We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place in Karen, Nairobi. Clean and Friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karen Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Karen Camp
Ranked #17 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place in Karen, Nairobi. Clean and Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here with a large group (115 people). We bought the place out. Douglas (the owner) is great and very accommodating. He made sure we were happy and content. He even organized tent and chair rental for us. The staff is wonderful. They have a taxi driver on call, Smiley, who is wonderful. They also have a van driven by Fred if you have a decent size group. Overall a great place that is welcoming and clean. The restaurant serves basic, but good, food and beverages for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    21
    18
    9
    2
See reviews for
3
18
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Always a pleasant place to stay, food is basic but good, rooms are simple and a bit dated but that adds to the charm, would have given a better rating but the prices seem to continue to go up and nothing really seems to change. You don't always get a towel in your room and some beds don't have great fitting mozzie nets. Would always stay there as feels like home away from home but don't come here if you aren't used to roughing it a little bit!

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank jimmyray38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp, responded to this review, September 23, 2016
Dear Guest,
The place is under new ownership as of February 1st 2016 and we pride ourselves in having ended all of the misgivings the place has suffered from in the past. Do please try us again if ever heading our way ever again.
Thanks,
Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great little place, basic but for Africa to have shower n power at the same time is a luxury! The staff are great, the breakfast is very douable! Even the Kenyan Cowboys are a lot of fun n the drinks just flow! Smiley is a asset to the place always there to take you were ever you need to go, n at any time, n any place for a very reasonable price! Will love to go back there in a heartbeat! It's a easy walk to the shops, just cut across the paddocks ask a local, but don't do at night!

Room Tip: Pay the extra n get a ensuite room, there better than the share bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kate-lips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I often use the Karen Camp when I pass through Nairobi; its cheap and comfortable. Always easy to sit out in the front and chat to people passing through. Its not 4 star but then again nor are the prices

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We waited here for 4 nights in total, at the start and end of our overland trip with tucan travel. we stayed in dorm rooms for 3 nights and camped 1 night and thought it was a great experience. arranged pick up from the airport directly with Karen camp and it was a lot cheaper than other pre arranged pick ups that some people there had arranged. The camp and food is fairly basic but we enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. the taxi drivers, Smiley and Amos were real gentlemen. nice communal area with bar (nice for chilling out with a few beers) and nice gardens and plenty of hot showers. the camp is also close to the karen shopping centre which has great shopping markets, coffee shops, banks, pharmacies etc.... only negative about the camp is no free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmcd83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

It's not luxurious, it's very basic but I stay there often as I need an overnight stay...And sometimes its too much hassle to go into the centre of Nairobi. The biggest downside for me is the lack of wifi. They can arrange airport transfers and I used the same taxi driver to drive me around when I had an afternoon in Nairobi before my return flight.
You are also likely to meet some fascinating people as there are often overland travellers and backpackers staying there that always have a good story to share.
It is difficult to find so take a map for the taxi driver if you don't arrange a taxi through Karen Camp

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saimanjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Karen Camp was the start of my African trip with Tucan, and I booked an extra day there. It was great when I got through customs and there was Smiley holding my name on a sign to take me to Karen Camp. In other words, take advantage of the hotel taxi deal, which you can book through the internet. That was an easy and fast email. The staff was helpful and hooked me up with a "dongle" so I could get internet and use my laptop to email home. They also gave us ideas of what to do with an extra day, so 3 of us went to the elephant orphan place and the giraffe center, as well as a zoo. I had a single room with a shared bathroom and it was comfortable and reasonable. The next night, I was with the group in tents, and big dogs (docile during the day) disturbed my sleep with barking. There are areas where you can have food or drinks and get to know other travelers.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lila068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
2.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#15 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
8.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Purdy Arms
Purdy Arms
#10 of 234 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
3.7 mi away
Wildebeest Eco Camp
Wildebeest Eco Camp
#2 of 234 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Troy Nairobi
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#8 of 234 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karen Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Camp

Property: Karen Camp
Address: Acacia Drive | Off Marula Ln, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karen Camp and Hostel provides budget accommodation out of the hustle and bustle of Nairobi in the leafy suburb of Karen. The management and quite a few of the staff have been in the hospitality industry for over twenty years. We especially cater for the independent traveler as well as intrepid, expedition orientated safari folk. We have a small bar and restaurant and provide a variety of budget priced accommodation. Please consider us when planning your safari here in East Africa. We look forward to your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Karen Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karen Camp Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing