We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the business traveller”
Review of Hillpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hillpark Hotel
Ranked #48 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect for the business traveller”
Reviewed November 22, 2010

I stayed here recently with a colleague as we were not willing to pay exorbitant amounts to stay in substandard hotels in the center of town.

The reception area left us a little frazzled as there were many people checking in and checking out on the rainy evening we arrived. However, once we were checked in and stepped into the hotel building we were pleasantly surprised. Quiet, clean, and better than we expected. My room was clean, warm, cosy, and I had piping hot water and clean sheets - perfect!

If there was a problem, if we mentioned it to the staff they were quick to accommodate us. Breakfast wasn't too great, and we didn't eat there for lunch and dinner. However, the garden area by the restaurant, in the peaceful neighborhood and with the gorgeous jacarandas made for a pleasant setting, perfect to sit with one's laptop and a cup of tea (or a glass of wine) if one wanted.

Luckily by the time the health-buffs in the gym got going in the morning I was already awake, otherwise the loud electronica beats would have woken me right up at 6:45am or so. And we were close enough to where we needed to be (right downtown) that it only ever took us about 10 minutes to get there on time.

The taxis at the hotels charged us some of the fairest prices of all the taxis we took... The taxi drivers were honest, courteous, and polite.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is in Nairobi on business and will only be spending time in the hotel to sleep. With a few changes, this place could easily become a hidden gem, for their prices, service, and location.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kachez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    27
    12
    6
See reviews for
2
7
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Its a nice hotel, not far from downtown.

Pretty much a safe place from my experience. The rooms are nice, quite comfortable and well furnished. The price is also not much, so its a good value for money.

The staff is okayish and friendly. The food except for the breakfast is pretty bad..

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank me_nishantgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

I stayed 2 nights at the Hillpark as part of a group safari trip through a reputable company, one night at the beginning of the trip and one in the middle. If I ever return to Nairobi, I would not choose the Hillpark.
The first night was spent in a relatively clean two-story bunk room with extremely dated furnishing and utilities. Dinner at the hotel restaurant was decent but by no means speedy and really the only choice available since the location of the hotel is not close enough to the city center. The included buffet breakfast the next morning was the only highlight of the stay. While some of the amenities such as the state-of-the-art gym, free internet, and luggage storage were nice, the customer service was not up to par.
For the second night, I was quite looking forward to the hotel and a hot shower after 6 nights of camping in the Rift Valley. The room this time was a much nicer hotel room with a beautiful stone shower and large claw foot tub I planned to utilize later that evening. I also planned to take advantage of the laundry service offered, which later became quite the hassle. When dropping off the clothes at the front desk around 230 pm, I was told I should have them returned that evening before bed time. My travel group planned dinner at the hotel restaurant again for lack of better options and boy was it a mistake. We waited over 20 minutes just to obtain a menu after asking 4 times. After waiting another 20 minutes to order, it took 90 minutes for some pastas and burgers, and the waitress seemed to care less. Once dinner was finally complete, I returned to the front desk to check on my laundry. They instructed me to call the laundry office from my room, which I promptly did, and was told they were just sorting and should deliver it within 30 minutes. I held off on the bath assuming they would arrive soon. But then 45 minutes passes, and no laundry. I call again, and was told they were "just finishing up" and would be up in about 15 minutes. Another 30 minutes pass by, and this time I call reception asking to speak with the manager. He states he would check for me and call back. After another 20 minutes of no contact, I walked to the front desk to get answers in person. The manager finally gets involved and says he will personally go check for me and I should return to my room and he will call me with an update. After about 20 more minutes, he calls and says a housekeeper should be right up. When she did finally appear, literally 50% of the clothes were not mine, but random men's clothing. I had to write a detailed explanation of the missing items, which she fortunately was able to retrieve after another 30 minutes of waiting, which puts the time after midnight and an early 5am rising. I was not a happy camper, nor were any of my other group partners, most who did not receive any of their clothes until nearly 6am right before we were scheduled to depart. And even after complaining to management, I was still charged over $20 US for whole laundry fiasco and never received an apology or explanation. And I never did get that bath.

Hillpark needs to reconsider their customer services and improve on them greatly before I would ever consider staying there again or recommending them to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2009

I just spent 4 nights at the Hillpark - I only chose the hotel as the other main hotels were booked. On the plus side - it's a fairly good price for Nairobi (about $100), it seemed safe and the gym is really good (big, clean and all new equipment). Down side - the rooms are very dated, mossies (but no mossie net) and many years of smoking in the room (many rooms are smoking) also it's far from the main drag. It needs to get re-vamped before I would stay there again (the pictures on the website didn't match what I saw!)

  • Liked — Gym
  • Disliked — Dated and smoky rooms
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Saab Royale Hotel
#35 of 164 in Nairobi
51 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#22 of 164 in Nairobi
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#21 of 164 in Nairobi
747 reviews
West Breeze Hotel
#53 of 164 in Nairobi
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillpark Hotel

Property: Hillpark Hotel
Address: Lower Hill Road | P. O. Box 46037, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“As you walk through our doors, you will always feel a sense of coming home. This is our culture” Hillpark Hotels and Resorts is an indigenously Kenyan owned group of hotels featuring Hillpark Nairobi, Hillpark Tiwi, Olpejeta Mansion and our newest bundle of joy Amare Resort. We started off in 2002. Since then we have worked hard to ensure all your different hotel need is met. From business to pleasure to ensuring you keep up your fitness regimen. Our properties stretch from Ukunda, South Coast to Nairobi and Olpejeta in Nanyuki. We love nature; greenery always surrounds us… come see for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hillpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing