We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely place, but don't expect much of the food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kentmere Club

Kentmere Club
Ranked #301 of 512 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
nairobi
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely place, but don't expect much of the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We went some years back with a family of twelve, brothers, wives, parents and found the place to be wonderful. The rooms were romantic, tub facility, fire place, lovely greenery.
However, dinner was very disappointing, very bland food. The breakfast was good, omelette in particular.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zahid m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Province of Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
94 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good kitchen.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

I was at Kentmere club during a work lunch.

In few words.

Environment.
So cute and warm.

Service.
Good, altough sometimes african peolple are embrassed to speak friendly with european.

Kitchen.
Was very good, healty and with nice flavour.

The garden it's a very nice place to visit.

-gustoerrante- advises for Kentmere Club.

Helpful?
2 Thank gustoerrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solingen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Time for a serious face lift”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I used to love the Kentmere club for its atmosphere and its privacy, quietness and beauty. The problem is that the owners don't want to invest in the place and it's looking grubby and run down. It doesn't need to change its basic architecture and ambiance, but a thorough re-decoration, some serious maintenance, decent internet and TV in the rooms are what it needs to make it competitive again. If you have to drive 20 miles out of Nairobi to get there, it needs to try harder and, goodness knows, the owner's got the money!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Hugh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“I still love Kentmere BUT their Rabbit Delicacy failed me!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I became adventurous and decided to order one of the latest kid on their menu-Rabbit Meat-. To be fair they did their best to serve me the delicacy as offered but my personal experience was awful! I had to share in my wife's chicken. I have been to Kentmere for more than four times and on one occasion the buffet set-up during a seminar wowed us as a group of 10 pax. what i really love most is the countryside feel as well as the homely fire place at nights next to the beer counter. its like having a minibar in your living room!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DominicM969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were visiting someone in Limuru and this was recommended as a lunch option. Although a bit faded I think it would be a fine place for a cup of tea or a cocktail overlooking the garden in the back, but the food is not good. The menu was suspiciously broad and our group stuck to toasted ham and cheese sandwiches. We waited ages. The sandwiches made in a Breville style sandwich press were made with so-so ham and absolutely laden with margarine - not very nice to put it nicely. On the upside, we've had many chuckles over those toasties! Restaurant food quality in Nairobi, etc. is generally pretty middle of the road so I wan't expecting the moon. Stick to drinks.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank shaslau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kentmere Club also viewed

 

Been to Kentmere Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing