We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good business hotel with construction all around” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #17 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good business hotel with construction all around”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was my first visit to the hotel and the country. From all the international hotels in Nairobi, this is one of the older ones & more known. Situated next to some key embassies like UK , US etc .. Construction is all around , so you cant walk out from the hotel to eat anywhere. Therefore need to take hotel taxi to go someplace for dinner lunch etc. Very helpful concierge & reception staff. Took good care of me & also helped me in guiding for the right information.

Room Tip: Take a room away from the roadside area and a higher floor room is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank huks1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear huks1978,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I appreciate your compliments regarding our staff very helpful. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    202
    61
    15
    9
See reviews for
33
63
34
306
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Came here with a Swedish group to spend our last two days in Kenya. The very best Hotel we have used in Nairobi. The rooms spacious and comfortable beds. A bit out of the city centre but on the right side of the city for transport to airport. Infrastructure around Hotel not completed but not a big problem. Friendly staff and great food. However to order food on alacarte took almost an hour.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bernharddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Visited here in early 2013 for a business trip.

The room is very clean and spacious. Have everything you could have asked for in a 4-5 star hotels. The bed is comfy. I do love a thought of providing "This works" for those who have problems sleeping at night. Staff is professional and friendly. Gym is excellent and so is the breakfast. I'd say this is one of the best 4 star hotels I have ever stayed. Very pleasant stay.

One unpleasant experience is hotel taxi, been overcharged the price for a short ride. The driver refused to provide an official receipt. However, the hotel management tried their best to sort it out, but this should not happen at all. Please have this sorted.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oaki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Many thanks Oaki T for your feedback on your stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

We love to read that our hotel colleagues make it happen to our guests.

I have taken note of your comments and will with great pleasure share with the team.

It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to hosting you in future.

Best wishes.
Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Nice 5 star feeling, We had gone for an inspection tour, The location of the hotel is ideal being at the upperhill area of Nairobi 5 Mins from the city centre and 20 Mins from the JKIA, and 15 Min to Wilson airport, very nice rooms recently upgraded, perfect health club, and the lunch very nice, abeyance excellent. i also found the staff to be warm and friendly

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edkyule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are clean and well serviced. Peter and Kennedy and Bernard all smiles on the front desk for a great welcome. Restaurant staff not so good. Slow, in fact painfully slow at breakfast. Gym excellent. A good, solid functional place to stay on business. Restaurant is very good too although I didn't eat there this time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CocacolaPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Crown Plaza. The staff members were warm, accommodating and friendly. We went on safari to Maasai Mara and our luggage were held without charge. There was a minor water issue with the shower and the facility Engineer was prompt in addressing the problem. We are vegans and the dinning staff adhered to our dietary needs. All I can say is Kenya we will see you again. Uhuru

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanique P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I had stayed at Intercontinental previously and looked for a change for this visit. I was hoping to beat traffic jams and enjoy better rooms(as compared to old wing@Intercontinental). Crowne Plaza is a brand new property and I was not disappointed with the hotel and rooms. Business travelers ought to find this hotel supporting all their needs. The road is yet to be done up for last three minutes to the hotel. All around one would see upcoming office complexes. The security advice applicable for Nairobi of not strolling around on your own outside in the evenings, may hold here as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
1.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 977 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nairobi Upper Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, IHG, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing