We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“No wifi but good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karen Camp
Ranked #47 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No wifi but good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed at Karen camp about six years ago, and nothing has changed.
There is still no wifi, the rooms are very basic, and there are big dogs hanging about.
That said, given the lack of choice of decent budget accommodation in this part of Nairobi, the location and helpfulness of the staff made the stay.
They arranged airport picks for us and we could also organise cars once there which was great.
The Only real down side was that we could not access the Internet so were not able to arrange our onwards travel.
This is a fine choice if you want a budget room in the Karen area, however as with most of Nairobi it's not particularly cheap.
Could do with a good clean and upgrade.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brodie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    19
    18
    9
    2
See reviews for
3
16
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

If you plan an overstop in Nirobi is ok for one or couple nights .. but is far from anything and our driver had hard time finding the camp we got lucky to see a overland truck and told him to follow, and surprise we arrived to plce we need. Well is full of overland trucks which i guess has good deals for them but if you're on your own is a bit pricey for what you get, ad about cleanliness, well depends what you're heading from if you just arrived from overland trip it will look great :) otherwise it need some cleaning. But place is friendly, always full with people, food was ok and their garden looked nice. But if you need to be in the city better to find somthing with better location.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afinanika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at Camp Karen as part of a safari tour. We paid $100 a night for a family room and for what we got I think this was a bit poor. The first 2 nights my partner and I had a room with an en suite and the two children a separate room with a shared bathroom. Although this does not sound too bad, the rooms and en suite were very basic. When we returned from our safari for 3 nights we were all put into 2 separate rooms with shared bathrooms and a bed that sagged very badly in the middle. All this was despite the fact that we saw the "luxury" rooms advertised for $80 per night everywhere throughout the camp. We did go in to look at these luxury rooms and they were very nice. On the plus side, the breakfasts and food - although mainly in the eggs, sausage and chips line - was very good value. And the laundry service was cheap and good.
Karen is probably not the best place for kids as it is very noisy and lots of drinking going on at the time we stayed there. But the staff were great with our kids (and us) and the kids loved the dart board and the dogs. Although the walks to nearby sites in Karen such as the jewelry factory, town itself and museum are fairly long, they are do-able and we felt very safe walking around.For places further afield taxi rides arranged from Karen Camp were a bit steep. Overall we met some nice people there, including the staff, and had some fun times, but the accommodation needs to be updated and they should have some sort of curfew on the drinking and noise. Also I agree free internet access would have been the least we could have had - especially for what we paid.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

I appreciate you get what you pay for however even so there is no excuse for the lack of cleanliness. I'd spent 10 days in Kenya without being bitten and was covered when I left Karen Camp and I'm not entirely convinced it was the mosquitos.

Lack of wifi was disappointing too.

On the plus side the food was good and staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marlonbunyip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

On arrival the greeting was very friendly, staff nice and bar busy. Unfortunately I had reserved a single ensuite, they had run out so provided a single, shared bathroom. The room was basic but suitable for a stop over. The bathroom again was basic, no hot water in the showers but acceptable for a stop over. Not a particularly clean hotel which is surprising considering the number of staff.

Food acceptable but basic.

As a dog lover I enjoyed the 'dog friendly' atmosphere, however the chairs in the TV area are riddled with fleas.

The location to the majority of attractions is pretty good, within walking distance of a few.

The major downfall of this hotel is the lack of internet/wifi. It is only available if you plug in your own computer. I feel this is unacceptable for todays modern traveller, particularly with it being the pick up/drop off for so many group tours. Friends struggle to confirm flights/trips because of this.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

Rooms could be cleaner and are dated/sparsely furnished.

People are nice but place has general dingy feel of neglect.

"Free Wifi" turned out to be not only a usb dongle with sim card (not Wifi) but also not free!!
As this is advertised as bold on the website its a bit cheeky.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattcooke123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

You get what you pay for. The price for a basic room is reasonable for Karen and includes a full breakfast. The room I stayed in was clean and offered a non working outlet, plenty of storage space, mosquito net, and shower with no hot water. As I had traveled to Nairobi to relax for a few days, I was mildly disappointed. The staff however, are very welcoming and aim to please. If you are looking for a quiet place to stay, this may not be the place for you as this is a frequent "watering hole" for the ex-pates and also a base for overland safari groups. All in all, I would only recommend Karen Camp to budget minded backpackers.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naserian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#13 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
1.8 mi away
Karen Country Lodge
Karen Country Lodge
#7 of 181 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
2.4 mi away
Karen Palace Inn
Karen Palace Inn
#43 of 217 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Karen Inn & Suites
Karen Inn & Suites
#31 of 217 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
0.2 mi away
Purdy Arms
Purdy Arms
#8 of 217 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
1.5 mi away
Margarita House
Margarita House
#30 of 217 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karen Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Camp

Property: Karen Camp
Address: Acacia Drive | Off Marula Ln, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karen Camp and Hostel provides budget accommodation out of the hustle and bustle of Nairobi in the leafy suburb of Karen. The management and quite a few of the staff have been in the hospitality industry for over twenty years. We especially cater for the independent traveler as well as intrepid, expedition orientated safari folk. We have a small bar and restaurant and provide a variety of budget priced accommodation. Please consider us when planning your safari here in East Africa. We look forward to your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Karen Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karen Camp Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing