We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SO GOOD!!”

David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Elephants Orphanage Tour From Nairobi
Ranked #1 of 119 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust (DSWT) Elephant Nursery in Nairobi National Park provides a safe haven to orphaned baby elephants rescued by the DSWT. The Nursery provides the first stage in the hand-rearing and development of milk dependent baby elephants. Once they graduate from the Nursery, aged 2-3 years, the elephants move to one of the DSWT's Reintegration Centres in Tsavo East National Park, from where they will ultimately return to the wild.
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
194 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“SO GOOD!!”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

A moving experience. At first you think there are too many visitors and that the animals are not central. However looking at the keepers and how they interact with the young animals and listening to the commentary by the overseer you feel that this is real and sincere. The keepers know the young elephants by name and know their history. The animals trust the keepers and run up to them. Impressive and moving. Young or old, you must go and see (and support generously - adopt at least one elephant!). The entrance fee is ridiculously low.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,789
    703
    148
    17
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Do not miss it, its the best”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is probably the best animal exhibit I have ever seen, it had everything you could want, informative narration, great show, Took many more pictures than I thought I would. The only way you would not enjoy this is if you hated elephants

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mitch K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A-w-w-w-w!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I can't think of anything cuter than a baby elephant drinking milk from a bottle, unless it's a whole herd of them. It's so sad that the little darlings have been orphaned, but I applaud the Sheldrick Trust for their work to save their lives.

We adopted little Kithaka before we went, so we could not only visit during the day with the general public, but go back in the evening to see the babies go to bed.

Fantastic experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bmalloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The whole family were so excited with this place. What a wonderful idea! The organization is impecable, they explain everything very well and for a few dollars you get to adopt a little orphan elephant. The native handlers do wonderful work with the baby elephants.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Euggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Baby Elephants are a must see!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The sad part about the Baby Elephant orphanage is the elephants are all orphans (mostly victims of poachers) and they only have room for so many. The great part of the Baby Elephant orphanage is the organization is doing something positive about it, the babes are really cute and they are as much interested in you as you are in them. I like taking visitors there because I get to see the same elephants a little older each visit. This is the must see for Nairobi. Plan ahead so you are there on time as the public is only invited for lunch time viewing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank g r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust also viewed

 

Been to David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing