We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adopt an Elephant!”

David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Elephants Orphanage Tour From Nairobi
Ranked #1 of 121 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust (DSWT) Elephant Nursery in Nairobi National Park provides a safe haven to orphaned baby elephants rescued by the DSWT. The Nursery provides the first stage in the hand-rearing and development of milk dependent baby elephants. Once they graduate from the Nursery, aged 2-3 years, the elephants move to one of the DSWT's Reintegration Centres in Tsavo East National Park, from where they will ultimately return to the wild.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Adopt an Elephant!”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

The DSWT is one of those places we need more of on this planet. They do amazing and necessary work (watch the BBC documentary about them) and the staff is courageous, dedicated, knowledgeable and friendly.

As a tip, go there in the evening to adopt an elephant for $50, I challenge you to for these little guys to not melt your heart.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pascal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,848
    713
    149
    17
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Petworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice diversion, if baby elephants are your thing”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

A worthy cause, but as a visit it is more for kids and women who go "aaah ..." over baby animals being fed by a bottle.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stoic_Warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A most amazing place!”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This was my second visit in five years to the orphanage and i can say without hesitation that my visits have been the highlight of any trip i have ever taken. This is a MUST SEE if in Kenya! Advanced reservations are required.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great information, very busy”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We showed up a few minutes late to this 1 hour feeding session. We got the chance to reach out and touch the elephants, and we learned a lot. We went on a school day. And it was absolutely packed with people and school children. The children pushed into the front and pushed everyone else out making it a bit difficult to hear. We did enology hearing how they helped both elephants and rhinos, and have since decided to adopt a few elephants. Definitely recommended!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Esrbks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Brilliant. I adopted an elephant. Come 5-6 pm for the private viewing. Baby elephants wear a blanket. Seriously the cutest ever.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Businesstraveler247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust also viewed

 

Been to David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing