We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #19 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the crown plaza on a quick trip in January through Nairobi. I compare his to the intercontinental where we had business meetings. This was a nicer location but the restraint struggled a bit on food. The general eating and bar were good but the nicer restaurant was nice furnishings but poor food. Just stay with the eats downstairs as they were more friendly and knew how to grill a simple steak. The rooms here wer great and apsart from construction noise near by this really was an oasis in the city away from the traffic. You should note comments on the roads getting here but that's Nairobi. I. Do look forward to returning as it doesn't seem as tired as the intercontinental.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank papat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear papat ,

It was very pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Nairobi and that you compared our hotel more favourably to other hotels in our league in Nairobi. Thank you too for taking the time to recommend us on TripAdvisor.

It was a pleasure to read your review and to see how much you appreciated the location, great room and the friendly staff and good food in our restaurant and bar. We have noted your feedback about the food in our fine dining restaurant and have shared this with my team.

I am pleased to inform you that the roads in Upperhill are currently being enhanced and upon completion will ensure easy and quick access to the Kenyatta International Airport, City centra as well as other major centres.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. I sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future so we can provide you with a more complete experience.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri

General Manager- Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    197
    60
    14
    9
See reviews for
30
62
34
301
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My family stayed two nightt prior to and after our safari. The rooms were just what one would expect: Clean large well decorated and equiped. We requested and got adjoining room.

My wife loved breakfast. It was a large buffet. We at one dinner their as well and it was good.

The front desk staff was excellant. I won't tell you what they did for us, but it was above and beyond the call of duty.

The concierge arranged an excellent day trip for and the hotel's cars and drivers were superb.

We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Bruce C ,

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Nairobi. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here on TripAdvisor.

I was happy to know you enjoyed several aspects of the hotel, such as the clean,large well decorated rooms and the food.

I will certainly share with the Front Desk staff the positive feedback about going that extra mile, as well as the concierge staff and drivers.

We do look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
General Manager - Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great place tostay and have business meetings. Just the Upperhill road leading to the hotel is in very poor shape, in fact so poor I would recomend using a 4x4 to get to it.
Besides the hotel running out of ice cubes it is a great place to relax in the centre of Nairobi

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NairobiJeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear NairobiJeremy ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel a Great place to stay in particular if you in Nairobi for business meetings.

The Upper Hill district is currently undergoing a major road enhancement programme and am pleased to say once complete will be the best road structure in Nairobi with easy accessto the airport, city centre and other important centres.

Hoping to the the opportunity of hosting you at our hotel in the future.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
General Manager- Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

All the staff are great and you can organise taxis to get around. Rooms are spacious and of the standard you'd expect for the price. Breakfast was underwhelming and the location is away from the 'drama' of the city - But its easy to get to where ever you want. Quite a nice local bar opposite the hotel to wander over to for a meal and a drink. The gym and spa area is very very good. I would not hesitate to return

Room Tip: stayed in 2 at different = they seemed the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPaul50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear MrPaul50 ,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us yor feedback and to have chosed our Crowne Plaza Nairobi for your stay in Nairobi.

We appreciate the fact that you enjoyed our hotel and in particular our Great staff spacious and comfortable rooms and the Gym and Spa facilities.

It is our goal to consistently provide exceptional guest satisfaction and your comments are important to us.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Crowne Plaza Nairobi.


Best Regards,

Lorenzo Baleri

General Manager, Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed this hotel for 1 night after 2 weeks of traveling in Africa. This hotel is located in quite area, and I couldn't here any noise from road construction that everybody complains. It took 20 min to get to the airport, and I guess this hotel is pretty close to Nairobi. (not in a center though) I had good dinner, and room was very nice and clean just like 5 star hotel, and all staffs were kind. This hotel offers high speed internet so that you can serf the internet for free.

Well, I had two options for my last night in Nairobi at Hilton or this hotel. And I think it was a good choice to choose this hotel. I heard that Hilton in Nairobi is very old but our room was very nice and clean, bedding was new, and my boyfriend and I enjoyed the bathtub. (You know, hotels in nairobi barely has a bathtub)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erangtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear erangtree ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

I am glad that you enjoyed your one night stay and found it to be an "excelllent" experience and am also grateful to receive positive feedback on the good dinner, nice and clean rooms and friendly staff.

It is with pleasure to share your comments with the rest of the team and I'm sure this will be greatly appreciated.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri

General Manager,Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in the CP for a night. Its a good business hotel in a quiet area. The room was spacious and clean with a very comfortable bed and pillows. The only fault is the breakfast buffet, I dont think it was worth the $20. Worth mentioning that pool area is located by the breakfast restaurant which is a rather odd place for it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheerioshiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear cheerioshiro ,

Thank you for your encouraging feedback on your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

It is indeed our hallmark to provide the most comfortable beds and pillows available to our guests.

We have taken note about your comments regarding the breakfast buffet and have shared this with my Team.

Once again, thank you and look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Nairobi in the not too distant future.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri

General Manager, Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here for two weeks. The linen, bedding, soft pillows are nice. Slept very well after a long day. All hotel staff starting from security, door man, front lobby, room service, janitors, etc. are courteous and polite. If you eat only vegetarian food, choices immediately outside Crowne Plaza are very limited. Since it is located in the upper hill area, we used to walk down the hill in the evenings to have dinner in downtown Nairobi. Then, take a taxi back to Upper hill later in the night. Since this hotel is relatively new, overall stay was excellent. Hope the management maintains the enthusiasm and standards over the years.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing teh so called "city view" side. By the time you get there, newly built...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickTimepass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear NickTimepass,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review of your stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi here on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that our staff managed to make your stay a memorable one and that the quality of our bedroom linen made your stay even more comfortable.

As a suggestion for your next visit,there are a variety of options available in the hotel restaurants for vegeterians without have to venture far away from the hotel.

Thank you for recommending us to other travelers and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards


Lorenzo Baleri
General Manager,Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
1.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 954 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Nairobi
Hilton Nairobi
#30 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nairobi Upper Hill
2.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing