We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touch of colonial Kenya”

Tamambo Karen Blixen
Ranked #15 of 976 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Tamambo Karen Blixen Restaurant has moved to a beautiful peaceful garden setting on Ngong Road on the site of the original Dari Restaurant and is now called TAMARIND BRASSERIE. The Restaurant is open 09.00am through to 11.00pm. Diners have a fine choice of different areas for lunch or dinner. There is the indoor restaurant with adjacent outdoor terrace and garden, for a la carte dining. There are also a variety of functions areas and a vibrant sports bar.
Reviewed February 24, 2019

The location is by the Swedo house, the house of the manager of the Karen Brixen's coffee farm. Before, it used to be a French restaurant but now it is run by Tamarindo group and is more casual. This time, I ate Ostrich Burger that was juicy and delicious. The service is not that quick, so when you are pressed by time, you may feel a little uneasy, but hey, this is not a quick joint. You should enjoy the time here looking over the beautiful garden and feeling the touch of colonial Kenya.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank NatS609
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2019

Dear Nat,So glad to hear you enjoyed your lunch at Tamamo and found the ostrich burger delicious. We apologize for the slow service and have passed on your comments to the team for corrective measures. Thanks for checking us out and taking the time to share. Hope to see you again if you're ever back in town! KInd regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 183 of 1,294 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2019

Nice outdoor seating, a buffet with plenty of options and friendly people. I think they also have an A La Cart menu but we didn't check it out. It's a great place to stop after visiting the Elephant and Giraffe sanctuaries. The cocktails are made in front of you, which makes for a nice touch. Grounds were clean, bathrooms were spotless.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Nomansisanisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2019

Hello, Thanks for checking us out and taking the time to share your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you were pleased with your visit and enjoyed the outdoor seating, the buffet and cocktails. We always aim to ensure the food, drinks and service offered are kept to a high standard and we are happy to have succeeded on this occasion. Many thanks for taking the time to give us review Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2019 via mobile

Great food, service, and grounds. Worth the visit. Staff helpful. We were there for dinner and if you can stay after dark the place is an experience worthwhile.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Marlo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2019

Dear Marlo,So glad to hear you enjoyed your meal at Tamambo and thanks for checking us out and taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to hear that the staff were helpful, and the food service and grounds were good. Your enthusiastic feedback has been shared with the entire team and is a super boost to their efforts. We hope you will pass by again in the future. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2019 via mobile

As we walked in carnival we were highly welcomed and we were served very well plus the entertainment that made us happy.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 92rylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2019

Dear Rylee,Thank you for the great 5 star review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience and you were served well and the entertainment was to your liking. any thanks for the feedback which has been passed to all concerned. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2019

The range of food was great and the staff helpful and accommodating to cater to special food requirements

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vera A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review. We are delighted you chose to celebrate a milestone birthday with us and found the range of food good and the staff helpful and accommodating. We always aim to give the best of food and service and we are delighted that we were successful and made a positive impact on this special celebration. Thank you again for taking the time to give us feedback. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamambo Karen Blixen also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Tamambo Karen Blixen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.