guest house located in one of the 'posh' suburbs of Nairobi.

It is quiet, clean and well maintained. The staff are helpful and accomodating - they got us chips, brandy and coca cola from the local shops (not very healthy but that's our fault!) and arranged a taxi to the airport at a good price.

The gardens that surround the hotel are a great place to relax on a sunny afternoon. I recommend the spicy African tea.

The next day my flight was delayed and Kenya Airways put me in a business hotel while I waited. Of course it was free to me but if I had paid it would have been much more expensive than Ndemi Place. It was not as good.

Room Tip: If you are a couple I recommend room 10. King size bed and acres of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mostyn1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

A very pleasant, reasonably priced guest house some distance from the city centre, but well located for attractions in Karen and nearby areas. The room was comfortable but showing signs of wear and tear and wouldn't suit people who want a high standard of maintenance, but it was clean and the essentials all worked. The common areas have character and are a nice place to relax or use the free wifi (not possible in the room). The garden is superb and is a great place to have breakfast, particularly as the cook whips up a great omelette which you can have spicy if you want. Good samosas are another highlight of the breakfast.
Overall, by Nairobi standards, this is a good value for money place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David Watson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

A little bit outside Nairobi but that means peace and quiet. There are lovely gardens to sit out in and enjoy, and the staff are both friendly and accommodating. Due to an early departure they were happy to sort out an early breakfast for us, and in the evening if you come back too late, for the chef to fix you up a bit of food they can sort out drinks and food to be delivered from local restaurants. Rooms very clean, nice hot water and they can sort out travel to and from Nairobi airport.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rhys G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Where do I start TV not working (DSTV had not been paid, internet not working as it had been cut off. The chef/Security/repair man very friendly but a one man band show stale breakfast to great you in the morning.

The only thing positive is the bed is comfortable.

Don't be fooled with nice seeming pics. We and the couple renting next door all checked out after one night.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Yonzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Transit Hotel
#41 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Ngong Hills Hotel
#43 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
West Breeze Hotel
West Breeze Hotel
#40 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saab Royale Hotel
#34 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Meltonia Luxury Suites
Meltonia Luxury Suites
#55 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
PrideInn Hotel Raphta
#120 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ndemi Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ndemi Place

Property: The Ndemi Place
Address: Ndemi Close, off Ndemi Road | P.O. Box 76120, Nairobi 00508, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a serene natural resort of Kenya’s capital city, The Ndemi Place is the ideal stop over for guests seeking peace and vintage charm in the city of Nairobi. Enjoy the warm and inviting touch of guest house hospitality combined with all contemporary comforts for the distinguished business or leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Jovago.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Ndemi Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ndemi Place Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing