We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The Only place to stay in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #18 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“The Only place to stay in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

I travel a lot for business,I was booked into the Crowne Plaza Nairobi by the travel agency of a firm a work for. When I arrived, as a Priority Club Member I was given a Club Level room and full access to the Club Lounge. The front desk staff was efficient and pleasant.

From day one I realized it was one of the best hotels i have had the pleasure to stay at. My days began with a full British style breakfast and wonderful Kenyan coffee. My long hours on the job were greeted by a hot towel and a cool glass of juice every night upon my return to the hotel. The Happy Hour appetizers and beverages were a perfect way to end the day before dinner and a good night's sleep.

The Crowne Plaza chain treats guests well, but this hotel goes the extra mile. Juacinta Kiio, in the club lounge was the perfect hostess as well as a great help in solving some challenges with my billing and helping to set up reservations for other members of my team who were arriving as I went home.

When I was booked to return I immediately called Juacinta to help me get a good, quiet room. My current room is fabulous. I highly recommend this hotel to any traveler to Nairobi. I especially recommend it to any business traveler.

Room Tip: Higher floor away from the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, December 24, 2011
Thank you so much for your glowing review of your recent stay with us.I was pleased you enjoyed the Priority Club Lounge facilities,our Full English Breakfast and the best of Kenyan coffee available.I will pass on your compliments to my team here and especially to Juacinta Kilo in the Club lounge, who took special care of your needs. I hope to be able to personally welcome you to our hotel on your next stay with us which I hope is in the near future.

Kind Regards
Lorenzo Baleri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    194
    59
    14
    8
See reviews for
27
61
34
293
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

stayed 6 nights at Crowne Plaza Nairobi, i dont have a bad word to say about the hotel. the service was second to none and the staff were freindly, polite and extremely efficient. Very welcoming atmosphere.facilities were great. My room was beautifullydecorated, well equipped and very clean throughout my stay I must say.the food was superb in both restaurants as well as the selection available in the lounge cafe/bar.I could not have asked for more and will stay there again if i return to kenya.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martino c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, December 3, 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay especially the superb food in our restaurants, the friendly,polite and efficient staff and will certainly pass on your kind words to my team.
I hope you have the opportunity to join us again soon and I look forward to meeting you.
Kind Regards
Lorenzo Baleri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Staff were very friendly and it is more than up to Crowne Plaza standards. Don't be too concerned about the neighbourhood though. When my driver took me there I thought I was being dragged off to the Boonies, but in fact it is located in a residential neighbourhood where there has been some commercial development. An excellent one night stop over in Nairobi if you are not bothered about seeing anything.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LKD80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi during your recent visit to Kenya and for telling us about your experience.We greatly appreciate any feedback recieved from our guests and always strive to improve further on highest quality and service standards.

We do take our guests and their well being seriously and always strive to meet and exceed guests expectations.

We are extemely pleased that you were satisfied with your overall experience .It is comments such as yours that make all efforts worthwhile and will certainly convey these to the all the Crowne Plaza Nairobi TEAM.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Nairobi in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Lorenzo Baleri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stayed four nights at the Crowne Plaza in Nairobi during a business visit. I found the establishment excellent in every respect. My room was attractively decorated and clean. Hotel services such as Internet access and the fitness room worked fine. Food was great in both the Baraza and Sikia restaurants. We used a conference room for a day-long meeting for about 15 people. The set up was done well, and snacks during breaks were good. Best of all, the members of the hotel's staff were universally pleasant and service-oriented.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I stayed here because someone else did the booking. First plus point is it took less than 20 minutes to drive from the airport so, having arrived and got out of the airport by 9.30PM, I was at the hotel for 10. That's a record for Nairobi! It's a fairly standard Crowne Plaza and looks and feels much the same as every other Crowne Plaze I've stayed in. This is no bad thing for a business stay as you know what you get - clean, efficient, serviceable, comfortable, etc. When I checked into my room, the phone nor the TV worked (I wasn't bothered as I needed to get to sleep) but they were really apologetic. I slept well, had a good breakfast and got more apologies when I checked out. I was coming back at the end of the week and when I checked in, they'd upgraded me to a room that was bigger than my house by way of apology for no TV and no phone during my last stay. I found the service to be really good and friendly - all the staff I came acorss were professional but approachable and very accomodating. I'd stay here again for business and would recommend it to my colleagues.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xx Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

My concern is over the internet booking policy - its a scam! On booking over the internet i was told because it was booked and prepaid with a credit card, (they will not let you confirm the booking without credit card details), that there is NO CANCELATION AND NO REFUND. This is irrespective of how much notice is given. On enquiring i was given the run around and told under no circumstance could i cancel or would i be refunded. This in my opinion is highly irregular and if its a Intercontinental Group Policy it should be highlighted - this is a very disturbing development.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Glen E,

IHG has a pricing structure that allows us the opportunity to offer deeper discounts to our customers. In order to offer these rates we must attach restrictions such as cancellation fees or full prepayment. Some of our lowest discounted rates carry full prepayment requirements while others carry a cancellation fee.

If rooms are available for your travel date, we will always offer the option of booking either restrictive (with cancellation/prepayment requirements) or non-restrictive (can be changed and cancelled without penalty) rates. This will allow you more flexibility in making your specific travel arrangements. For example: if you are certain about your travel plans, the restricted rate will be a consideration, whereas if your travel plans are less definite the unrestricted rate may better meet your needs.

It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead offer options that make sense. We always appreciate comments from our guests, and we will use this feedback in making decisions about our future pricing strategies.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Just had the night here after our flight from London.
First thing you notice is the hightened security. Lots of guards and 2 barriers to go through and they check your boot as well. This is welcomed I guess in these troubled times for Kenya.
Check in wasn't too good. The guy must have only been in the job a few days and struggled to allocate a room and then when we got to the room the cardkey didn't work. Had to go all the way back to sort it and not much of an apology. The room was fine, usual fare... clean and comfy and complimentary bottled water. Also free Wi-Fi.. a bonus!
I fancied a drink after the long journey and nipped down to the bar.... to my suprise it was closed! The manager was cashing up and told me to order a drink from room service! It was only 10.30pm.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulH1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
1.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nairobi Upper Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#19 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Nairobi
Hilton Nairobi
#30 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing