We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great coffee but thats about it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dormans Restaraunt

Dormans Restaraunt
Ranked #187 of 480 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, Delicatessen
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
Dhaka
Level Contributor
150 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great coffee but thats about it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

To be honest Kenyan coffee is great wherever you go and Dormans no exception. I felt that the espresso was exquisite and would recommend it. If you are a short tempered person, dont order anything besides coffee.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTaskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Shock on me at Dormans opposite International House”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I was in shock with my experience at Dormans opposite International House. This was in Sept 2013.
The service is poor. I returned to the counter severally to ask for cutlery and then to pay my bill as the wait service was just lustre and gave no attention. Young people who are not alert. At the counter I cannot get my cutlery because the next young person there believes it is the duty of waiter to attend to this.
The vegetable samosas arrive. Very large, very oily and the taste of thick dough in my mouth. I ended up eating the vegetable filling.It was traumatic.Train the cook on samosa making.
Value for money? I was in shock. Is this the same Dormans? It will take awhile before I return

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank June479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nairobi's Panera...with better coffee.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stopped at Dormans for lunch in in mid-June. I ordered the caprese sandwich and a coffee. The place and menu reminded me a lot of a Panera Bread with an African flavor. The sandwich was pretty good, especially at about $4. The coffee was great! Of course, when the coffee is picked and roasted within 50 miles of where you drink it, it should be good. The place was very busy, and the staff was swamped, but they were pleasant. Overall, I'd like to return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wicomet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfect! Free fast wireless!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great European food, with sandwiches, wraps, salads. they also serve breakfast all day and their cakes are delicious!! free wireless and great coffee what more do you need?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KiwiB34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not a fan”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The selection was really limited considering its a coffee shop. Then the worst thing happened. I ordered a chocolate chip milkshake. That is by far one of the worst shakes i've had. The pastry took ages and the staff weren't too serviceable when i reminded them of my order.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elenor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dormans Restaraunt also viewed

 

Been to Dormans Restaraunt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing