We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Karen Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karen Camp
Ranked #19 of 198 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Basic but fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We waited here for 4 nights in total, at the start and end of our overland trip with tucan travel. we stayed in dorm rooms for 3 nights and camped 1 night and thought it was a great experience. arranged pick up from the airport directly with Karen camp and it was a lot cheaper than other pre arranged pick ups that some people there had arranged. The camp and food is fairly basic but we enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. the taxi drivers, Smiley and Amos were real gentlemen. nice communal area with bar (nice for chilling out with a few beers) and nice gardens and plenty of hot showers. the camp is also close to the karen shopping centre which has great shopping markets, coffee shops, banks, pharmacies etc.... only negative about the camp is no free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmcd83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    22
    19
    11
    2
See reviews for
4
18
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

It's not luxurious, it's very basic but I stay there often as I need an overnight stay...And sometimes its too much hassle to go into the centre of Nairobi. The biggest downside for me is the lack of wifi. They can arrange airport transfers and I used the same taxi driver to drive me around when I had an afternoon in Nairobi before my return flight.
You are also likely to meet some fascinating people as there are often overland travellers and backpackers staying there that always have a good story to share.
It is difficult to find so take a map for the taxi driver if you don't arrange a taxi through Karen Camp

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saimanjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Karen Camp was the start of my African trip with Tucan, and I booked an extra day there. It was great when I got through customs and there was Smiley holding my name on a sign to take me to Karen Camp. In other words, take advantage of the hotel taxi deal, which you can book through the internet. That was an easy and fast email. The staff was helpful and hooked me up with a "dongle" so I could get internet and use my laptop to email home. They also gave us ideas of what to do with an extra day, so 3 of us went to the elephant orphan place and the giraffe center, as well as a zoo. I had a single room with a shared bathroom and it was comfortable and reasonable. The next night, I was with the group in tents, and big dogs (docile during the day) disturbed my sleep with barking. There are areas where you can have food or drinks and get to know other travelers.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lila068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Karen Camp is a great stop if you're doing a long trip and want some down time. It's not so far from central Nairobi that you can't get there fairly easily by bus or taxi, but far enough that you can choose to have a break if you want to. The facilities are fairly basic, but the showers are usually hot, and there are plenty of them. There's plenty of space in the large, pretty garden to pitch your own tents, or you can get a dorm, room or one of their permanent tents, all of which are comfortable, if not luxurious. The bar, food and communal areas are all really nice and the staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful. The area of Karen itself is also nice for a wander around and has a good range of shops, bars and so on.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lr86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

As a backpacker Karen Camp is good. Although the rooms are basic, they still have mosquito nets. It is slightly further of central Nairobi, in a calmer more Ex-pat area. A fair walk, or a quick taxi ride into Karen with all the amenities. There was internet, a pool table, and a tv we could use. They allowed us to call delivery and organised it for us. As a camper aswell there are separate showers and toilets for us to use. Everyone was pretty helpful around, and the dogs didn't bother us at all!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emcrawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed at Karen camp about six years ago, and nothing has changed.
There is still no wifi, the rooms are very basic, and there are big dogs hanging about.
That said, given the lack of choice of decent budget accommodation in this part of Nairobi, the location and helpfulness of the staff made the stay.
They arranged airport picks for us and we could also organise cars once there which was great.
The Only real down side was that we could not access the Internet so were not able to arrange our onwards travel.
This is a fine choice if you want a budget room in the Karen area, however as with most of Nairobi it's not particularly cheap.
Could do with a good clean and upgrade.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brodie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp, responded to this review, September 23, 2016
Dear Guest,
The place is under new ownership as of February 1st 2016 and we pride ourselves in having ended all of the misgivings the place has suffered from in the past. Do please try us again if ever heading our way ever again.
Thanks,
Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

If you plan an overstop in Nirobi is ok for one or couple nights .. but is far from anything and our driver had hard time finding the camp we got lucky to see a overland truck and told him to follow, and surprise we arrived to plce we need. Well is full of overland trucks which i guess has good deals for them but if you're on your own is a bit pricey for what you get, ad about cleanliness, well depends what you're heading from if you just arrived from overland trip it will look great :) otherwise it need some cleaning. But place is friendly, always full with people, food was ok and their garden looked nice. But if you need to be in the city better to find somthing with better location.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afinanika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp, responded to this review, September 23, 2016
Dear Guest,
The place is under new ownership as of February 1st 2016 and we pride ourselves in having ended all of the misgivings the place has suffered from in the past. Do please try us again if ever heading our way ever again.
Thanks,
Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
2.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#14 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
8.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#4 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#3 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cold Springs Karen Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Margarita House
Margarita House
#19 of 248 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karen Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Camp

Property: Karen Camp
Address: Acacia Drive | Off Marula Ln, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 198 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karen Camp and Hostel provides budget accommodation out of the hustle and bustle of Nairobi in the leafy suburb of Karen. The management and quite a few of the staff have been in the hospitality industry for over twenty years. We especially cater for the independent traveler as well as intrepid, expedition orientated safari folk. We have a small bar and restaurant and provide a variety of budget priced accommodation. Please consider us when planning your safari here in East Africa. We look forward to your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Karen Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karen Camp Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing