We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chef Cosmos rocks!!!”
Review of The Ndemi Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ndemi Place
Ranked #55 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Kazan
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Chef Cosmos rocks!!!”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in September. The hotel is a little bit outside of Nairobi, but quite close to the center. You just have to ask your driver what time you should go out to places, as some specific hours are horrible due to the Nairobi traffic. We got a very spacious room, the bed had a mosquito net, and the toilet was good. The only problem for me personally was that they didn't have a hairdryer and my long hair had to be wet for a couple of hours (and it was cold at night in Nairobi and early morning).
The chef Cosmos was outstanding, prepared great meals for dinner and a nice ginger tea for me when I got a sore throat. I am really grateful to him for that.
Thomas and Monica can arrange a taxi for you and give you some useful info. Thank you for that!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Noskis12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    40
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
11
27
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We held our daughter's wedding at Ndemi and stayed there for a few days. The place is beautiful, the staff is great, the food was delicious, and the price was very affordable. We couldn't ask for anything more.
Bill Locke
Canada

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank billocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Nairobi has very limited options for middle range lodging. Ndemi was reliable and consistent across my several stays there. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are generally okay and clean. And grounds are a really pleasant break from hectic Nairobi. Beds are comfortable and the place is usually quiet. However, it's basically a modified house so if you have loud guests, or the hotel staff decide to watch some late night Kenyan television (and the kitchen is the same building too), it can be a bit noisy. But again, options are limited in this price range.

Room Tip: Ask for 1 of the 2 rooms near the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NatCk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Stayed in Ndemi Place instead of one of the city centre business hotels, looking for a home-from-home feel for a trip spanning 2 visits to Nairobi within a fortnight totaling 9 nights. This place definitely provided that home-from-home feel, with comfort, calm, great and helpful service. The larger double rooms, and the nice secluded yard and spacious garden, do definitely give the homely feel. Wifi internet was consistently good in one part of the property but a little weak and inconsistent in the smaller rooms closer to the kitchen. Breakfast was decent. Small drawbacks would include the showers which are in need of an upgrade, the 30-minute travel time to and from central Nairobi, and the absence of restaurants or shops within safe walking distance (albeit that the staff will helpfully order in from a nearby Italian place). Overall, though, pleasant and friendly, and in Nairobi, quite reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam_in_Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We stayed one day, two nights before we went on Safari. We picked Ndemi because of the reviews and the close proximity to many of the places we wanted to visit in the area.
We were able to rent a van for the six of us and saw the David Sheldrick elephant orphanage, the giraffe sanctuary, Karen Blixens and Kazurii beads, all without having to be in the heavy traffic around Nairobi.
The hotel is simple,but clean. The staff are helpful and the breakfasts were good. They also cooked us a fine dinner. There are some nice grounds to relax in and the hotel is away from the traffic and dust.
The only downside, and it has been mentioned before, is the poor showers and the isolated location, but it easy to arrange taxis. I have no hesitation in recommending The Ndemi Place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clancy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

This is a simple and really nice hotel to stay in Nairobi out of the chaos of the city.
It is very clean. Monica, Tomas and all the people who work there are really kind and helpful. Don't forget the great dinners. Perfect place to stay if you are planning a few days in Nairobi.
No Spa but there is a place for it close by, as well a supermarket.
I would also recommend Ben, the taxi driver that Tomas called for us. He was always on time and estimated prefectly the time needed to move in the messy traffic of Nairobi

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rizosmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Very nice place to stay. Friendly staff and excellent dood and breakfast

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauluspp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Ngong Hills Hotel
#49 of 164 in Nairobi
32 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
The Monarch Hotel
The Monarch Hotel
#56 of 164 in Nairobi
70 reviews
Progressive Park Hotel
#35 of 164 in Nairobi
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Heron Portico
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
476 reviews
Amber Hotel
#19 of 164 in Nairobi
83 reviews
The Hotel Emerald
#67 of 164 in Nairobi
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ndemi Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ndemi Place

Property: The Ndemi Place
Address: Ndemi Close, off Ndemi Road | P.O. Box 76120, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#25 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a serene natural resort of Kenya’s capital city, The Ndemi Place is the ideal stop over for guests seeking peace and vintage charm in the city of Nairobi. Enjoy the warm and inviting touch of guest house hospitality combined with all contemporary comforts for the distinguished business or leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Ndemi Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ndemi Place Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing