We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Great everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% Off.
Ranked #21 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent! Great everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

I had the opportunity to experience the brand new hotel Crowne Plaza, Nairobi. I believe that the hotel was very nice, clean, and the service was excellent! The staff was very friendly, and whenever I came back to my hotel room after a busy day in the meeting room, my room was superb! The restaurants were excellent, food was always on time, and food quality was superb. The gym is gorgeous, the best in town! I highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauracsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Checkin – Was relatively smooth. Painful part was that they insist of making photo copies of the passports of all guests. Seems overkill.

Rooms – Well appointed rooms, clean and practical. Very modern and contemporary looking furniture. The bathroom had both a shower and a bathtub. Bit overkill but not complaining. The water in the sink seemed to have great trouble in draining. Nice range of bath accessories as well. They provide a couple of bottles of mineral water to drink on the house.

Housekeeping – Left a lot to be desired. I called at 10pm to request extra packets of coffee, creamer and sugar. No one answered on the Housekeeping line. I called Reception and communicated my request. 20 minutes went by and nothing happened. Called Reception again and reminded. Another 10 minutes went by and received a call from Reception saying that someone would be delivering it in 10 minutes. By 10:45 someone came with the coffee. I had him put it on the shelf and he disappeared. 20 minutes later I get up to make myself some coffee and noticed that there was no Creamer!!! They guy had brought Coffee and Sugar but no creamer. By then I just gave up and went to bed.

Internet (WiFi) – They have free WiFi access throughout the hotel. This for the most part worked quite well. UserID and password are given out by Reception.

Business Center – A word of caution. This is a place of daylight robbers. My wife had to get a map photocopied. It was 1 page. They charged us $2.00 (USD) for it! There is making a profit, greed and then daylight robbery. I think this qualifies as daylight robbery.

Concierge service – Hugely disappointing. They don’t have any decent maps of Nairobi. When we requested one, they appeared surprised that people would want a map and got a photocopied one. I asked the gentleman, to point out where our hotel was on the map and it took him a good 2 minutes to locate it! Seemed like this was the first time someone had made such a request of him!!! For a hotel that considers itself 5 star, not having a basic color map seems pathetic.

Help with Baggage – During checkout, I called Reception about 15 minutes before I would have liked to leave to request that someone from Concierge show up with a cart to pick up our baggage. 20 minutes went by and there was no response. I finally walked down to Concierge and had to send the person up to the room to pick up the luggage. We had placed a cardboard carton with some ornamental glass work (labeled and taped as FRAGILE all over) on this cart. This brain surgeon from Concierge goes up to get our luggage and returns with some luggage piled on top of the box labeled FRAGILE. Highly unimpressed.

Fitness Center – Very well appointed Fitness center with multiple treadmills, cycles, elliptical trainers and Nautilus equipment. Quite nice indeed.

Restaurant-Had the Breakfast buffet. We arrived at the restaurant at about 9:30am. Most items were either nearly empty or gone by then. They did not seem to be too keen to keep them refilled. Average at best for the restaurant.

Overall – For a new property that claims to be 5 star, it fell well short of expectations. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kumarcheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowneplazanairobi, Owner at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 26, 2010
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

The bathroom was not clean, the shower glass was full of soap scum and the floor not washed. The rooms are beautiful and the restaurant ok.
The hotel so is expensive, I wished I had gone with the B&B I saw online. They charged for everything and alot of extra fees on the bill including a training fee??!!
I would not stay here if you are concerned about money... we did feel safe here though.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowneplazanairobi, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 7, 2010
We truly appreciate your positive feedback which enable us to always strive for higher quality and improve on our service and standards, as Crowne Plaza Nairobi is fully committed to ensure guest satisfaction at all levels.

We will be honored to welcome you back and make your next stay memorable. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at juan.uribe@cpnairobi.com.

Regards

Juan Uribe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
2.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#30 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Nairobi
Hilton Nairobi
#47 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 915 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nairobi Upper Hill
1.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#11 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#