We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would be happy to stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Khweza Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 261 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“I would be happy to stay here again”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This place is a short drive from where to post bus stops, and within walking distance to downtown. I arrived late at night and one of the staff helped me get food at nearby restaurant. I stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed the helpfulness of the staff, as well as the amazing breakfast that came with Cadbury hot chocolate. The hotel is in great condition. We arranged a day trip to the Kazuri bead factory, giraffe breeding center, and the elephant orphanage through the hotel, and their taxi driver Charles was fantastic to work with. I stayed at one of their deluxe rooms in the front of the building and the street traffic was really loud. I slept with earplugs, but the noise disturbed me whenever I was in the room. The rooms further into the hotel were a little smaller but just as nice. It's hard to imagine a better place for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    87
    34
    17
    1
See reviews for
13
63
58
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

In comparison with other places within the price range, i recommend this b&b. rooms are clean, with bathrooms and warm water 24/7 which is not that obvious in Nairobi. You can easily walk to the city centre (i did). Breakfast was good, staff will order you a taxi at a fixed price, give a photocopy of nairobi map and so on. just ask.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The hotel had great decor, comfortable beds, local art displayed, 24 hr service, friendly and helpful staff, good food. The roof top was superb! The place has character you don't find in similar priced hotels.

Room Tip: stayed 2x and in different rooms. They both had their unique qualities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Khweza is a very positive surprise in the otherwise quite difficult and often disappointing hotel market of Nairobi. The rooms are big and clean, the staff is very friendly and the shower has the hot water that is promised. And yes, there are mosquito nets, without holes.

The area of Ngara is a 15 minute walking distance from town, matatus run shuttle to town some 3 minutes away from the hotel. A taxi to town should cost some 400 KSh. The area is perhaps not the charmiest around, but safe during day time for anyone. Just look like you know where you're heading and you won't be bothered! Although the street outside (Ngara Road) is one of the more restless ones at night, safety at the Khweza is good.

Minus points for noisiness: the windows are non-isolated and both traffic and other noises during the night will request the light sleeper to bring a pair of earplugs.

To sum it up, the Khweza is definitely the best value for the money I've had in Nairobi, out of the five hotels I've tried out in the budget/medium category throughout the last two years. Big bonus for the nice roof top terrace.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flying_V3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We spent a single night in small room in dubious neighborhood of Nairobi surrounded by welcoming and helpful staff. The top-notch breakfast was surely the highlight of the stay. Recommeded if you just need a to crash...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enghoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at khweza in June this year and absolutely loved my experience there. The staff are wonderful; so friendly and accommodating, particularly Jumah, my guide he was fantastic. I'm not quite sure why people are commenting on its location, sure it's not the prettiest part of town but I enjoyed the 'realness' of it..if immersing yourself in the real culture of Kenya isn't what you're looking for then maybe Nairobi isn't really a destination for you, or maybe stay at the hilton and dont leave the hotel. :-)
Not once did I feel unsafe here, and I'm a female who traveled alone - and arrived in the evening... The roof top bar is lovely. the wifi is great, the food is very decent, breakfast is included which was great..

Khweza b&b comes highly recommended by me. Asante sana khweza! hope to visit again soon! 

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ArcddRr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
The Heron Portico
#4 of 164 in Nairobi
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
964 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
1,118 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
#10 of 261 in Nairobi
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khweza Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khweza Bed & Breakfast

Property: Khweza Bed & Breakfast
Address: Ngara Road | Opposite Administration Police Post, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 261 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Khweza Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khweza Bed and Breakfast Nairobi offers high quality affordable accommodation minutes away from the Nairobi city centre (approx 1 km). Our rooms are warm and welcoming, have distinctive African decor with the privacy of a hotel and the warmth of home. Khweza Bed and Breakfast Nairobi, is a rewarding lodging alternative, ideal for business travelers, families and leisure travelers. Amenities include: hot instant showers, TV, wireless internet access and a rooftop bar and restaurant offering a variety of African dishes with a magnificent panoramic view of the Nairobi city skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Khweza Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khweza Hotel Nairobi
Khweza Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing