We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Peaceful Haven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Margarita House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Margarita House
Ranked #31 of 217 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Tigard, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful Haven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Our stay was very quiet & restful. The food was delicious. The room and bathroom were neat & tidy. The staff was very attentive and professional and kind. Would love to visit the Margarita House again!
Thank you for making us feel so welcome!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    18
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
18
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a wonderful small (16 rooms) hotel in the Karen, just southwest of Nairobi. We stayed three nights following our nine-day safari in the Masai Mara. The entire grounds and hotel are enclosed, gated, and guarded 24/7 for security so you feel completely safe while staying there. The Margarita House is family run and the owner's residence is at one end of the building---you will most likely meet them during your stay. By the way, the Margarita House is named after the owner's grandmother.

The room was charming with a comfortable poster bed with mosquito netting, couch, full bath, flat screen TV and fireplace (P.S. WIFI is free and available throughout the facility and grounds). Our room had a balcony that overlooked the gardens. It was nice to sit there and have coffee in the morning.

It is not only peaceful and beautiful but the staff is tops. They will personally take care of everything for you. The chef prepares the best meals and it's all safe. They follow international food preparation standards. We ate salads, fresh fruit and did not have to worry. It was all delicous and they are so accommodating if you have special needs (we are vegetarians). Food costs are very reasonable. We ate almost all our meals there. It was so good.

The location is great too. In one day we visited the nearby Sheldrick Baby Elephant Orphanage, the Karen Blixen museum and the Giraffe Centre. The staff at the Margarita House will arrange for a trusted driver who stays with you at all times during your excursions so there are no worries about getting back (very reasonable too).

If you are planning to stay in Nairobi and want something more than a big hotel, I highly recommend the Margarita House.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed in a Master Suite at Margarita House while overnighting in Nairobi during a business trip. The hotel is neat and clean but a few matters require improvements. Shower pressure very low and almost no hot water, so my shower was a luke warm trickle. My dinner was average - heavily salted chicken and fries/chips. I found the furnishing a bit spartan and my room a bit dark. The property is very difficult to find - my driver got lost. On the positive side the hotel is very clean and secure and service was polite and prompt. There is free wireless Internet of reasonable speed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonEspley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

After a long flight this place was just marvelous!!! We also decided to do the room with meals. Breakfast was just so nice, organic and they were just so eager to serve. Lunch we had outside, but dinner was fantastic. We even watched some Kenyan TV shows. Bedroom was very comfortable and bathrooms had everything we needed. The owners were very friendly and accommodating

Room Tip: We stayed right behind the front desk and our windows face the front. The flowers in the yard were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucille3529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

It is in a funny location with the driveway over a bumpy field, but we found it a functional and safe (guarded gates) place to convene at the beginning and end of our Kenyan stay. Beds were comfortable and rooms spacious. My brother mentioned the heating turning on above his room as soon as people started having showers in the morning which woke him up, but I don't know what room that was, sorry. I use earplugs generally, but my partner was woken and I was aware of the neighbours barking dogs in the night on both nights that we were there. One of them sounded pretty distressed. The cooking staff were very friendly and attentive (my mother is dairy free), for both breakfast and dinner.

Room Tip: I think the dogs are at the back of the hotel, so a front room might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Overlooking the nightmare of getting to Margarita House and Victor unable to give the driver directions, ( the arranged driver was a no show), the neighbours' dogs barked the entire night. The light bulb dangled over the bed with no light shade and there was no mattress cover under the ill fitting sheet. A dirty ashtray and empty beer bottle was on outside table at our room's entrance and was not removed. The landing and stairs were filthy. On our return from our safari the dogs continued to bark and we were woken up at 6 30 by the neighbours' man sweeping under our window. The experience was unpleasant and the rooms dark and depressing.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leslie Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottesloe, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel as a large Family group of 12.
Having spent the previous 4 days climbing Mt Kenya without showering and travelling since the early morning, after providing the name of our booking, my next question was have you got hot water? Victor assured us that all was ready and we were relieved that soon we would be clean and refreshes. At 6pm, 30 minutes from our scheduled pick up for the Carnivore Dinner, 10 people still had not had showers as the water was not hot! Very disappointing. Victor was still promising the water would be hot!! The rooms were lovely and the location good but this is a basic necessity and it was not good enough.

Room Tip: Ask for the new wing but stipulate you want hot water or stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SVNGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
j_blaze123, General Manager at Margarita House, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We regret to learn of your recent experience at Margarita House. On behalf of the management, I would like to offer a formal apology and in addition provide a brief explanation to the circumstances that let do the failure of the hot water system.

We have a Solar water heating system in place and it was unfortunately compromised by cold and overcast weather conditions on the day of your group's arrival. The same system also has a supplementary electrical heating component that is activated during such poor conditions. On the day of your arrival however, there was an unfortunate delay in activating the electrical system. Given the time constraints brought on by your pending dinner appointment, it was difficult for the system to heat up quickly enough, thus resulting in lukewarm temperatures.

In an effort to ensure that the same mistake is not repeated, we have recently increased our hot water storage capacity by 30% and installed a computerized control system that guarantees constant hot water temperatures.

We highly appreciate your valued feedback and look forward to demonstrating our improved services to you and other clients in the future.

Kind regards,

Joel Bwayo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.4 mi away
Purdy Arms
Purdy Arms
#8 of 217 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
1.6 mi away
Karen Palace Inn
Karen Palace Inn
#43 of 217 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cold Springs Karen Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Karen Inn & Suites
Karen Inn & Suites
#29 of 217 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Troy Nairobi
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#10 of 217 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fair Acres Guest House
Fair Acres Guest House
#101 of 217 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margarita House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margarita House

Property: Margarita House
Address: Lower Plains Road | off Karen Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Margarita House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Kenya’s best kept secrets, Margarita house is a budding boutique hotel fittingly situated on the periphery of Nairobi city, in the up-scale suburb of Karen. We are conveniently located within 5 minutes drive of major tourist attractions such as; Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum, giraffe center and the Nairobi safari walk. At Margarita House we offer professional personalized service delivered in a serene and relaxing environment. Try us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Margarita House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margarita House Hotel Karen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing