We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“always wanted to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust

David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust
Mbagathi Road | Kws Workshop Entrance - Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00503 , Kenya
+254 733 891996
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$62*
and up
Elephants Orphanage Tour From Nairobi
Ranked #1 of 109 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust (DSWT) Elephant Nursery in Nairobi National Park provides a safe haven to orphaned baby elephants rescued by the DSWT. The Nursery provides the first stage in the hand-rearing and development of milk dependent baby elephants. Once they graduate from the Nursery, aged 2-3 years, the elephants move to one of the DSWT's Reintegration Centres in Tsavo East National Park, from where they will ultimately return to the wild.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“always wanted to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

It's great. Inexpensive unless you want to adopt an elephant which I did - was given a lovely package of info plus a beautiful watercolour print of Napoiki, the elephant that I adopted. Great for kids. Go.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank lifesabeach1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,161
    551
    95
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Cute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This place is amazing just for what they do and how much care they show to the elephants. We need places like this to preserve the beautiful animals that make this country a popular destination. I enjoyed learning the history of each of the elephants and learning about elephants in general. This is something everyone must do if you are in Kenya but I think one visit is more than enough. I would recommend it to everyone to go at least once and make a donation.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelstudentLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was traveling on Business and had a Saturday free having been up North and seen nothing but cattle and Sheep I wanted to see some indigenous animals this place was good and doing a great job but it is sad that so many baby elephants are orphaned by poacher scum. Loved the Warthogs!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Adopt an elephant. Make a difference!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Nothing compares to seeing an orphan elephant grab a bottle of milk from a handler and guzzle. Or to see the babies look up to their handlers with trust and see their handlers look back with adoration - parenthood refined.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GlendonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Heartwarming, awwwww-inspiring and educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We visited the elephant orphanage on our first day in Kenya. Arrive a few minutes early -- they only do one feeding a day, starting at 11 a.m. If you've seen baby elephants at the zoo ... well, you haven't seen baby elephants! During the hour-long presentation you'll meet the babies at the orphanage and may even get to touch a couple. It's heartwarming to see the care with which the keepers treat them, and inspiring to hear the good work that the David Sheldrick Trust is doing to protect these beautiful animals. You can also adopt an elephant for $50/year and get updates on her or him.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Klizco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust also viewed

 

Been to David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing