We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Historic Place”

Tamambo Karen Blixen
Ranked #15 of 976 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Tamambo Karen Blixen Restaurant has moved to a beautiful peaceful garden setting on Ngong Road on the site of the original Dari Restaurant and is now called TAMARIND BRASSERIE. The Restaurant is open 09.00am through to 11.00pm. Diners have a fine choice of different areas for lunch or dinner. There is the indoor restaurant with adjacent outdoor terrace and garden, for a la carte dining. There are also a variety of functions areas and a vibrant sports bar.
Reviewed July 17, 2018

Good place, historic but please avoid buffet its bad !!!! if you want to visit for lunch go for al carte.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank UtsavManjari
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

Dear Utsav, thank you for your review. We are glad that overall your experience was positive though we are disappointed to learn that the buffet was bad! We have passed on your comments to the chef and will definitely investigate and take corrective action ensuring that in future the buffet meets with expectation.thank your for your candid feedback. . It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able maintain and indeed where necessary improve upon the services that we provide and we thank you for your valuable comments. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 255 of 1,294 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2018 via mobile

Such a lovely place - situated in a garden, you are sitting under the trees. Menu choice is excellent - a la carte and also there could be a buffet. We chose q la carte and enjoyed some great wine, oysters and traditional chicken masala.

Attentive stuff, great service, prices are on the high end for Nairobi.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank martinab381
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

Dear Martina, Many thanks for your fabulous five start review. We are delighted to hear that your lunch was pleasant sitting under the trees and you enjoyed the menu choices,particularly the oysters and chicken masala. and found the staff attentive. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear such complimentary reviews such as this and we will be sure to let our dedicated team know what a positive impact they made on your dining experience. Thank you again for the feedback. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2018 via mobile

The atmosphere is great, a very nice and taken care of garden. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The food came fast and it was delicious. The prices are a bit higher than in other places but nothing really expensive.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank ToniTijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2018

Dear Toni, Many thanks for your fabulous five star review. We are delighted to hear that your meal met with expectation and the food was delicious and served fast by the accommodating staff. Your positive feedback has been shared with the team and is a great acknowledgement of their efforts to provide good food and service. Thank you again for taking time to review. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

The food was very average and the atmosphere was neither picturesque nor relaxing. You basically feel like just eating and getting out.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Dear Michaelo, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your restaurant visit did not meet with expectation and that the food was average and the atmosphere nether picturesque nor relaxing. Your remarks are very surprising and disappointing. We serve several customers each week and as you can see from other reviews, the comments are usually complimentary. Nonetheless we appreciate your feedback which has been shared with the team for action and improvement. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

Good food in beautiful outdoor settings! Friendly staff but service is occasionally somewhat slow. Sundays are buffet days.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank 75mickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2018

Dear Micke, thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your lunch in the beautiful outdoor setting. We are however sorry to hear that although the staff are friendly the service can be somewhat slow. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention. Your comments has been passed to the team and we are actively working to improve service levels. Many thanks again for the feedback. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamambo Karen Blixen also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Tamambo Karen Blixen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.