We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for business travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #22 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I've stayed at the Crowne Plaza a number of times, most recently for 10 days at the end of Feb 2014. It's a good, clean hotel and the staff are helpful and attentive. I had Club access and made use of the Club lounge for breakfast and evening drinks/snacks. The rooms are comfortable with decent beds, TV channels are a good selection and WiFi works OK for email, but gets quite slow in the evenings - Skype with video is not possible. Air con worked fine and not noisy.
Hotel management please note: I do not believe the shower glass has been cleaned properly from inside since new.
Having worked daily out near JKI Airport, the biggest drawback to staying at the Crowne Plaza was the morning and evening traffic and the state of the roads in Upperhill. If you want to be near the airport the Ole Sereni would be a good option (on a par with the Crowne Plaza) and possibly the relatively new Eka hotel - but I have not stayed at the Eka yet.

Room Tip: I have stayed on the 3rd and 4th floors - refurbished a year or so ago. On my latest trip I was upgr...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Iain C,

Thank you taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We were happpy to hear that you have continuosly enjoyed staying with us and appreciated the positive comments about cleanliness and our staff in particular.

We are planning to install a reverse osmosis (water purifier) during the expansion phase of our hotel which will alleviate the flouride content in the water which has been affecting the shower cubicle glass.Thank you for the feedback and in the meantime has been addressed by my Housekeeping team.

I am please to inform you that the roads enhancement in Upperhill will be completed in six months time,once completed will provide easy access to the airport and will also ease the traffic congestion.

My Team and I look forward to hosting you in the not too distant future.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 584 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

The hotel is very clean, modern and spacious. The rooms are very comfortable and ideal for business travellers. Breakfast excellent. Staff very helpful. My only criticism was the 'ladies of the night' that frequented the very smart hotel bar. They made their intentions quite clear by staring consistently all the men !

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
3  Thank Jez W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Jez W ,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review here on TripAdvisor.

I was are delighted to read that your found our facilities clean, modern and spacious and ideal and comfortable for business travelers. Thank you too for the compliments regarding our breakfast and the helpful and friendly staff. I will certainly share your encouraging feedback to my Team !

We have noted your feedback regarding the bar and will immediately be taking the corrective measures to rectify this.

Once again, thank you for recommending our hotel to fellow TripAdvisor reviewers and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Hotel is very clean with good service. The staff is very helpful and the service is relatively quick. The bar and restaurants are very good and the food is of very good quality. The Sikia restaurant has excellent food and very well presented. As good as anywhere in the world. Rooms are spacious and clean. This is a place where you can stay without worries.

Room Tip: Any room will do. Just great in all areas
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marius L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Marius L,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to note that you found our staff to be helpful and the service relatively quick.

I will pass on to our Chef and Food & Beverage Manager your feedback about the good restaurants and the food being of high quality. We are very proud of our award winning signature fine dining restaurant, and as you mentioned, "as good as anywhere in the world".

Thank you for recommending our hotel to fellow TripAdvisor reviewers.

We look forward to hosting you again in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes,

Lorenzo Baleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My wife and I have stayed regularly and for long stays at the Crowne Plaza since August 2013. One of the main reasons for us coming back to CP is the excellent service from management and staff. The Front Desk Manager has always been very attentive to our needs and ensures that our stay is as comfortable as possible. Once the Chef and his assistants have been aware of our food preferences, they go the extra mile to serve dishes to our liking. Restaurant managers and waiters serve with a smile... Cannot ask for more in terms of service ! ... Rooms are comfortable, clean and gym is well equipped and well kept. Hotel premises are well secured and hotel taxis are reliable. If your business is in UpperHill area, location is excellent. One can always find things to fault anywhere but overall we are very happy with our stay at CP. Our accolades to Management (front desk, chefs, and restaurant) and staff for the great service ! Our advice: ask and you will be served with a smile !

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DnSGlobeTrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Donald789 ,

Thank you for taking the time of writing a review of the Crowne Plaza Nairobi, we appreciate your feedback very much.

We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoy your stay at our hotel during your regular trips to Nairobi, mainly due to the excellent attentive service received from the staff and management.

We strive very hard to ensure that our guests receive the most attentive and seamless service and ensuring we exceed guests' expectations. I will most definitely pass on your encouraging comments to all our staff which I am sure will be much appreciated.

It was a pleasuring being of service to you and look forward to your next visit to Nairobi.

Best Wishes

Lorenzo Baleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This hotel is very clean and well kept. The armed gate at the entrance gives you a sense of security. The breakfast menu is a bit limited but there are plenty of people in kenya who would die for that menu. There are a few minor imperfections in the rooms that I didn't expect of a crown plaza hotel, but again, overall this hotel is really nice.

My biggest gripe, is the location. If you want a hotel to hold you up before and after your Safaris, this location is for you. However, if you want to get a taste of Nairobi I would suggest a different property as the hotel is located in a light residential area with nothing around it. There is an ATM located around the corner from hotel, I WOULDNT SUGGEST WALKING TO AT NIGHT.

Nairobi gets a bad rap, but as long as your minding your business and not flashing high end items you will be okay. I would suggest arranging airport pickups with the hotel prior to your arrival. There are also a group of trusted drivers who camp out in front of hotel. I used one by the name of Kaleb, he was very punctual / reliable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear abather ,

Thank you for taking the time of writing a revue here on TripAdvisor in regards to your recent stay with us.

Thank you for the positive comments about the clean and well kept hotel, good security, breakfast menu and the friendly/punctual and reliable staff.

With regards to the minor room imperfections, I have emailed you requesting more details so that we may take the necessary action to remedy and flaws.

I have pleasuring to inform you that the major road works in and around Upper Hill will be completed in six months, which will provide quick and easy access to all key business and leisure spots in Nairobi.

We look forward to hosting you at our Crowne Plaza Nairobi soon.

Karibu

Lorenzo Baleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Tried the Skia fine dining restaurant at the Nairobi Restaurant Week and the food was amazing!!!! The service was also great as the waiters are swift in serving and the service sequence.
The hotel had a very nice decor and it would be nice for private functions.
They also have a good selection of wines which a person should try!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Fwawesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Fwawesh ,

I am delighted that you enjoyed the fine dining experience in our Sikia restaurant during the Nairobi Restaurant week. The kitchen brigade as well as the service staff work very hard at delivering the ultimate fine dining experience. We are very proud of our international wine selection which compliments the food menu.

Thank you for the great feedback and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Always a pleasure in Kenya! made nicer and more comfortable at this hotel. The hotel lobby is a pleasure the staff are great! the taxi service attached to the hotel a pleasure to deal with if you have an option ask for Victor, a pleasure to deal with. The food was great Breakfast lovely and the restaurant great. Granted expensive but this is Africa! also a bit out of the way and te road getting there is TERRIBLE but not the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColmV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear ColmV ,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Nairobi and for sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you rate our hotel on par with international intercontinental standards and that you enjoyed our breakfast very much.

It was indeed a pleasure hosting you and look forward to your next visit to Nairobi.

Best Wishes

Lorenzo Baleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#20 of 167 in Nairobi
1,017 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.7 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 167 in Nairobi
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nairobi Upper Hill
1.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 167 in Nairobi
1,160 reviews
1.5 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Nairobi Hurlingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: $190 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipment make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 206 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra-modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing