We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs improvement in service... and avoid loud noises!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zen Garden Restaurant

Zen Garden Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 538 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Needs improvement in service... and avoid loud noises!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I have been to this restaurant a few times now - quality of food is good (although a bit pricey...).
Last experience was on Saturday (a public holiday day). Went with family. As soon as we drove in we hear an horrible loud "disco music" NOISE, accompanied by a electric saw noise coming from the neighbours... We found our reserved table (as nobody was there to welcome us...) and the loud annoying disco NOISE accompanied the whole meal... Apparently a ONE YEAR OLD birthday party in the grounds.... Service was (as always over weekends) painfully slow, bitings and main courses were all brought at the same time... Lots of kids running around and making noise, breaking brunches from the trees etc etc (although this is obviously more of a problem from the parents...)

I do realize that businesses need to make money, but it's not fair to have such loud and annoying music playing when other clients are a few meters away in search for a quiet (and expensive) weekend meal.... I doubt I and my guests will return, such a pity as food and menus are pretty good, but atmosphere is also a huge factor in dining experience...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Khanda64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    134
    41
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great food at the Thai Restaurant but Coffee shop menu a bit boring and expensive. Beautiful gardens

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Desgomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We decided to visit Zen Garden (/Bamboo restaurant) on a whim on a Sunday evening and we were pleasantly surprised.

Their website says they start serving at 7 but we fancied a cocktail before dinner so we called to see if we could go earlier. Turns out they start serving at 6pm and they're happy for you to turn up any time in the afternoon to take advantage of the cafe which has cocktails (though a more limited range than the evening menu).

Being a sunny afternoon we sat outside which was lovely. Lots of children around but largely grouped in one area so actually we didn't find them too intrusive. At 6 we were given new menus and we moved to a different table.

The food isn't cheap (especially the starters), but it's not horribly expensive, and there's an excellent vegetarian selection. We opted for the spring rolls and the sesame tofu starters which we shared and we were very impressed. For mains one of us had the half peking duck which came impressively served on half a bamboo cane with a huge amount of very succulent meat. We also had the vegetable noodles as the other main which was simple but very well done.

The atmosphere was great, as was the service - there were plenty of waiters who were all very polite and they even called a taxi for us at the end of our meal. We'd recommend taking the advice of other reviews to take jumpers if you want to sit outside - something we'd recommend doing for the quiet, intimate atmosphere that didn't seem to be the case inside (though it looked nice enough).

A good 'treat' meal if you're looking for one.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EllieandAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious, food, good service and ambience. Take a jumper or two if you happen to get a table outside its does get cold!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Bamboo restaurant is amazing! Lovely menu and very good value for money. (that doesn’t mean it’s cheap though). Their menu is offers a range of interesting option which are quite unique and different from your typical oriental restaurant in Nairobi. And very vegetarian friendly. Their wine list is good too offering some pocket friendly options…
We were there for dinner on quite a chilly night and got a table outside. Considering there is a lot of outdoors seating, it would be nice to have the jikos/burners for heat. The food too gets cold very fast. 

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shreyashah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taibon, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Zen garden is such a great place to relax during the weekend or when you just want to get away from the hustle of Nairobi life, quiet sorrounding, green, green, green, peace and quiet, good food! I loved it there!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CWeryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zen Garden Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Zen Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing