We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute dump”
Review of Karen Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karen Camp
Ranked #13 of 213 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Reviewed April 13, 2010

I stayed here as part of an overland group. I upgraded from a tent to a dorm room, which was small, airless, crowded, and featured only one electrical outlet (for four people, with various electronic devices that required charging). The beds, which featured dirty mattresses, lacked mosquito nets, and as a result, I spent a sleepless night swatting mosquitoes. Absolutely miserable.

The surly staff claimed that they had only room room key for the dorm room. I pressed. them on this point, and eventually they handed over an additional key.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mlm2126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2016

Dear Guest,
The place is under new ownership as of February 1st 2016 and we pride ourselves in having ended all of the misgivings the place has suffered from in the past. Do please try us again if ever heading our way ever again.
Thanks,
Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Karen Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 69 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2009

This is a great place to say at a very cheap rate. However, it is to an extend limited to people travelling with overland groups. You can easily spend a couple of days between trips there and just relax. Food prices are very reasonable too. However, if you prefer luxury this is definately NOT the place to go.

Stayed: October 2009
1  Thank AnnemarieJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2016

Dear Guest,
The place is under new ownership as of February 1st 2016 and we pride ourselves in having ended all of the misgivings the place has suffered from in the past. Do please try us again if ever heading our way ever again.
Thanks,
Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

The camp is dominated by a number of 'overland' tour companies who start and end their trips here. We stayed here on three seperate occassions over a couple of weeks during a recent trip (due to the logistics of our tour).

On each occassion we had a different room - all were basic but provided what you need when you're only after a cheap bed. We had mosquito nets in one room, not in the other, and one in our final room (not much use when there's two beds). Two rooms were ensuite, one was called ensuite but had a shared bathroom (although only with two other rooms). Managed a hot shower only once whilst visiting, and the other two were unbearably cold! Could do with a more rigorous cleaning routine as the floors seem quite dirty, but the bathroom was always clean and sheets fresh (but well used).

Food is provided, although it's all fairly simple stuff (ie chips). Best I had was a toastie and a pie. You will often have to wait quite a long time for your dinner so order with this in mind! Drinks also avaialble - both drinks and food seem fairly priced in comparison to the other places I stayed whilst in Kenya.

A couple of reviewers have mentioned the location - it's not great for Nairobi but there are a few things in walking distance and most of the cabs we got were relatively cheap. The best thing about the locale is the supermarket about half an hours walk away - very American (serves the large ex-pat community which is big in Karen) and a good place to visit before the start of a trip to stock up.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonersw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2016

Dear Guest,
The place is under new ownership as of February 1st 2016 and we pride ourselves in having ended all of the misgivings the place has suffered from in the past. Do please try us again if ever heading our way ever again.
Thanks,
Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

i stayed here for quite a while on a few occasions.
its very far away from downtown nairobi but has plenty of things to see and visit nearby.
namely the karen blixen museum , also a giraffe park and national park.
what i like about the place is that it is quiet and peaceful , you can walk around karen although all the properties are fenced off. a 25 minute walk is karen shopping centre with a lively selection of bars and restaurants. also handy for internet and banking etc.
it is used by the overland trucks as a base to start or end tours and its perfect for that.
nice place to relax for a few days , get some banking done , internet etc.
can be busy when a full truck comes in , also a lot of locals use the bar at weekends.
food was pretty average and overpriced but you could cook your own or go to the shopping centre.
rooms were good , i stay in the outside cabin and its about $8 a night , private room , double bed and electric. very basic but for the peaceful location ideal.
real selling point of this place is the space , the grounds are so beautiful and peaceful , easy to while away the day reading in the gardens.
staff were very friendly and they have taxi drivers for airport transfers.
id recommend this site for the backpacker traveller. also for people with their own transport travelling. likewise with the overland trucks, be a good place to meet people if you were touring together.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawkwind23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2016

Dear Guest,
The place is under new ownership as of February 1st 2016 and we pride ourselves in having ended all of the misgivings the place has suffered from in the past. Do please try us again if ever heading our way ever again.
Thanks,
Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

Very basic, mainly used by overland co's, ok for the money but well below average for the overland camps.

No internet and a long way from anything.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2016

Dear Guest,
The place is under new ownership as of February 1st 2016 and we pride ourselves in having ended all of the misgivings the place has suffered from in the past. Do please try us again if ever heading our way ever again.
Thanks,
Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2009

Much of the sightseeing I wanted to do around Nairobi was at Karen and Langata, so I decided to stay in Karen rather than in Nairobi City. In theory a good idea, however, in praxis, not so good.

Karen Camp looked good on their website, and in fact I have nothing negative to say about the place, except that, if you do not have your own vehicle and have to rely on public transport, it is not a good choice of location. Whatever savings you may have by staying here, are swiftly spent of taxis getting you anywhere.

There are rooms with en-suite facilities, dorms and tent spaces. The camp caters to 2 clientels, young overland truck guests, for whom this is a major starting point, and older overlander club members, who often come through the area.
The restaurant seems to specialise in cheap fried food beloved by the younger crowd.
The price was 2400 shillings per night, breakfast extra.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2016

Dear Guest,
The place is under new ownership as of February 1st 2016 and we pride ourselves in having ended all of the misgivings the place has suffered from in the past. Do please try us again if ever heading our way ever again.
Thanks,
Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015, traveled with friends
1  Thank NadineOnTourZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 167 in Nairobi
507 reviews
8.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 167 in Nairobi
1,284 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cold Springs Karen Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Wildebeest Eco Camp
Wildebeest Eco Camp
#2 of 275 in Nairobi
469 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Troy Nairobi
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#9 of 275 in Nairobi
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Purdy Arms
Purdy Arms
#1 of 4 in Karen
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karen Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Camp

Address: Acacia Drive | Off Marula Ln, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 213 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range: $15 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karen Camp and Hostel provides budget accommodation out of the hustle and bustle of Nairobi in the leafy suburb of Karen. The management and quite a few of the staff have been in the hospitality industry for over twenty years. We especially cater for the independent traveler as well as intrepid, expedition orientated safari folk. We have a small bar and restaurant and provide a variety of budget priced accommodation. Please consider us when planning your safari here in East Africa. We look forward to your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Karen Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karen Camp Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing