We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and Unsuitable Location (for us)” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Karen Camp
Ranked #47 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Expensive and Unsuitable Location (for us)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a double ensuite room for a couple of nights upon arrival in Nairobi. We thought that USD$50 was too much for the room and that the location was not great for us, hence we did not stay longer as originally planned.

The room we had was not spacious but adequate. It was quite rundown for the price range but the room was reasonably clean. There were no cupboards or a safe in which we could lock our valuables. The wifi worked fairly well in the bar area and there was nice outdoor seating.

Although it is located in a nice neighbourhood, we felt quite isolated out there. This is the main reason we didn't stay for longer. We didn't have our own vehicle and were told by staff that it wasn't a good idea to walk around. However it's location was rubbish for picking up taxis or public transport on the fly. Hence we were initially reliant on taxis that were called by the camp to go anywhere. Interestingly enough, the taxis we caught back were often cheaper than the ones the camp had called for us.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SandF P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    19
    18
    9
    2
See reviews for
3
16
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

As budget travellers we've stayed at Karen Camp many times and it's now the only place we'll stay on a visit to Nairobi. It has a nice relaxed atmosphere, is cheap and clean. We often bring all our own camping and self-catering equipment but have also stayed in their rooms which are perfectly comfortable and adequate and the food is basic but great and always quick to arrive.
The camp is a little run down but the staff have been there for years and the friendly atmosphere makes it easy to look beyond that.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MME28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The camp is in one of the nicest areas of Nairobi and has good security - full time guards at the entrance and a fence. We had the double room with onsite which was very big, but has long since seem better days. The room was also filthy, superficially it looked clean, but after putting my bag under the bed it will never be the same again! The boss never said a word to us, but spent the day barking orders rudely and loudly at the other staff which made the atmosphere a little uncomfortable. The bar was very close to our rooms which made it noisy when the owner used it for a private party. Food was filling but average at best. Some of the staff were nice but none of them go out of their way to help.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed here for two nights - one night in a double inside room, and the second night camping in the grounds with the overlanding tour we joined.
The camp helpfully arranged a taxi to collect us from the airport, for a resonable price and everything went smoothly. We also made arrangements with the same taxi driver to visit the local Elephant orphanage and giraffe centre.
We arrived a lot earlier than check in time, but after a short wait the friendly staff allowed us to check in anyway, which was brilliant cause we were tired from travelling, and wanted to change our clothes etc.
The room was basic ( a double bed, lamp, open shelves and an ensuite), but very clean and everything you need for a room for the night.
The public areas down stairs, and the bar was also clean and tidy - bar staff friendly and informative, and we ate a few times and found it to be good value for hostel food.
On the second night, a local (extremly drunk) started talking to me at the bar, and then made some very rude comments. Obviosuly, this was not a reflection of my views of Camp Karen as they can not be accountable for the things their customers said - but I was very pleased to note that a bar staff member noticed that the man was being rude and made a point of 'rescuing me', and then finding me in the bar a short while later to apologise for the mans comments and ensure I was ok - I thought that was lovely, and beyond his role as staff member.
Should we return to Nairobi, I would stay here again without hesitation :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieCentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was my 4th stay at Karen Camp and I have to say to say I really enjoy it here. The staff make the place warm and welcoming so you are happy to put up with a few rough edges. Smiley the taxi driver is great craic and lives up to his name. The only uncomfortable moments came with the way white Kenyans that frequent the place on a social capacity speak to the staff and are, as rule fairly obnoxious to everyone.

Room Tip: Avoid triple, number 11. Next door to resident snorer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cider_with_rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Basic place, 3 bunkbeds in a dorm with bathroom, warm shower, proper toilet, mosquito nets. Own safe in room. Good for backpackers. Breakfast not included.
Lounge good, comefey, free snooker table, tv, plug sockets (UK), have to pay for WiFi.
Bus stop, large supermarket and some shops 5 minute walk away.
Friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josie1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here with a large group (115 people). We bought the place out. Douglas (the owner) is great and very accommodating. He made sure we were happy and content. He even organized tent and chair rental for us. The staff is wonderful. They have a taxi driver on call, Smiley, who is wonderful. They also have a van driven by Fred if you have a decent size group. Overall a great place that is welcoming and clean. The restaurant serves basic, but good, food and beverages for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#11 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
1.8 mi away
Karen Country Lodge
Karen Country Lodge
#7 of 181 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
2.4 mi away
Karen Palace Inn
Karen Palace Inn
#44 of 217 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Karen Inn & Suites
Karen Inn & Suites
#32 of 217 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
0.2 mi away
Purdy Arms
Purdy Arms
#8 of 217 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
1.5 mi away
Margarita House
Margarita House
#31 of 217 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karen Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Camp

Property: Karen Camp
Address: Acacia Drive | Off Marula Ln, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karen Camp and Hostel provides budget accommodation out of the hustle and bustle of Nairobi in the leafy suburb of Karen. The management and quite a few of the staff have been in the hospitality industry for over twenty years. We especially cater for the independent traveler as well as intrepid, expedition orientated safari folk. We have a small bar and restaurant and provide a variety of budget priced accommodation. Please consider us when planning your safari here in East Africa. We look forward to your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Karen Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karen Camp Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing