We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, rooms & value, odd location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% Off.
Ranked #20 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel, rooms & value, odd location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed here on the very last day of our two week long trip to Africa. The staff was fairly competent and professional, in the way a 4 star hotel should be. The front desk person was always pretty good and knowledgeable. The hotel is only 3 yrs old and looks fresh and clean. The rooms are modern and comfortable. It's said to be one of the nicer hotels in Nairobi and I believe it. There are some cultural differences-- like we asked for cereal w/ milk after breakfast hours and they had to ask the chef if he could make it. I explained that it was cereal and doesn't require a chef to prepare it. Regardless, she had to ask and when it was approved, it arrived with yogurt. I sent it back, it re-arrived with hot milk. In the US we usually have it with cold milk, so yeah. Annoying. Be specific and repetitive to avoid mistakes. We had a tiramisu cake, pretty good. I had coffee and a ham and cheese sandwich, which was also good. For dinner, we had the Hummus with pita, taboule and falafel. It was fresh and good. The margherita pizza was not. I don't blame them, because most places in the US get it wrong.

Quiet and very clean rooms, limited tv channels, nice bathroom, good service.

My only complaint: The location is a little odd. The streets are not paved in this part of town (Upper Hill). However it only costs 500 shillings to get into city center, 1000 shillings to Westlands. Walking is possible, but not recommended. We walked to the bank behind the building and we were jumping over exposed pipes, climbing high piles of dirt, walking around block long perimeter gates, so... it was not peachy. For the price, you can't go wrong and it's just as comfortable as the Serena.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nogareaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear nogareaux,

We are delighted to learn that you were impressed with the hotel during your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

Your appreciation of our hotel rooms, staff , services and quality of food. I have also noted your feedback regarding the cold/hot milk accompaniment with the cereals served in room service and your comments have been taken into consideration.

I was particularly happy to know you enjoyed the tiramisu cake !!!

Upperhill district,where our hotel is situated is currently undergoing extensive road renovations but will certainly be worthwhile in the future as this will ensure easy, quick ,wide highway access to the airport,city and surrounding areas. The area will also feature boulevard type avenues once complete.

The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel,hopefully in the near future.

Best Wishes,

Lorenzo Baleri
General Manager Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    195
    60
    14
    8
See reviews for
27
61
34
296
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Clean, very friendly staff, not everything perfect but service quick and always helpf0l.

For people who require nice surroundings, I would propose to check it with Google/Street View/Earth. Streets are under construction.

I felt, that the surrounding is at day safe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Stefan K ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your stay with us at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

As you have pointed out some of the roads are being enhanced and contruction work is taking place.Thank you for your feedback about our friendly staff, cleanliness.quick and helpful staff..

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Crowne Plaza Nairobi when you next visit Kenya.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
General Manager

Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Recently had an extended stay here for three weeks in whilst searching for a property in the area. This was the perfect base.

The staff are extremely polite, well trained and the food was great. The place is super clean. Even though the area is undergoing a lot of renovations (roads etc) and the locale is very dusty, this is really a haven of calm.

We tried most services during our stay - everything from great massages, to haircut and use of the sports facilities. Everything exceeded our expectations.

There is a good range of places to eat - the upper end restaurant is fantastic, and even the poolside and room service menus didn't disappoint.

Ian and the concierge team know a lot about the area and are great guys - always ready for a chat.

Top tip: Beet Basic juice (restaurant/by the pool) - all your daily vitamins in one delicious drink!

Did have an issue with staff letting doors slam, for example once they've delivered room service or when servicing rooms in the morning (as doors are heavy) and passed this onto housekeeping team upon departure. This was only as I was working in my room often, so at hotel most of the day. Satisfed that they will look at this issue.

Room Tip: During road rebuild, go for a poolside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 15Annemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear 15Annemarie ,

It was very pleasing to know that you had a "Perfect stay" at the Crowne Plaza Nairobi and I would like to thank you for taking the time to recommend us on TripAdvisor.

It was a pleasure to read your review and to know that how you made it clear to see how much you enjoyed our hotel and appreciated the Health SPA, Good Food and efficient friendly service.

I am glad that we were able to exceed your expectations. and will certainly encourage Ian, our Doorman to keep up the sterling job.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Best Wishes,

Lorenzo Baleri
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

After experiencing some African hotels that had dubious plumbing, hot water, and no security, it was good to stay at the Crowne Plaza. Food was very good. Room was clean and comfortable with air conditioning, which allowed us to do hand laundry and get it dried by morning. Service from everyone in hotel is excellent. While expensive at $230 a night, it was a welcome oasis after a dusty safari.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear TorontoAlan,
We would like to thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Nairobi on your trip to Kenya.

We appreciate your detailed review and your feedback about the hotel's good food, clean and comfortable rooms and the excellent service received.

I sincerely hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again to our hotel.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
General Manager Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The rooms are large, beds extremely comfortable with feather light snuggly pillows. Shower is big and the water pressure nice and strong. The fruit selection at breakfast is excellent. The gym and spa are clean. Only problem is the security on evey floor - but again this is Nairobi!!

Room Tip: Take the rooms with a city view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Abiria ,

Thank you for the Great revue about our hotel regarding your recent stay in Nairobi.

It is extremely encouraging to receive such postive feedback and will certainly share this with my entire Team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

New, clean, well looked-after, this hotel exceeded my expectations of a Crowne Plaza hotel.
There are quite a lot of roadworks going on around the hotel though we can be frustrating given that taxis will get lost, which in Nairobi traffic could add an hour to your journey home.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kannice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Kannice ,

Just a short note to thank you for the brilliant feedback . We are glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations.

We are pleased to inform you once the major roadworks improvement plan is completed it will be well worth the travel from the airport to our hotel.

Thank you too for recommending our hotel to fellow Tripadvisor readers.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
General Manager - Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

After a scarry drive through the boom docks of Nairobi, we arrived to find our room had been double booked...not good as we were flying of on a Safari the next day.
The Manager arranged for a room at another top hotel and sent a car for us to take us to airport the next day...now that is what I call customer service.
On returning 4 days later, we were delighted to have been given a free upgrade. Well done to management. Lovely Hotel, superb service, nice outdoor swimming pool. Just located in a tucked away location and the roads!!! Or rather potholes with tarmack.Dreadful drivers too. Airport a nightmare of push and shove and disorder.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back. Building work going on over the road and a pilling hammer at 7am is NOT...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulinebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear paulinebell ,

We are thrilled to note your detailed and wonderful review of your stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi here on Tripadvisor.

A typical and great example of turning a negative into a positive and living the moment of truth of guest experience and satisfaction.

I will pass on your positive feedback and comments to my team which will make them proud.

Thank you too for the positive comments about our lovely hotel and superb service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
1.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nairobi Upper Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#18 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 836 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Nairobi
Hilton Nairobi
#29 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing