We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baby elephants” 3 of 5 stars
Review of David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust

David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust
Book In Advance
$62*
and up
Elephants Orphanage Tour From Nairobi
Ranked #1 of 109 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust (DSWT) Elephant Nursery in Nairobi National Park provides a safe haven to orphaned baby elephants rescued by the DSWT. The Nursery provides the first stage in the hand-rearing and development of milk dependent baby elephants. Once they graduate from the Nursery, aged 2-3 years, the elephants move to one of the DSWT's Reintegration Centres in Tsavo East National Park, from where they will ultimately return to the wild.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Baby elephants”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

It was really cute to see the little baby elephants up close. Many of us wonder where they actually get these elephants especially because the elephants work in family and take care of each other. The place is helpful in answering questions. It is a very touristy place to visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank c_freeland90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,170
    553
    95
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Baby elephants, come on......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A must see in Nairobi. A bit touristy and crowded at times, but seeing these animals is very worth it. And your fee goes to a great cause. Don't miss this.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GlenLivet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful baby elephants!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

What a wonderful place this is! It's only open for an hour or so during the elephants feeding time so make sure to get there early, but it is so worth it! The baby elephants are so beautiful! Thank goodness there is a place like this that will take care of them. I could have stayed all day!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank chrisully11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not as exciting as I was hoping for...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I visited the elephant orphanage together with a group in January. We had heard positive things about it, and we were really looking forward to the visit. It might have been just us who didn't know what it really was, but nevertheless, most of us where disappointed. Since we had heard "elephant orphanage" we didn't expect just to see baby elephants get fed inside fences with loads of tourists around. For me, I was more reminded of a zoo (of course I understand that the project is not like that, but I'm thinking about the experience as a tourist). I don't know if it's worth the visit - if you'd really like to see baby elephants, go check it out, but there are many other things in Nairobi that should be higher on your "attractions to visit"-list.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiccabom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My first choice for sightseeing, observing the orphan baby elephants was educational, and motivational. Seeing the care they're receiving after the tragic loss of a mother, shows what CAN be done, not just what can go wrong. Elephants and staff are each amazing. I will continue to support these efforts in the years to come.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust also viewed

 

Been to David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing