We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good business hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #17 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Good service, central location, comfortable, well appointed and maintained, business meeting rooms available, a decent gym and wifi available. What more could a business traveller need? Just avoid a room opposite the building site next door...

Room Tip: Avoid a room opposite the building site next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    217
    64
    16
    11
See reviews for
35
68
34
328
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Nairobi Crowne Plaza, the food was excellent and the staff were helpful and warm. I would certainly stay there again. Close to the city for your business needs and accessible to most amenities. Very safe and secure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RakeshRickySingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Crown plaza located on a hill gives one an overview of Nairobi city it is a good hotel especially for business meeting with good conference facilities. It is easy to access with spacious meeting room, from bus stop its 2-3minutes talk way for people using public stransport (Advisable to use cabs at night) . it's 20 minutes drive to the JKIA airport when there is no trafic Jam and about 1hr during rush hour.It is about 5minutes away from Wilson airport

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've stayed at a few CPs in different countries, and I must say that this is one of the better ones. (the one in Yas Island is very good as well).

They have extremely comfortable beds at this hotel. I got the usual "this will help you sleep" sachets with the aromatherapy oils and sprays ( I usually sleep without issue, so not sure if this helped me at all!)

The breakfast spread was very good. They had a lot of the usual fare like eggs and sausages etc but quite a few local delicacies as well, so it catered to everyone's palate.

They had quite a nice pool at the hotel and a pretty good gym as well.
I tried their spa as well. Got a pretty good massage, though the facilities could be improved (it was a bit noisy from the gym right outside and the music being played in the gym wasn't exactly the soothing kind you want when getting a massage).
The staff though, were extremely helpful and friendly.
All in all, quite good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Crowne at UpperHill is relatively new hotel that has been in operation for about 3 years ago. I had a superior room that was very comfortable, well equipped with all amenities one would usually expect. Room service was efficient and friendly. Gym has a wide variety of modern equipment for cardio and there is also a good choice for muscle toning. Used main restaurant, food is average, a la carte or buffet when larger number of guests. I enjoyed the good variety of fresh fruit available during buffet breakfast. Small swimming pool next to restaurant. Internet bandwidth is good, satellite TV. Taxi service available at hotel, price on higher side. Pickup service to return to hotel not always on time. Hotel is located in an area where there is a fair amount of construction ongoing. Noise at night has fortunately not been a problem during this trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Crowne plaza a new hotel and even with tight competition; the hotel has quickly gained confidence and build up a renome around Nairobi.
The hotel is well situated and during traffic jams you can always find a short-cut, which is not possible for hotels in the city-center.
The staff mebers are very friendly and ready to assist whenever you may need them. the rooms are big and have all coomidities you may require such hotwater kattel, firdge, and always clean. the windows are big and while you are in the rooms there is a good light.

Room Tip: the hotel has executive lounge for the executive floor ; which will enble you to have meeting or to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Youssef A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

A standard business hotel but great when transitioning to and from Wilson airport for safari Flights. Only 5 minutes from the airport, so if you cannot make connections work (Amboseli to Samburu for us) it is a nice stop over. Great service and helpful staff. the only downside is the roads around the hotel that have been under construction for at least a year. The gym is not big but has all the standard equipment you'd need t work out. Good food options and fest internet - free if you are a IHG rewards member.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi Ruby664 ,

Thank you for the wonderful review on TripAdvisor and have passed your feedback on to my Team with regards to the Great Service and helpful staff, good food, Gym and free internet.

It is indeed encouraging to receive positive feedback about our staff who always excel in providing our guests with a memorable stay.

I am pleased to confirm that once the enhancement of the roads in Upperhill are fully completed in mid 2014, this will offer quick and easy access to the Kenyatta International airport and city centre.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best Wishes

Lorenzo & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
1.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nairobi Upper Hill
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#19 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipment make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 206 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra-modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing