We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend for a very good dinner”

Tamambo Karen Blixen
Ranked #15 of 976 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Tamambo Karen Blixen Restaurant has moved to a beautiful peaceful garden setting on Ngong Road on the site of the original Dari Restaurant and is now called TAMARIND BRASSERIE. The Restaurant is open 09.00am through to 11.00pm. Diners have a fine choice of different areas for lunch or dinner. There is the indoor restaurant with adjacent outdoor terrace and garden, for a la carte dining. There are also a variety of functions areas and a vibrant sports bar.
Reviewed January 17, 2019

I came with two friends here. I took the highland meat and this did not disappoint me at all. The food was excellent. Only suggestion is not delay the serve of the aperitives. But I learnt and accept already the expression that "Europeans have a watch, Africans have the time". With my friends, the salmon and shrimps were excellent too. Also the wine card was superb. If you search an enjoyable place for dinner x really good food, this is one best choice.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GUyS431
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2019

Dear Guy, So glad to hear you enjoyed your dinner with your two friends and many thanks for checking us out and taking the time to share your feedback which has been passed to our team. We are delighted that you found the food excellent and the wine list superb but I apologise that the aperitif service was delayed and we will take corrective measures to improve the service in this regard. We Hope to see you back again soon. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 193 of 1,294 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2019 via mobile

Amazing setting. The starters were ALOT but tasty. However I was disappointed by my main course I went for the 500gr steak which was not tender at all! It was a nightmare to cut pieces with a steak knife.. that’s is why I cannot give 5stars.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Umutesiali
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2019

Dear Umutesiali, thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that overall you had a good time, enjoying the amazing setting and the tasty starter. However we are sorry to hear that your main course steak was not the best. We sincerely appreciate your honest feedback and we have passed your comments on to the chef for immediate corrective action. We trust that this will not deter you from visiting us again. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2019

Me and my family had a very good lunch at Tamambo after visiting the Karen Blixen Museum. Good food and good service to a very reasonable price, The menu was big enough for everyone to find something they liked.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 555matsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2019

Hi there! So very happy to hear that you and your family were all pleased with your lunch after visiting the Karen Blixen Museum and found the food and service good and the price reasonable.Thanks for checking us out and taking the time to share your feedback which has been passed to the team who try to provide the best of food and service and will be delighted to hear that they have succeeded. Many thanks again for taking the time to review. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2019 via mobile

The ambience was superb and the food was splendid. I would recommend the place to anyone coz the service was absolutely fantastic.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2019

Dear Kate, So glad to hear you enjoyed your dinner here, and thanks for checking us out and taking the time to share.We are delighted you found the ambience superb and the food splendid. Your positive feedback has been passed to all concerned and is a great boost to their efforts. Hope to see you again if you're ever back in town! kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2019

i was taken there by one of my kenyan friend and i was amazed by the staff there,so friendly and they know how to deal with guest,there service flow is swift n up to standard

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank helmut g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2019

Dear Helmut, what a great review, many thanks. We are so happy to hear that your visit to Tamambo was better than expectation and you found the staff friendly, and the service flow swift and up to standard. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear encouraging reviews such as this and we will be sure to let the team know that they made a positive impact on your meal. Thank you again for the feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamambo Karen Blixen also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Tamambo Karen Blixen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.