We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very friendly and helpful guesthouse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ndemi Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ndemi Place
Ranked #43 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very friendly and helpful guesthouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

A little bit outside Nairobi but that means peace and quiet. There are lovely gardens to sit out in and enjoy, and the staff are both friendly and accommodating. Due to an early departure they were happy to sort out an early breakfast for us, and in the evening if you come back too late, for the chef to fix you up a bit of food they can sort out drinks and food to be delivered from local restaurants. Rooms very clean, nice hot water and they can sort out travel to and from Nairobi airport.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rhys G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    40
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
11
25
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Where do I start TV not working (DSTV had not been paid, internet not working as it had been cut off. The chef/Security/repair man very friendly but a one man band show stale breakfast to great you in the morning.

The only thing positive is the bed is comfortable.

Don't be fooled with nice seeming pics. We and the couple renting next door all checked out after one night.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Yonzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

I stayed at Ndemi Guest house for two days and I found it to be a very nice place. I am a female travelling on my own and the place was really safe as well as really clean and well maintained, The staff is very helpful tehy will help you arrange transports, transfers ...etc at reasonable costs. The Hotel is really well located near a shopping centers with many fast foods all good ( Phoenician serves good wine and sushis). The hotel is equiped with wifim has warm water, a garden, a 24hrs service and is really quiet in a good area.

If you go there talk to Thomas, Jerem or Monica they are all equally nice and will assist you with a great smile.

PS : Monica was expecting a baby when I visited the place I d be happy to know whether it is a girl or a boy ...:)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ksnowrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Stayed there on the night before and the night after a safari. A beautiful oasis in Nairobi, we very much enjoyed our stay. Checkin-in was quick and our room was spacious and clean. The staff was very helpful and airport transfer was smooth.

Wi-Fi was very slow though.

Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank biddingpoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the Ndemi guest house for 4 nights this fall. Although rustic, we loved the beautiful wooded grounds and the warmth and hospitality of the staff, including Monica, Thomas and Cosmos. They were most helpful in planning our Kenya adventures including arranging for Lazarus to transport us to and from the airport as well as spend a full day touring Nairobi. Monica also assisted us in booking our 3 day Safari. Each morning we filled our bellies with a delicious breakfast prepared by chef Cosmos. One day we called in the afternoon to ask Cosmos to prepare dinner for us that evening. We arrived back at Ndemi in the evening to find a beautiful candlelit table awaiting us with the best meal we had eaten in Kenya. We had a wonderful time and were sad to leave our new friends, the sweet smelling blossoms and this lovely spot.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I stayed at Ndemi Place for two weeks recently on a work trip and really enjoyed my stay. Monica, the excellent manageress, and her team made me feel very welcome.

Ndemi Place is located in Kilimani, a short taxi ride away from Yaya Centre and Nakumatt Junction, two shopping centres with a variety of restaurants. I found it a very convenient base from which to get around Nairobi.

The guest house is situated in its own compound on large grounds with lots of trees and every morning birds would be washing in the birdbath outside the breakfast room. There is a nice space outside the back where you can also sit at a table under a tree and where I would watch monkeys sneak across the walls. It's a very peaceful relaxing space in a busy city.

There are various types of rooms available with most situated in the main house. When travelling on work I was happy to stay in the main house but when I returned later with my wife, I found the rooms in the annex section preferable. Room 11 was my favourite and perhaps offers the most privacy and has satellite TV in the room. Room 10 is also a good option and is more spacious than some of the other doubles. Rooms are cleaned daily and are secure.

There is no restaurant at the guest house but chef Cosmus prepared a lovely cooked breakfast every morning with tea and fresh fruit. He can also prepare dinner in the evenings if provided with some notice. Otherwise Thomas is able to order takeaways from a nearby restaurant that provides free deliveries.

Ndemi Place provides free wireless internet at a decent speed and there is easy access to transport as Monica and Thomas can link you with Lazarus and his taxi firm. I found Lazarus and his team an excellent resource as they were reliable, punctual, safe drivers and offered good rates. They helped me get all over Nairobi as well as provided transport to and from Nakuru.

Ndemi is a lovely guest house but it was the Monica and her staff who make it particularly special.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kazan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in September. The hotel is a little bit outside of Nairobi, but quite close to the center. You just have to ask your driver what time you should go out to places, as some specific hours are horrible due to the Nairobi traffic. We got a very spacious room, the bed had a mosquito net, and the toilet was good. The only problem for me personally was that they didn't have a hairdryer and my long hair had to be wet for a couple of hours (and it was cold at night in Nairobi and early morning).
The chef Cosmos was outstanding, prepared great meals for dinner and a nice ginger tea for me when I got a sore throat. I am really grateful to him for that.
Thomas and Monica can arrange a taxi for you and give you some useful info. Thank you for that!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Noskis12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Ngong Hills Hotel
#41 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Saab Royale Hotel
#38 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
West Breeze Hotel
West Breeze Hotel
#39 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Hill Estate
The Monarch Hotel
The Monarch Hotel
#45 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Amber Hotel
#24 of 156 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#81 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ndemi Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ndemi Place

Property: The Ndemi Place
Address: Ndemi Close, off Ndemi Road | P.O. Box 76120, Nairobi 00508, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#25 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a serene natural resort of Kenya’s capital city, The Ndemi Place is the ideal stop over for guests seeking peace and vintage charm in the city of Nairobi. Enjoy the warm and inviting touch of guest house hospitality combined with all contemporary comforts for the distinguished business or leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ndemi Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ndemi Place Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing