We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cute Elephant Babies” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust

David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust
Book In Advance
$70.00*
and up
Half-Day Daphne Sheldrick Wildlife Trust - Elephant Orphanage Tour from Nairobi
Ranked #1 of 115 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust (DSWT) Elephant Nursery in Nairobi National Park provides a safe haven to orphaned baby elephants rescued by the DSWT. The Nursery provides the first stage in the hand-rearing and development of milk dependent baby elephants. Once they graduate from the Nursery, aged 2-3 years, the elephants move to one of the DSWT's Reintegration Centres in Tsavo East National Park, from where they will ultimately return to the wild.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute Elephant Babies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had the impression that the elephants are happy and well looked after. They don't seem to mind the tourists that are only allowed to visit them for one hour each day.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebekka_Troller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,493
    648
    130
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“great ideea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This orphanage is a fabulous ideea, th babies elephant have a chance and is a nice gesture to adopt one of those sweet elaphants.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank IIoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“always wanted to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

It's great. Inexpensive unless you want to adopt an elephant which I did - was given a lovely package of info plus a beautiful watercolour print of Napoiki, the elephant that I adopted. Great for kids. Go.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank lifesabeach1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cute”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

This place is amazing just for what they do and how much care they show to the elephants. We need places like this to preserve the beautiful animals that make this country a popular destination. I enjoyed learning the history of each of the elephants and learning about elephants in general. This is something everyone must do if you are in Kenya but I think one visit is more than enough. I would recommend it to everyone to go at least once and make a donation.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelstudentLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was traveling on Business and had a Saturday free having been up North and seen nothing but cattle and Sheep I wanted to see some indigenous animals this place was good and doing a great job but it is sad that so many baby elephants are orphaned by poacher scum. Loved the Warthogs!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust also viewed

 

Been to David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing