We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Asian”

Zen Garden Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 567 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Datchet, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Authentic Asian”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Six months after arriving in Nairobi, was able to finally dine in to this restaurant. On first arrival to Nairobi, a write up on this establishment was brilliantly published in a local magazine (I think). Write up was impressive, so one evening my husband & I decided to try it out.

As in any restaurant in Nairobi, Zen menu is pricey. Still looking forward to a good Chinese or Pan-Asian dinner.

Not bad, but there are better restaurant serving this type of cuisine. Should have listened to friends' comments, but stubborn I am, I insisted to try.

Next time I should listen to friends specially if one is a well known head chef of an international five star hotel.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jgirl1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

U want a chilled out no noise kind of place with friends or hubby, this a nice joint, but if your pocket isn't deep better look the other way. I like the tree tomatoe cocktail. A nice hidden join in lower kabete. MUST visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MsEMwangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Baby Cockroaches”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We usually have a great time at Zen Gardens for a Sunday Brunch, so we decided to visit it once again towards mid Sept.
When we got there they sat us at a table that was too small for 7 pax, despite prior reservation. After complaining they moved us to a larger table inside.
Half way through our meal I got a baby Cockroach in my plate and thought it came from the food, but when we complained the only thing the waiter did was take my plate away and kill the Cockroach which was on the plate. As the meal progressed we saw a few more Cockroaches on the table and discovered they were coming out from within the table since the table had not been cleaned properly for a long time. We complained again and they moved us to sofa set and cleared out table away. We asked to see the manager to complain, but he refused to come see us and sent his assistant to deal with us. We booked through Eatout and we ever entitled to a 10% food discount which they did not give us when our bill was presented, we had to ask for the discount and they only gave us 10% we were already entitled to with no compensation for the ruined meal. We left the assistant manager with our contact details asking them to ask the owners to call us and till date we have never heard back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Khilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shivradia, Owner at Zen Garden Restaurant, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Khilan,

We are extremely sorry to hear you had such a poor experience at Zen Garden. We apologise again for this bad experience. We have looked into the issue and we can guarantee that this will definitely not happen again. I apologise on behalf of the staff and manager on the way the matter was handled. Please can you send us your details to info@zengarden.co.ke and the bill amount as we would like to refund the full amount to you.

Our sincere apologies.

Thank you

Zen Garden Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Beautiful place; garden is lovely and indoor dining nice as well. Food served very nicely. Starters were less than average. Sushi was excellent though one roll was extremely spicy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely setting but inconsistent quality”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Each time I go to Zen Garden I always leave feeling a bit dissapointed as it never quite meets expectations. The first meal I had there, we had asian cuisine and the children had pizza and whilst the pizza was great ... the asian food was ok, but quite bland. The next time we went we had sushi which was great, but the kids pizzas were not and the sevice was all out of sync. The final time the food was all ok but distinctly average. Friends have often recommended this place and whilst the setting is lovely, the food always seems to fall short. Perhaps it's just our bad luck.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tiffany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zen Garden Restaurant also viewed


Been to Zen Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing