We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Hillpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillpark Hotel
Ranked #25 of 222 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The hotel was just opposite to our business office, so it was very conveniently located for us. The breakfast was nice and had a good vegetarian spread as well. Overall security at the hotel was fine. We had taken an apartment which had a large kitchen and living room area. The hotel room and apartment are similarly priced, so an apartment makes better sense. The internal room fittings are not modern and it has the looks of an old hotel room, but maintained nicely. Since our stay was long, the hotel was gracious enough to provide us an evening checkout. Overall a pleasant experience with the hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank frequentflier777300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 74 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

A very difficult day for everyone; the day after the Westgate Mall seige. Our hearts go out to the Kenyan people at this time. I hope the hotel staff realised this and that it is also difficult for foreigners - some of whom were killed at Westgate. We had emails from our country's Foreign Affairs department warning Australian tourists not to go to public places; Emails of concern from our loved ones. We arrived Sunday morning to meet up with an Exodus Tour. We'd come from Sarova Panafric where the staff were very concerned about our safety (as foreigners). of course they were all affected by this terrible tragedy yet they remained 100% professional. Sadly staff at this hotel did not seem to have the same outlook. we felt like intruders. Watching the news for updates we understood, but the alternative was soccer at loud volumes - even in the salon where staff also laughed at me while I got my hair braided. No price list in the salon so had to pay whatever they asked. Very limited
facilities. Lots of people/staff not in uniform so very hard to know who were staff. Not sure why, if this is normal, but it was very disconcerting. Yes, there is free WIFI. Our rooms had beautiful baths. Beds are very firm. I can forgive anything if there is good service. Previous reviews lead me to believe our experience was not just because of Westgate.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CurlyandCherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Well Well, as a trained customer service specialist I found myself faced with a very cold reception from the front office staff and the room attendants for the duration of my stay at the hotel ( seven days). The staff need urgent customer service training before they loss customers who value good customer service delivery. I was rarely greeted each time I passed by the reception. Only the lady that helped me with my check out on 31st July, 2013 was very friendly, the rest were very cold.
The cleaning of the rooms is done as the room attendants please - it appears they are either understaffed or have some attitude issues - though most of the time I would find them in the corridors chatting or is it gossiping and would never greet a guest.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shipango M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Hillpark Hotel is a good alternative to downtown Nairobi. We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment that would be perfect for a family. It could use an upgrade but the space was good. Excellent service, staff, and security. The food was good and the business center helped me accomplish a few tasks.

Room Tip: The new wing is the best but the apartment was good if you need more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VincenzaSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I Would never reccomend this hotel to any1 , the phones in rooms dnt work the stuff members are rude the female workers love men they serve men 1st and female last its the worst hotel ever the food was horrible , i was booked at this hotel by kenya airways coz they delayed our flight ,

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
8  Thank Adelaide P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

A good stay if , like us , you arrive late and leave early .Good rooms , no air con though , super big bath but cleanliness and detail not the first priority . Reception is cold and impersonal , both human and building .
Good breakfast but no personal touches at all. Us eit if you have to but don't make a big effort to book.

Room Tip: Find a hotel with Aircon !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leonspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel twice and stayed in the new wing which was great and would recommend this to anyone however please do NOT accept to stay in the old wing or the apartments as they are very run down and not pleasant.

The location of this hotel is very good if on business in Nairobi as it is located between the industrial area and the CBD.

Room Tip: rooms on the upper floor are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fuad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#11 of 287 in Nairobi
94 reviews
The Heron Portico
#8 of 169 in Nairobi
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
#8 of 287 in Nairobi
167 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#17 of 169 in Nairobi
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillpark Hotel

Address: Lower Hill Road | P. O. Box 46037, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 222 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range: $84 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“As you walk through our doors, you will always feel a sense of coming home. This is our culture” Hillpark Hotels and Resorts is an indigenously Kenyan owned group of hotels featuring Hillpark Nairobi, Hillpark Tiwi, Olpejeta Mansion and our newest bundle of joy Amare Resort. We started off in 2002. Since then we have worked hard to ensure all your different hotel need is met. From business to pleasure to ensuring you keep up your fitness regimen. Our properties stretch from Ukunda, South Coast to Nairobi and Olpejeta in Nanyuki. We love nature; greenery always surrounds us… come see for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hillpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing