We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot water not on tap!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Margarita House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Margarita House
Ranked #18 of 248 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Cottesloe, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hot water not on tap!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel as a large Family group of 12.
Having spent the previous 4 days climbing Mt Kenya without showering and travelling since the early morning, after providing the name of our booking, my next question was have you got hot water? Victor assured us that all was ready and we were relieved that soon we would be clean and refreshes. At 6pm, 30 minutes from our scheduled pick up for the Carnivore Dinner, 10 people still had not had showers as the water was not hot! Very disappointing. Victor was still promising the water would be hot!! The rooms were lovely and the location good but this is a basic necessity and it was not good enough.

Room Tip: Ask for the new wing but stipulate you want hot water or stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SVNGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
j_blaze123, General Manager at Margarita House, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We regret to learn of your recent experience at Margarita House. On behalf of the management, I would like to offer a formal apology and in addition provide a brief explanation to the circumstances that let do the failure of the hot water system.

We have a Solar water heating system in place and it was unfortunately compromised by cold and overcast weather conditions on the day of your group's arrival. The same system also has a supplementary electrical heating component that is activated during such poor conditions. On the day of your arrival however, there was an unfortunate delay in activating the electrical system. Given the time constraints brought on by your pending dinner appointment, it was difficult for the system to heat up quickly enough, thus resulting in lukewarm temperatures.

In an effort to ensure that the same mistake is not repeated, we have recently increased our hot water storage capacity by 30% and installed a computerized control system that guarantees constant hot water temperatures.

We highly appreciate your valued feedback and look forward to demonstrating our improved services to you and other clients in the future.

Kind regards,

Joel Bwayo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    19
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
21
8
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Margarita House in Karen. The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfasts in the garden were delicious. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The only drawback is needing to take a taxi everywhere, but that seems unavoidable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 02130e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, kenya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We live in Nairobi but we needed to stay in Karen due to a late night function on a Saturday. Since I didnt want to pay $250 to say at Karen Blixen etc, I decided, from the website and the reviews, that we would try the Margarita House. We rented the Master Suite, which was beautiful with an amazing giant balcony and a lovely view of the garden. However, once outside the room the place felt and smelt like a hospital. It was completely unwelcoming and you could hear every conversation the staff had outside the room. They have worn out wardrobes in the hallways with all the towels etc, of which we only got two for both of us. The sitting room is large and cold and the staff were generally in there watching TV. Also, the whole building smelt inside and outside of everything they were cooking. The bathroom is huge but they have put no effort into it and the shower rail was suspended from the ceiling by chains. The hot water was either on or off which made it very difficult to have a shower and I ended up having to wash my hair with dishwashing soap because there were NO toiletries. The "pool" is actually on the next property and had no lounge chairs and sits in a garden of a really old house with dirty net curtains in the windows. It was very discocerting, almost like you were on someone else's property. Overall it was a pleasant experience and the Staff were happy to help, but basically had nothing to help with. Breakfast was OK and they were happy to serve it in our room, but again it was not up to the standard of what we had expected. For our purposes it served us well and we enjoyed it, but would definitely not stay there again. It is just strange and makes you feel kind of weird the whole time you are there. I could not recommend this other than to a businessman needing an overnight somewhere. Although the other places in Karen are possibly more than $100 more, pay the extra and enjoy your trip. This is not the place to do it!

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here, please ask for the Master Suite. I was shown two other suites and, u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeepster65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
j_blaze123, General Manager at Margarita House, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to stay at our facility and further still giving us your valuable feedback.

We value your comments and we will take them on board and address every issue with the urgency required. Moving forward we will endeavor to continue improving our facility and we believe that our future guests will benefit from the positive impact your feedback will have.

Regards,

J. Bwayo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Potential. Its an often used word, but one that certainly applies to Margarita House. There are aspects of this place that are first class, but also things that let it down. With a little more work this place could be great.
First the positives. The staff are great and simply can't do enough for you. It's in a quiet location and the gardens and pool are a lovely place to relax in the afternoon or evening. The downstairs lounge is extremely nice and the dining room whilst lacking ambiance serves up perfectly good food. The bedrooms are large and clean with plenty of storage.
On the down side the housekeeping service wasn't great as dirty towels were taken away but not replaced and the same for the coffee mugs. There was also no fridge in our room which meant nowhere to keep drinks cold. There was also nowhere to put a wash bag in the bathroom other than on the floor despite the bathroom being a very good size.
Maybe I'm being picky, but Margarita House really could be oustanding if they could just iron out the rough edges (and maybe get some doors that fit properly).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJ_McClure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was a great one night stop at the end of our holiday. Rooms were comfortable and staff was helpful. Taxis are required to go anywhere but the staff helped out with a reliable driver. Very close to lots of attractions, malls and good restaurants. A good choice in Nairobi!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank thesimpsons2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

This was our first time at the Margarita House and we were not disappointed. The staff was exceptional - from reception to cook to housekeeper -- they were first rate and they made our stay so enjoyable. The food was very tasty. The rooms clean and beautiful. The pool side or garden tables to eat any of our meals at, really made us feel like we were on vacation. It was a very peaceful atmosphere and the internet worked very well and quickly in the very large lounge, which we also enjoyed spending time in. The owners live on the premises and were also delightful, greeting each guest some time during to be sure all was going well for them. We also appreciate that it was a quiet atmosphere. The location was great to reach all of the tourist sites in Karen readily, which was also nice. Enjoy your stay!

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Caryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed at Margarita House for 2 days and overall, we found the experience quite disappointing. We were the only guests staying on the first night, and one other couple were also staying on the second, which created a very strange ambience. Despite this, we were positioned in the noisy room directly above reception. The room itself was large and clean, but certainly not restful as we could hear every noise from downstairs. The hotel garden was well kept and provided a lovely location for breakfast. However, breakfast was slow. A form had to be completed, stating your breakfast selection and all food came out together. This meant a 40 minute delay before even receiving coffee. We wised up to this on day 2 and completed our form in advance.

Our biggest disappointment was reserved for dinner. We were asked on day 1 what time we wanted to dine in the evening, so the kitchen was fully aware we wanted to have dinner at 7pm. We ordered two simple dishes and beer. The beer was warm, so we were provided with ice cubes! And then we waited. As it became dark we moved inside and could then hear the noise of the microwave and general clanking sounds coming from the kitchen. We waited some more….after 1.5 hours I requested some bread, as by this time we were both very hungry. The bread never arrived, but 25 minutes later (almost 2 hours after placing the original order) the food was served, without cutlery! My husband’s fried chicken was cold and the whole dish was quite unappetising. My food was actually quite nice, but certainly didn’t justify a 2 hour wait and not the fine dining experience suggested by the website. The owner did apologise to us in the morning, but I’m afraid this was a little too late.

The other major downside to this hotel is that you have to rely on taxis to get everywhere, which becomes quite expensive and they couldn’t tell is how much the fares were costing until the end when we paid. Also, the hotel didn't have any guest information for local attractions, so it was fortunate that we had done our research of the area prior to arriving.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HelenCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
j_blaze123, General Manager at Margarita House, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Madam,

We regret to learn of your negative experiences during your recent visit to Margarita House.
We would like to apologize for the slack service during both dinner and breakfast service. We at Margarita House pride ourselves in constantly delivering good quality service and deem these isolated incidents as totally unacceptable. We have since reprimanded the relevant staff members in regards to the same.

We are a relatively small and new guesthouse and hence we may have erratic occupancy levels from time to time. We generally have no control over how many guests occupy our guesthouse at a given time and in addition January is considered a relatively slow month in the local hotel industry. All the same we apologize for failing to meet that expectation.

As for the concierge service, we are currently developing literature for various local attractions found in the area, including game parks, restaurants, shopping outlets and banking services. This material will be availed to all our clients starting 1st April 2012.

We appreciate your valuable feedback and would like to welcome you back to Margarita House to experience the improvements we have made all round.

Kind regards,

Joel Bwayo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
2.1 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#14 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
6.5 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#4 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wildebeest Eco Camp
Wildebeest Eco Camp
#2 of 248 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Troy Nairobi
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#11 of 248 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margarita House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margarita House

Property: Margarita House
Address: Lower Plains Road | off Karen Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 248 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Margarita House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Kenya’s best kept secrets, Margarita house is a budding boutique hotel fittingly situated on the periphery of Nairobi city, in the up-scale suburb of Karen. We are conveniently located within 5 minutes drive of major tourist attractions such as; Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum, giraffe center and the Nairobi safari walk. At Margarita House we offer professional personalized service delivered in a serene and relaxing environment. Try us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Margarita House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margarita House Hotel Karen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing