We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, but don't expect much of the food”
Review of Kentmere Club

Kentmere Club
Ranked #484 of 566 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
nairobi
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely place, but don't expect much of the food”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We went some years back with a family of twelve, brothers, wives, parents and found the place to be wonderful. The rooms were romantic, tub facility, fire place, lovely greenery.
However, dinner was very disappointing, very bland food. The breakfast was good, omelette in particular.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zahid m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    8
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Province of Brescia, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good kitchen.”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

I was at Kentmere club during a work lunch.

In few words.

Environment.
So cute and warm.

Service.
Good, altough sometimes african peolple are embrassed to speak friendly with european.

Kitchen.
Was very good, healty and with nice flavour.

The garden it's a very nice place to visit.

-gustoerrante- advises for Kentmere Club.

Helpful?
2 Thank gustoerrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solingen
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Time for a serious face lift”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I used to love the Kentmere club for its atmosphere and its privacy, quietness and beauty. The problem is that the owners don't want to invest in the place and it's looking grubby and run down. It doesn't need to change its basic architecture and ambiance, but a thorough re-decoration, some serious maintenance, decent internet and TV in the rooms are what it needs to make it competitive again. If you have to drive 20 miles out of Nairobi to get there, it needs to try harder and, goodness knows, the owner's got the money!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Hugh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I still love Kentmere BUT their Rabbit Delicacy failed me!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I became adventurous and decided to order one of the latest kid on their menu-Rabbit Meat-. To be fair they did their best to serve me the delicacy as offered but my personal experience was awful! I had to share in my wife's chicken. I have been to Kentmere for more than four times and on one occasion the buffet set-up during a seminar wowed us as a group of 10 pax. what i really love most is the countryside feel as well as the homely fire place at nights next to the beer counter. its like having a minibar in your living room!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DominicM969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were visiting someone in Limuru and this was recommended as a lunch option. Although a bit faded I think it would be a fine place for a cup of tea or a cocktail overlooking the garden in the back, but the food is not good. The menu was suspiciously broad and our group stuck to toasted ham and cheese sandwiches. We waited ages. The sandwiches made in a Breville style sandwich press were made with so-so ham and absolutely laden with margarine - not very nice to put it nicely. On the upside, we've had many chuckles over those toasties! Restaurant food quality in Nairobi, etc. is generally pretty middle of the road so I wan't expecting the moon. Stick to drinks.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank shaslau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kentmere Club also viewed

 

Been to Kentmere Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing