We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Rooms and staff are great - food needs improvement” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #17 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Rooms and staff are great - food needs improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

The rooms are well appointed, clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and go out of their way to accommodate the guests needs. The quality and selection of food for breakfast and dinner buffets could be improved, given the price charged. Similarly the quality and selection of food at the coffee lounge can be vastly improved and it could offer light meal alternatives to the full buffet. With few other dining-out options in the vicinity, improving food service could enhance the hotel experience immensely. The hotel is conveniently located for business in Upper Hill area of Nairobi which is fast developing into the new business district. The roads in the area, unfortunately, are terrible and presents and unfavorable picture when approaching the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on 5th floor facing front of hotel are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAnilC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you RAnilC for your time to review us on trip advisor. We appreciate your feedback, both positive and constructive. I have shared your comments and suggestions with the team and I assure you that they have taken them seriously. As for the roads in the area, we anticipate the completion in the next few months. This will make movement around upper hill much easier, hassle-free and create a favorable picture of the hotel.

Thank you for your patronage hoping to welcome you back soon!

Best wishes,
Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    217
    64
    16
    11
See reviews for
35
68
34
328
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

I was blessed to reside at this Crowne Plaza Hotel for the first week of July. I was highly impressed. The staff was attentive and friendly. The room was immaculate. The menu was culturally diverse and the food was excellent. The service was quick and quality was high. Of course, they are building up the area so the roads and surrounding areas were a bit rough for travel, however arriving at the hotel was truly pleasant. I was pleased to see the level of security provided with no exceptions. The management was great and I loved the extra touches. Travel often, but had never had a personalized welcome on the room television before! COOL! I sent that home to the US and everyone was shocked! This hotel gives you affordability coupled with class and service from people who take great pride in their work.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HopeDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear HopeDB,

Thank you for such fantastic feedback with regards to your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi. Indeed, it is very encouraging to read how our team were able to make it happen for you.

I will pass your great comments on to the team and let them know of the very great ratings. This will go a long way in boosting the team's morale and make them achieve higher scores.

We appreciate your feedback once more hoping to host you in the near future.

Best wishes,
Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here a number of times. As Platinum member I get an upgrade which is always welcome. This entitles you to a free Happy Hour in the Club Room ( where I am now). Happy front desk staff and Club staff. The pool is heated and gets the sun in the afternoon. Good gym. Concierge can arrange car to get out at reasonable rates (Dame Daphne Sheldrick elephant rescue centre was my destination).
Comfy bed and love the "sleep therapy" kit provided...works for me!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank cue-em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear cue-em,

Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback on your stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi. We are delighted to read that we have made an oasis of calm for you while in Nairobi. Our team takes pride in both the service and product and we are pleased it met your standards.

We appreciate your most continued loyalty- IHG Rewards Platinum membership.

Last but not least, thank you for recommending our hotel to other trip advisor reviewers hoping to host you again in future.

Best wishes,
Ken Musili
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Great all-round service, from the lobby to restaurant, concierge, reception counter and hotel taxi service! The atmosphere is just wonderful.
Good food too! Fresh fruit every morning, diverse menu that incorporates local dishes. Delicious!!

Rooms are comfortable! Very fast WiFi with Internet access.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandile S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Many thanks Sandile S for your time to give us feedback on your stay. We are very happy to read of your positive feedback and to read that your travel was a succesful one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Nairobi on your next visit to the city of cold waters, Nairobi.

Best wishes,
Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed at the hotel in late June early July 2014.

I felt the Hotel itself was ok. Overall the Hotel itself is a good standard, food was passable, room service was responsive but I felt the hotel was a little boring and sterile.

However the roads surrounding the hotel are a bumpy disgrace. There are no shops or conveniences anywhere near and the Taxi’s charges are exorbitant. It basically cost $12 dollars to go even the shortest distance. With no passing traffic or Taxi’s, the drivers have a captive market.

There is not a bit of grass anywhere in the hotel or a decent area to sit outside (only by the pool which is all concrete).

The reception area and café is a typical sterile piano bar, and the bar itself is overpriced and again sterile. If you don’t mind dull boring reasonable standard hotels you will be fine.

However if you like to get out and about and see a bit of the city, or relax in a pleasant outdoor space, then this place will fall far short of your expectations. I fall into the latter two and did not enjoy my stay here. We travelled to the Fairview on our last afternoon which seemed much more pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much Stuart1901, for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback on Crowne Plaza Nairobi. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level and guest experience we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was not in line with your expectations. We have taken note of your comments on the piano bar, the bar, the food and the taxi charges; will share this with respective team members to look into them.

Upper hill area in Nairobi is currently growing to be the business hub of the city. This growth will bring along improved infrastructure, malls and other areas of interests but in the interim, there are other areas that we recommend and arrange through our concierge and travel desks. Be sure to let me know of your next visit and will prepare something interesting for you. I can be reached on: kennedy.musili@cpnairobi.com.

I hope that you will not write us off and that we shall have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes,
Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

The road to Crown plaza is a bit bumpy due to on going works. Today parking was a challenge so I had to pack outside. But the service was great. I would recomend in any time and day for anyone in Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reubenkimani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank Reubenkimani for your positive comments on Crowne Plaza Nairobi! We are delighted to hear that you had great service at our hotel hoping that we shall have another opportunity in the near future.

Thank you for recommending us to other trip advisor reviewers.

Best wishes,

Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
508 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

I recently held a class at the Crowne Plaza. I was concerned about security in Nairobi given the recent bombings but this hotel is clearly focused on it. All cars are checked before entry and all passengers have to exit the vehicle, at least at the times I entered. You need to scan you bags before entering as well. With that said, one of my peers had his laptop bag stolen from the lounge area. I'm embarrassed to say that 4 of us were sitting at the lounge table and none of us saw the perpetrator. The hotel staff was very helpful in reviewing film but the perpetrator was never found. However, I have to say I never felt unsafe at the hotel.

The rooms are very nice and very well appointed. The internet was acceptable and the temperature controls worked well. I didn't use the exercise facility but it looked complete. The restaurant was pretty good with a buffet at most meals with many good selections.

The staff here spoke english very well and were always extremely helpful in resolving any issues.

All in all it was a good trip to Nairobi and I would recommend the Crowne as a good hotel choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymoussfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear anonymoussfh,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Crowne Plaza Nairobi and for taking time to write to us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Like other serious organisations, we take security of our guests very seriously thus the thorough searches on everyone coming into the building. It's unfortunate though that one of your peers lost his laptop but glad to hear that he was provided with the necessary assistance.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to other trip advisor reviewers. I look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Nairobi in the near future and if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me on kennedy.musili@cpnairobi.com.

Best wishes,
Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
1.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nairobi Upper Hill
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#21 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipment make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 206 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra-modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing