We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely room shame about all the noise” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #16 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Camberley UK
Level Contributor
216 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Lovely room shame about all the noise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Lets get my issues out the way first - They could not find our reservation after sometime they apologized blaming a new system that left bookings prior to its introduction hanging! The room was great, gorgeous big bed with pillow selection & spray by your bed to help you sleep so the big shame was all the noise. We kept thinking it will stop soon at 4am we called to ask when the noise would stop to be told the function in the hotel was now over but the one across the Street they had no idea when it would stop. They go the extra mile with pillow selection but don't have double glazing & you hear it all even on the 5th Floor!. The management did apologized and admitted to other complaints. When asked what they were going to do about it they did offer 5000 points back from the 25000 used to book. I did not feel they took the complaint that seriously as they had the full points already. If this had not been the case I would have refused to pay as to only get a couple of hours sleep is shocking in my book. They also confirmed they should have put us on the other side of the hotel which would have been less noisy that did not really help after the event.
Also the TV system was down for most of the stay.
I have given them 3 stars as the room was comfortable and the rest of the staff were good so if you are lucky enough to stay when not events are on I am sure your will have a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annettet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear annettet,

hank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    217
    64
    16
    11
See reviews for
35
68
34
328
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
152 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Always enjoy staying in this hotel. If there is one thing they need to correct its their TV network. They always have frozen channels, channels with no picture, etc and its definately not the satelite companies problem as its too frequent a problem at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear aliveandfreelondon,

We are very happy to read your review and thank you for taking the time to post it on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your feedback and in particular your comments about the very polite,pleasant and helpful staff. I will pass on your feedback with regards to the Great Breakfast and good buffet lunch to the Kitchen brigade as well as my Management Team.

We are very pleased that you found our complimentary Sleep Advantage aromatherapy kit useful and that you found the bedroom impecccable.

We have taken note about your comments of the WiFi.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Nairobi very soon.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great service, very very polite and helpful staff, a great breakfast buffet and good lunch. Not in a great site, as lots of construction work was going on around it, but the quiet ambience inside makes up for the noisy exterior. The complimentary aromatherapy kit in the rooms was extremely helpful, and the room was impeccable. Great wifi, though a pet peeve was that every time you move you have to re log in. Once again the staff are very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms have a good view, but the large tower opposite blocks out a clear view of the city from the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aliveandfreelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear aliveandfreelondon,

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor.

I was very happy to learn that you enjoyed several aspects of the hotel,especially the Great Service, very polite,pleasant and helpful staff and a Great Breakfast and Lunch Buffet.

I will certainly pass on the encouraging feedback to our Team as well as the Housekeeping Team who maintain a very high standard of cleanliness and comfort for our Guests.

You will be happy to hear that once construction in the area is complete in the new year the node is poised to be the financial, banking and ecomomic hub of Nairobi.

It will certainly be a privilege to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Nairobi.

Best Wishes,

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The location is a good balance between the centre, airport and one of the key business/office areas. When the roads around that area get fixed, it will be better still.
The hotel is clean, well equipped and the food is good. The security is very good and the staff were always polite and courteous.

The only downside. The small bar in the lobby always had a compliment of 'single, non-resident ladies', which I found out of place for a hotel of this standing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank visitor50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear visitor50 ,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Nairobi for your trip to Nairobi and for taking time to write a review here on Tripadvisor.

As you pointed out,we are centrally located making us ideal for business traveller's as well as leisure.

We are happy that you found our hotel to be very clean, well equiped, good security and the food good.

I will certainly pass on your compliments to our staff with regards that you found us always polite and courteous..

We look forward to welcoming you back and hosting you at our hotel.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri

I will certainly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
111851ta
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

I would highly recommend this hotel, the staff are friendly, the rooms are nice, location is great, and the buffets are excellent.
Vacation or business this would be highly recommended,
Pool view rooms are rather dull, main street view ones are much better

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Bobztraveller,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to have read your feedback regarding your recent visit and have shared your kind comments with the rest of the hotel Team.

I am pleased to note that you found our staff to be friendly, nice rooms, great location and that our buffets were excellent.

Thank you too for recommending our hotel to fellow TripAdvisor readers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our safari (was meant to be 1 but Gulf Air cancelled our flight without notice.)
It's an expensive hotel but in a bit of a scary city like Nairobi, it's worth the expense.
It's away from the main centre of town but we were fine with that - I don't think I'd want to wander around the city anyway and there's not a lot to see. The bonus for night flights too is that it's a shorter drive out to the airport.
The front reception staff were very helpful as were the porters. The wait staff at the restaurant were slow though and it was a bit frustrating trying to get their attention.
Breakfast was very good as was the Indian dinner (the western food at lunch at dinner isn't that great though)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clea700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Clea700,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

We are happy that you enjoyed the facilities of the hotel and that you found our Front Dest and porters very helpful and that you thouroughly enjoyed our Breakfast and the Indian theme dinner in our Baraza Restaurant.

We are sorry to hear about the slow and unattentive service and will share it with management and staff to avoid this from happening in the future.

Again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed here for a week during July 2012 and found the hotel to be average in comparison to other Crowne Plaza Hotels. The service, food and location were ok but not when the room price of $250 is taken into account. Breakfast was not included in my package and was very expensive so I did not take it after the first morning, there was the option of tea/coffee with a light snack in the Lobby (piano) bar area. The bar adjacent to the lifts provides the best option for a casual meal in the evening. Service was friendly and efficeint and my hotel taxi was nearly always on time to pick me up at the end of the day, newcomers beware that traffic can be very congested during the evening rush hour and especially on Friday evenings. In summary I would say that this hotel is average but rather an expensive option.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce_Angelika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Bruce_Angelika,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Nairobi and taking the time to write a review of your stay here on TripAdvisor.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the service friendly and efficient.

Your feedback has been noted and will be shared with management and staff.

We look forward to your next visit with us.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
General Manager,Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
1.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nairobi Upper Hill
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#19 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipment make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 206 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra-modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing