We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kentmere Club

Kentmere Club
Ranked #319 of 475 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: French, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

If you want to just hang out in beautiful gardens, this is the place to be. However, the room seem run down and as we took a walk around the property, there was an ambience of "letting go" of the fabulous room and other amenities.

The gardens are superb and well maintained though.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smwelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nairobi
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely place, but don't expect much of the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We went some years back with a family of twelve, brothers, wives, parents and found the place to be wonderful. The rooms were romantic, tub facility, fire place, lovely greenery.
However, dinner was very disappointing, very bland food. The breakfast was good, omelette in particular.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zahid m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
94 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good kitchen.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

I was at Kentmere club during a work lunch.

In few words.

Environment.
So cute and warm.

Service.
Good, altough sometimes african peolple are embrassed to speak friendly with european.

Kitchen.
Was very good, healty and with nice flavour.

The garden it's a very nice place to visit.

-gustoerrante- advises for Kentmere Club.

Helpful?
2 Thank gustoerrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solingen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Time for a serious face lift”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I used to love the Kentmere club for its atmosphere and its privacy, quietness and beauty. The problem is that the owners don't want to invest in the place and it's looking grubby and run down. It doesn't need to change its basic architecture and ambiance, but a thorough re-decoration, some serious maintenance, decent internet and TV in the rooms are what it needs to make it competitive again. If you have to drive 20 miles out of Nairobi to get there, it needs to try harder and, goodness knows, the owner's got the money!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Hugh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“I still love Kentmere BUT their Rabbit Delicacy failed me!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I became adventurous and decided to order one of the latest kid on their menu-Rabbit Meat-. To be fair they did their best to serve me the delicacy as offered but my personal experience was awful! I had to share in my wife's chicken. I have been to Kentmere for more than four times and on one occasion the buffet set-up during a seminar wowed us as a group of 10 pax. what i really love most is the countryside feel as well as the homely fire place at nights next to the beer counter. its like having a minibar in your living room!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DominicM969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kentmere Club also viewed

 

Been to Kentmere Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing