We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #19 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I have stayed at the Crowne Plaza 4 nights in May. The rooms are very comfortable, and the reception excellent. The front office staff remember your name and is very helpful to find a taxi. I stay here often and will return. The giant prawns are great at both restaurants in the hotel. Don't be put off by the roads around the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the inside of the hotel as there are a lot of construction going on at night in the are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you Ms. Lucette B for your kind comments on Crowne Plaza Nairobi. It has always been a pleasure hosting you and we are delighted to hear of the excellent service from the reception team and great giant prawns at the restaurants.
Thank you for recommending our hotel to other trip advisor viewers. Be sure to let us know of your next visit so that we can allocate your preffered room.

Best wishes,
Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    197
    60
    14
    9
See reviews for
30
62
34
301
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I needed an overnight hotel for a recent transit through Nairobi. Even though it is further away from where I normally stay - during non-peak traffic it takes no more than 15 minutes to get to the airport. The hotel is in a quiet part of town - you can hear the birds when you wake in the morning. The rooms are clean and modern. Breakfast is awesome. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I overheard a guest in front of me ask for a room away from the elevators. So I did the same. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helloseanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Sean B,

Thank you for your kind comments on Crowne Plaza Nairobi and for recommending us to other trip advisor viewers. We are very happy to hear that you had a memorable stay with us. Be sure to let us know when you are coming back so that we can reserve your preferred room.

Best wishes,

Ken Musili
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times and have been happy with the service, staff and accommodations. The rooms are fairly updated and the restaurant is above par for the area, with a nice wine selection. Breakfast is served in nice area located next to the pool and offers great coffee! The internet was slow and needs a speed boost. Outside of the hotel, I would not recommend walking alone but their is a nice local establishment across the street if you are looking for a change of scenes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vmo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Vmo9,

We appreciate your positive comments on Crowne Plaza Nairobi and are delighted that you are happy with the staff, service and accomodation. We will surely share this with the team.

I have taken note of the internet issue and will share it with the team for the purpose of addressing it. As for the roads surrounding the hotel, I am glad to inform you that we anticipate that they will be complete in about six months making it easy to walk around.

I has been a pleasure hosting you while in Nairobi and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best wishes,

Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky,USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

My third visit to this property in as many years and truly our home away from home in Nairobi. Staff, surroundings, cleanliness, rooms,amenities ...all still superb. Many thanks for always making us feel so welcomed and at home.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thelmagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Thelmagal,

We greatly appreciate your feedback on your experience at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

We are indeed delighted to know that we have made another home for you in Nairobi and that we delivered to your expectation. Thank you for recommending us to trip advisor viewers as we look forward to hosting you again.

Best wishes,

Ken Musili
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

I got picked up from a friendly hotel driver. The security was very strict to enter the hotel which is very good. Received a complementary upgrade to Club floor and a wonderful corner suite. The rooms are clean and everything worked including free wifi. The breakfast room beside the pool is great as well as the buffet. The fitness area is nice with many machines and spotless clean. The whole staff is extremely friendly esp. the one from the club lounge and fitness area. Between 6 and 7 pm the lounge served free drinks and good snacks. Definitely one of my favorite IHG Hotels in the MEA region.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woso1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Woso1,

We greatly appreciate your comments about Crowne Plaza Nairobi and delighted to know that you had a very good experience with us. We will share the comments with the staff and assure you that this will go a long way in motivating them to deliver the best to all hotel guests.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to trip advisor members and hope to host you again in future.

Regards,

Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

A very professional set of people, we'll maintained rooms, centrally located, though the approach roads are somewhat of a problem - been under construction by some Chinese companies forever, but otherwise, it's perfect.

A perfect spread of breakfast options, a good gym, a pool too small and oddly located, that doesn't help, but overall not much to complain for a business traveller.

Pricing is pretty competitive and they really take good care of their regular guests, so suits me just fine.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank siddhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Siddhoo,

Thank you for your feedback and for the positive comments about our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had a very good experience with staff and facility.

As for the roads, I am glad to inform you that the construction should be concluded in the next six months. This will greatly help in reducing the traffic that chokes up the roads in upperhill area.

I hope that we shall have another opportunity to host you in future.

Best wishes,

Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

At a recent business trip to Nairobi I stayed at the Crowne Plaza hotel. I requested an early check in which the staff at the reception counter dealt with most professionally. With no hesitation I was offered a room. the rooms are neat, clean and offer excellent value to the business traveller. Wi-fi connectivity is good and its free. The abience of the hotel is relaxing and the coffee shop is brilliant.
The restaurant offers a great selection of food. The gym facilities are excellent. Overall, a great hotel in Nairobi.

Room Tip: I stayed in the 5th floor which is the business executive floor. This has its own breakfast room whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manfred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Manfred K ,

Thank you for taking the time of writing a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

I was pleased to hear that you experienced friendly and efficient service from our front desk staff on arrival and that they indeed exceeded your expectations.

We were also very happy to read that you found the hotel rooms clean and neat, offering excellent value to the business traveller like yourself. We pride ourselves of our product offering and we continuosly work hard at offering the best selection of food in our restaurants and coffee selection offerings.

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel to fellow Tripadvisor reviewers and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Wishes

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
1.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 952 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Nairobi
Hilton Nairobi
#30 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nairobi Upper Hill
2.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, IHG, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing