We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lower or Manage Your Expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Khweza Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Khweza Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 219 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Usa, Japan
1 review
“Lower or Manage Your Expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Likes: Proximity to CBD is good. Staff is friendly

Dislikes: Where to begin...
1. Cold cement rooms
2. Meals are less than adequate. Eggs is the main staple for breakfast which even when offered different preparations is not good. Limited availability of menu selections. Maybe seven if you're lucky. Soups are powdered soups so if you think you are ordering chicken soup the traditional way..think again. A thick glutaneous bowl of yellow stuff which is strange because everywhere you look in Nairobi is a chicken place.
3. Cockroaches in room.
4. Towels tend to be dirty so check them first before using.
5. Did I say very cold rooms?
6. Wifi is out most of the time and you will have difficulties connecting after 10:00pm because Wifi is nonexistent. I at bed and breakfast now and it's taking me 20 minutes to send this review because the wifi keeps going out.
7. Extremely noisey. The cleaning staff starts off the noise at 6:30am. If you're on the second floor across from kitchen you will hear them join in which sounds like a full fledge ruckus. Staff and guests are loud at night. Things finally die down about 12:00am/1:00am. No need for an alarm clock-the noise will suffice.

Really lower your expectations. I would advice you to save a bit more for a quality hotel. If you stay, eat out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Searching4more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    80
    28
    17
    1
See reviews for
11
57
49
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Khweza hotel was a good experience. The hotel is affordable, very friendly staff..not always though! You can take a matatto for 20 Kenyan shillings to be in town, takes about 5 mins to reach town. We stayed there for two weeks, but they never changed our sheets or towels, first three days we did not have hot water, break fast was good..decoration is amazing, comfortable beds..
The roof was nice, small but nice. Not all food on menu is available...and that was kind of annoying. At night it's not a very safe place...but the staff are helpful, they'll tell you how to come back and they'll probably send you a taxi or get you a taxi. One of the things that drove me crazy was the noise, at 6 or 7 in the morning, the stuff starts cleaning and you can literally hear EVERYTHING they're doing!! Plus car beeps and footsteps..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 448TravelWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Very nice bed n breakfast, food is good! The rooms are clean and comfortable! The showers are hot! Staff iz friendly and helpful. On the rooftop a nice bar with an amazing view over Nairobi! This view is an unique experience! Loved the sunsets!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robbertwaalwijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This place is a short drive from where to post bus stops, and within walking distance to downtown. I arrived late at night and one of the staff helped me get food at nearby restaurant. I stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed the helpfulness of the staff, as well as the amazing breakfast that came with Cadbury hot chocolate. The hotel is in great condition. We arranged a day trip to the Kazuri bead factory, giraffe breeding center, and the elephant orphanage through the hotel, and their taxi driver Charles was fantastic to work with. I stayed at one of their deluxe rooms in the front of the building and the street traffic was really loud. I slept with earplugs, but the noise disturbed me whenever I was in the room. The rooms further into the hotel were a little smaller but just as nice. It's hard to imagine a better place for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

In comparison with other places within the price range, i recommend this b&b. rooms are clean, with bathrooms and warm water 24/7 which is not that obvious in Nairobi. You can easily walk to the city centre (i did). Breakfast was good, staff will order you a taxi at a fixed price, give a photocopy of nairobi map and so on. just ask.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The hotel had great decor, comfortable beds, local art displayed, 24 hr service, friendly and helpful staff, good food. The roof top was superb! The place has character you don't find in similar priced hotels.

Room Tip: stayed 2x and in different rooms. They both had their unique qualities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 953 reviews
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#79 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khweza Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khweza Bed & Breakfast

Property: Khweza Bed & Breakfast
Address: Ngara Road | Opposite Administration Police Post, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 219 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Khweza Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khweza Bed and Breakfast Nairobi offers high quality affordable accommodation minutes away from the Nairobi city centre (approx 1 km). Our rooms are warm and welcoming, have distinctive African decor with the privacy of a hotel and the warmth of home. Khweza Bed and Breakfast Nairobi, is a rewarding lodging alternative, ideal for business travelers, families and leisure travelers. Amenities include: hot instant showers, TV, wireless internet access and a rooftop bar and restaurant offering a variety of African dishes with a magnificent panoramic view of the Nairobi city skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Khweza Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khweza Bed And Breakfast
Khweza Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing