We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A peaceful oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ndemi Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ndemi Place
Ranked #45 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A peaceful oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the Ndemi guest house for 4 nights this fall. Although rustic, we loved the beautiful wooded grounds and the warmth and hospitality of the staff, including Monica, Thomas and Cosmos. They were most helpful in planning our Kenya adventures including arranging for Lazarus to transport us to and from the airport as well as spend a full day touring Nairobi. Monica also assisted us in booking our 3 day Safari. Each morning we filled our bellies with a delicious breakfast prepared by chef Cosmos. One day we called in the afternoon to ask Cosmos to prepare dinner for us that evening. We arrived back at Ndemi in the evening to find a beautiful candlelit table awaiting us with the best meal we had eaten in Kenya. We had a wonderful time and were sad to leave our new friends, the sweet smelling blossoms and this lovely spot.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    40
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
11
25
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I stayed at Ndemi Place for two weeks recently on a work trip and really enjoyed my stay. Monica, the excellent manageress, and her team made me feel very welcome.

Ndemi Place is located in Kilimani, a short taxi ride away from Yaya Centre and Nakumatt Junction, two shopping centres with a variety of restaurants. I found it a very convenient base from which to get around Nairobi.

The guest house is situated in its own compound on large grounds with lots of trees and every morning birds would be washing in the birdbath outside the breakfast room. There is a nice space outside the back where you can also sit at a table under a tree and where I would watch monkeys sneak across the walls. It's a very peaceful relaxing space in a busy city.

There are various types of rooms available with most situated in the main house. When travelling on work I was happy to stay in the main house but when I returned later with my wife, I found the rooms in the annex section preferable. Room 11 was my favourite and perhaps offers the most privacy and has satellite TV in the room. Room 10 is also a good option and is more spacious than some of the other doubles. Rooms are cleaned daily and are secure.

There is no restaurant at the guest house but chef Cosmus prepared a lovely cooked breakfast every morning with tea and fresh fruit. He can also prepare dinner in the evenings if provided with some notice. Otherwise Thomas is able to order takeaways from a nearby restaurant that provides free deliveries.

Ndemi Place provides free wireless internet at a decent speed and there is easy access to transport as Monica and Thomas can link you with Lazarus and his taxi firm. I found Lazarus and his team an excellent resource as they were reliable, punctual, safe drivers and offered good rates. They helped me get all over Nairobi as well as provided transport to and from Nakuru.

Ndemi is a lovely guest house but it was the Monica and her staff who make it particularly special.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kazan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in September. The hotel is a little bit outside of Nairobi, but quite close to the center. You just have to ask your driver what time you should go out to places, as some specific hours are horrible due to the Nairobi traffic. We got a very spacious room, the bed had a mosquito net, and the toilet was good. The only problem for me personally was that they didn't have a hairdryer and my long hair had to be wet for a couple of hours (and it was cold at night in Nairobi and early morning).
The chef Cosmos was outstanding, prepared great meals for dinner and a nice ginger tea for me when I got a sore throat. I am really grateful to him for that.
Thomas and Monica can arrange a taxi for you and give you some useful info. Thank you for that!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Noskis12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

We held our daughter's wedding at Ndemi and stayed there for a few days. The place is beautiful, the staff is great, the food was delicious, and the price was very affordable. We couldn't ask for anything more.
Bill Locke
Canada

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank billocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Nairobi has very limited options for middle range lodging. Ndemi was reliable and consistent across my several stays there. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are generally okay and clean. And grounds are a really pleasant break from hectic Nairobi. Beds are comfortable and the place is usually quiet. However, it's basically a modified house so if you have loud guests, or the hotel staff decide to watch some late night Kenyan television (and the kitchen is the same building too), it can be a bit noisy. But again, options are limited in this price range.

Room Tip: Ask for 1 of the 2 rooms near the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NatCk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Stayed in Ndemi Place instead of one of the city centre business hotels, looking for a home-from-home feel for a trip spanning 2 visits to Nairobi within a fortnight totaling 9 nights. This place definitely provided that home-from-home feel, with comfort, calm, great and helpful service. The larger double rooms, and the nice secluded yard and spacious garden, do definitely give the homely feel. Wifi internet was consistently good in one part of the property but a little weak and inconsistent in the smaller rooms closer to the kitchen. Breakfast was decent. Small drawbacks would include the showers which are in need of an upgrade, the 30-minute travel time to and from central Nairobi, and the absence of restaurants or shops within safe walking distance (albeit that the staff will helpfully order in from a nearby Italian place). Overall, though, pleasant and friendly, and in Nairobi, quite reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam_in_Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

We stayed one day, two nights before we went on Safari. We picked Ndemi because of the reviews and the close proximity to many of the places we wanted to visit in the area.
We were able to rent a van for the six of us and saw the David Sheldrick elephant orphanage, the giraffe sanctuary, Karen Blixens and Kazurii beads, all without having to be in the heavy traffic around Nairobi.
The hotel is simple,but clean. The staff are helpful and the breakfasts were good. They also cooked us a fine dinner. There are some nice grounds to relax in and the hotel is away from the traffic and dust.
The only downside, and it has been mentioned before, is the poor showers and the isolated location, but it easy to arrange taxis. I have no hesitation in recommending The Ndemi Place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clancy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Transit Hotel
#41 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
West Breeze Hotel
West Breeze Hotel
#40 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Ngong Hills Hotel
#44 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saab Royale Hotel
#34 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Meltonia Luxury Suites
Meltonia Luxury Suites
#55 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
The Hotel Emerald
#50 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ndemi Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ndemi Place

Property: The Ndemi Place
Address: Ndemi Close, off Ndemi Road | P.O. Box 76120, Nairobi 00508, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a serene natural resort of Kenya’s capital city, The Ndemi Place is the ideal stop over for guests seeking peace and vintage charm in the city of Nairobi. Enjoy the warm and inviting touch of guest house hospitality combined with all contemporary comforts for the distinguished business or leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Ndemi Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ndemi Place Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing