We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”

Tamambo Karen Blixen
Ranked #15 of 976 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Tamambo Karen Blixen Restaurant has moved to a beautiful peaceful garden setting on Ngong Road on the site of the original Dari Restaurant and is now called TAMARIND BRASSERIE. The Restaurant is open 09.00am through to 11.00pm. Diners have a fine choice of different areas for lunch or dinner. There is the indoor restaurant with adjacent outdoor terrace and garden, for a la carte dining. There are also a variety of functions areas and a vibrant sports bar.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

We ate lunch at Tamambo Karen Blixen today, and were disappointed with the quality of the food. The Kachos (Kenyan Nachos) did not have any cheese, and were greasy and tasteless. My husband and I both had the paneer curry - the paneer was overdone and so was very chewy. This restaurant does not deserve to be number 9 on TripAdvisor for Nairobi - it is overrated and overpriced. The only positive things we can say is that the garden is nice, the service was fast, and the portions are large (but it's a case of quantity over quality). We would not recommend this place if you want good food.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Patricia7660
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Dear Patricia, We would like to thank you for taking the time to advise of your recent lunch at Tamambo. It was extremely disappointing to read of your unsatisfactory experience and your disappointment with the food quality, particularly the Kachos which were greasy and tasteless and the paneer curry which was overdone and chewy. It is certainly discouraging to hear that we fell way short of our customer service mark, which is to provide the best food and service for each and every one of our guests and your feedback has been passed on to the chef for corrective action. Please accept our apology for your disappointing meal and I hope you will give us another chance in the future. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 219 of 1,294 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2018

a brilliant place for lunch The service, food and ambience were excellent.
The Piri Piri prawns are a must
The artwork from a local artist is bright and interesting

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Dear Nigel, Thank you for taking the time to post such a rave 5 star review. It is such a pleasure to hear that thought the service, food and ambience were excellent particularly the prawns piri piri. Our dedicated team work really hard to offer the best of food and service in the most lively environment so I am very happy to see that reflected in your visit. Your compliments have been passed to all concerned and are a great boost to their efforts. Thank you for the feedback. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

We went for a late lunch after visiting the Karen Blixen museum. Service was great and food delicious. On my way out I was looking at some of the art work displayed , I spot some lovely peices with lions on and our driver tried to indicate to us the price was too high . I decided to look on the internet and found the exact peice I was looking at mass produced and available for $17.95 . Please be cautious before buying art work from here . See picture attached .

I would have scored 5 otherwise .

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank TheBogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Dear Bogle, Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that overall you enjoyed the meal and thought the service was great and the food delicious. However we are sorry to hear that you felt the artist mass produced his painting and was charging to much. We have informed the artist of your thoughts. .Many thanks again for the feedback. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018

We truly enjoyed lunch here -- local artists also sold their artwork here. We were seated in a gazebo and enjoyed the beautiful gardens and surrounding area. Nice gift shop too.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Vegasthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2018

Dear Vegas, many thanks for your rave 5 star review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your lunch enhanced by the beautiful gardens and the local artists selling his artwork. We appreciate your favourable comments which are a great acknowledgement of our dedicated team. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

If you’ve been out visiting the elephant orphanage or giraffe center stop by Tamambo on your way home. This restaurant offers a quiet respite from the congested traffic just meters away. With ample indoor and outdoor seating and colorful locally inspired artwork, the ambiance not only the food will provide memories.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Discount_Davy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2018

Dear Davy, Thank you very much for your rave review and for the perfect rating. We are delighted that you chose to stop off at Tamambo for lunch and that you enjoyed the experience finding the the environment a quiet respite from the congested traffic. Your positive comments have been passed to all concerned and are a great acknowledgement of their dedicated service. Many thanks again for the feedback. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamambo Karen Blixen also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Tamambo Karen Blixen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.