We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ndemi Place
Nearby Hotels
Tribe Hotel(Nairobi)
$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$183
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$226
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$208
$157
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveler rating
44
41
11
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
41
11
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreen spacepeace and quietvery nice place to staywithin walking distanceplace to stay in nairobirooms are comfortablewould definitely stay here againkilimanitaxigreenhousekenyamaintenancesupermarketgate
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 102 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We held our daughter's wedding at Ndemi and stayed there for a few days. The place is beautiful, the staff is great, the food was delicious, and the price was very affordable. We couldn't ask for anything more.
Bill Locke
Canada

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank billocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Nairobi has very limited options for middle range lodging. Ndemi was reliable and consistent across my several stays there. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are generally okay and clean. And grounds are a really pleasant break from hectic Nairobi. Beds are comfortable and the place is usually quiet. However, it's basically a modified house so if you have loud guests, or the hotel staff decide to watch some late night Kenyan television (and the kitchen is the same building too), it can be a bit noisy. But again, options are limited in this price range.

Room Tip: Ask for 1 of the 2 rooms near the reception.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NatCk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Stayed in Ndemi Place instead of one of the city centre business hotels, looking for a home-from-home feel for a trip spanning 2 visits to Nairobi within a fortnight totaling 9 nights. This place definitely provided that home-from-home feel, with comfort, calm, great and helpful service. The larger double rooms, and the nice secluded yard and spacious garden, do definitely give the homely feel. Wifi internet was consistently good in one part of the property but a little weak and inconsistent in the smaller rooms closer to the kitchen. Breakfast was decent. Small drawbacks would include the showers which are in need of an upgrade, the 30-minute travel time to and from central Nairobi, and the absence of restaurants or shops within safe walking distance (albeit that the staff will helpfully order in from a nearby Italian place). Overall, though, pleasant and friendly, and in Nairobi, quite reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam_in_Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We stayed one day, two nights before we went on Safari. We picked Ndemi because of the reviews and the close proximity to many of the places we wanted to visit in the area.
We were able to rent a van for the six of us and saw the David Sheldrick elephant orphanage, the giraffe sanctuary, Karen Blixens and Kazurii beads, all without having to be in the heavy traffic around Nairobi.
The hotel is simple,but clean. The staff are helpful and the breakfasts were good. They also cooked us a fine dinner. There are some nice grounds to relax in and the hotel is away from the traffic and dust.
The only downside, and it has been mentioned before, is the poor showers and the isolated location, but it easy to arrange taxis. I have no hesitation in recommending The Ndemi Place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clancy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

This is a simple and really nice hotel to stay in Nairobi out of the chaos of the city.
It is very clean. Monica, Tomas and all the people who work there are really kind and helpful. Don't forget the great dinners. Perfect place to stay if you are planning a few days in Nairobi.
No Spa but there is a place for it close by, as well a supermarket.
I would also recommend Ben, the taxi driver that Tomas called for us. He was always on time and estimated prefectly the time needed to move in the messy traffic of Nairobi

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rizosmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews