We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Nairobi Hotel”
Review of Hillpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hillpark Hotel
Ranked #46 of 211 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Nairobi Hotel”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Hillpark Hotel is a good alternative to downtown Nairobi. We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment that would be perfect for a family. It could use an upgrade but the space was good. Excellent service, staff, and security. The food was good and the business center helped me accomplish a few tasks.

Room Tip: The new wing is the best but the apartment was good if you need more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VincenzaSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    27
    12
    6
See reviews for
2
7
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Usa, Tanzania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I Would never reccomend this hotel to any1 , the phones in rooms dnt work the stuff members are rude the female workers love men they serve men 1st and female last its the worst hotel ever the food was horrible , i was booked at this hotel by kenya airways coz they delayed our flight ,

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
8 Thank Adelaide P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

El Fondo de les Neus, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

A good stay if , like us , you arrive late and leave early .Good rooms , no air con though , super big bath but cleanliness and detail not the first priority . Reception is cold and impersonal , both human and building .
Good breakfast but no personal touches at all. Us eit if you have to but don't make a big effort to book.

Room Tip: Find a hotel with Aircon !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leonspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mombasa
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel twice and stayed in the new wing which was great and would recommend this to anyone however please do NOT accept to stay in the old wing or the apartments as they are very run down and not pleasant.

The location of this hotel is very good if on business in Nairobi as it is located between the industrial area and the CBD.

Room Tip: rooms on the upper floor are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fuad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abidjan
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I had a weekend stay recently at Hillpark. The first time I went there, it was Kenya Airways that took me there, when the messed up my flight. This time around, I was in for a weekend meeting. The place might have been a personal residence turned into a hotel but hey.. what I need is that stuff work.

I could not get to print anything for the meeting. The business center has not been in use for ages. Plus the restaurant area is in another building from the rooms and it was funny that staff could protect themselves with umbrellas while their guests had to run under the rain to get to the restaurant.

I had an evening flight but I left the hotel in the morning.. and told them I'd rather stay at the airport. It is the first time ever that I spend 3 nights in a hotel and I did not see a single smile on the face of any worker there..

As I told Simon (the porter who tried to force a smile) this can only be due to bad treatment from the hotel owner/management.

Room Tip: If you are in town for business, check out other places!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NnennaWestAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Residents have everything cheaper here, not fair on tourists. My room was $220 for non-residents but KSH 12,000 for residents (about $150). Lovely hotel though, good value for money. Complimentary breakfast and was a feast!
I will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olubukonla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here on three occasions, on all three we got a free bump up to the premium rooms. Amazing rooms, including a free standing claw foot tub.

Positives:
brand new rooms with claw foot tubs and safes
helpful staff, we did not load a bag and the reception was quite helpful (they have a mobile # too)
nice lounge area if you are need to work as a group or have a business meeting
great haircuts at the salon!
great location, at the heart of things but very quiet and leafy
helpful for room service -- you can get plates/cutlery from the restaurant
nice friendly cats!

Negatives:
breakfast and generally the restaurant
gym noise if you are facing that side
exorbitant fee to add my partner to the room

I will definitely be back however.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bo-what
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
West Breeze Hotel
#47 of 164 in Nairobi
72 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#24 of 164 in Nairobi
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capital Heights Hotel
#61 of 269 in Nairobi
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillpark Hotel

Property: Hillpark Hotel
Address: Lower Hill Road | P. O. Box 46037, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 211 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“As you walk through our doors, you will always feel a sense of coming home. This is our culture” Hillpark Hotels and Resorts is an indigenously Kenyan owned group of hotels featuring Hillpark Nairobi, Hillpark Tiwi, Olpejeta Mansion and our newest bundle of joy Amare Resort. We started off in 2002. Since then we have worked hard to ensure all your different hotel need is met. From business to pleasure to ensuring you keep up your fitness regimen. Our properties stretch from Ukunda, South Coast to Nairobi and Olpejeta in Nanyuki. We love nature; greenery always surrounds us… come see for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hillpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing