We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“I'm Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #19 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I'm Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We traveled through Nairobi and had to overnight the beginning and end of our trip. We picked this hotel because it wasn't far from the hotel and we were told it was new, nice and the right price. It was all those things and more. I was so happy to be returning to this hotel after our safari, it was the perfect place to take the road dust off. It is clean, modern and comfortable. The rooms have everything you would expect or need. The staff was wonderful. The restaurant had a large menu and good food. Business or pleasure it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJSFt_Lauderdale_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    194
    60
    14
    8
See reviews for
27
61
34
294
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Staying at the Crowne Plaza was a perfect experience. We literally had no negative experiences. The food was great, the complimentary bottled water was ample. The pillow menu was a nice treat. The restaurants were always pleasant experiences.

Most of all, the staff was amazing. I haven't met a more friendly and qualified group of people in my life. They helped me learn Swahili and kept me company while I wait for my taxi. One man in particular stood out - Evans Njenga. He is currently working as door master if I understood correctly. He is a truly gifted individual. I have never met anyone who can endear himself to you through honest and sincere interest and friendliness quite like Evans. Who ever snatches him away from the Crowne Plaza will be doing themselves a great favor yet also inflict a great loss on the Plaza. I look forward to hearing from him and following his career.

Room Tip: My room looked out over the front of the hotel. I enjoyed this view more than one that overlooks the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IvorPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Well the hotel was nice and so far had no bad experience in it. Room was clean and not too small, bathroom was clean too, had bath tub, and shower, we got complimentary internet which is usually not, they have no wifi in room just cable. You can see the room in my pics. Staff was helpful and friendly, we got lots of help how to get around city and country too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afinanika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

One of the finest hotels I have stayed at.

Professional and helpful staff, a very nice room with a luxurious bed (and a choice of pillow types), iPod/iPhone docking station and wi-fi, an excellent gym and a beautiful casual dining restaurant.

Every component of this hotel exudes quality.

Breakfast and dinner in

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamish09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Excellent servcie by ALL Staff. I was a tourist & treated better than BUSINESS TRAVELLERS. Noting was a problem.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annewalsh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

During the month of July, I had the priviledge of staying a few days at a time on two separate instances at the Crowne Plaza Nairobi. My comments simply put would be that Crowne Plaza Nairobi has put into practice the Kenya Karibu from the time you step of the taxi into the hotel. The staff learns quick of your preferences and all amenities from the room to the restaurants and the gym are what one would expect from a 5 star facility.

I am certain as the hotel matures the service levels will be upheld.

Room Tip: The rooms are well equiped including free access to the internet with good speeds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaoudE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed @ CP Nairobi for 2 nights last week. Great business hotel, spacious rooms, conveniently located to various intl companies. Tried the restaurant for b/fast as it was included in the room rates. Was ok, but needed more variety especially for vegetarians. Had pizza and dinner in the bar/lounge. Was good. Room was neat and clean, however the bathroom had smell, but I think its more from the weather dampness rather than anything else.
Had a late flight and asked for possibility for late checkout. Their manager, Steven was very helpful and as the hotel wasnt full, let me keep the room till 7pm.
Overall service was excellent, staff helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
1.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nairobi Upper Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#18 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 836 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Nairobi
Hilton Nairobi
#30 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, IHG, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing