We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Tamambo Karen Blixen revisited by Superb Africa Safaris” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamambo Karen Blixen

Tamambo Karen Blixen
Ranked #4 of 512 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tamambo Karen Blixen Coffee Garden Restaurant is located in a beautiful peaceful garden setting on Karen Road, on the site of the original Blixen farmhouse property. The Restaurant is open for breakfast from 06.00Am through to 10.00Pm. Diners have a fine choice of different areas for lunch or dinner. There is the indoor restaurant with adjacent outdoor terrace and garden, for a la carte dining. There are also a variety of functions areas such as the Grand Marquee Sultan style tent, available for 'royal style' wedding functions, dinners and conferences. The Grogan House is a lovely space for private dinners and exclusive functions For many Karen residents, the bar which opens out to a shisha lounge is a popular place to meet and mingle with delicious cocktails and bar snacks and satellite TV.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tamambo Karen Blixen revisited by Superb Africa Safaris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Housed on site of the original farmhouse, this cosy restaurant has been redecorated and extended with an outdoor terrace perfect for alfresco dining.
The menu offers fusion of Tamarind and Tamambo dishes with an array of choices available for lunch and dinner.

Specialty menus for functions and dedicated spaces such as the Grand Marquee Sutton style tent and Grogan House offer exclusivity and privacy for private dinners and functions.
Karen Blixen secures a peaceful location amidst the largest and oldest formal gardens in Kenya.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperbAfricaSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    272
    69
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bar Great, Restaurant Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Love the Mini-Burgers... happy hour bitings are a bit sad.... but happy hour drink prices are very nice! Restaurant is okay...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MVaughters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Quiet Peaceful Place for Coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Went here with a friend who had moved to Nairobi. Though I have worked in Kenya (western part) for over 10 years, I had never found this place. It is just lovely and sitting under the trees having coffee and talking with my friend was a delightful way to spend an afternoon. She drove us there, but I suspect you could get your driver to bring you. And if you need a driver contact me, mine is fantastic.

Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Absolutely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

An oasis in the madness that can be Nairobi. Excellent service, excellent menu, and excellent room. The setting is its greatest asset - quiet, beautiful gardens that feel miles away from the city. Must reveal my partiality - stayed here on the first day of my first experience in East Africa, so it will always hold a special place for me, particularly because the staff members were so welcoming

Helpful?
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A bit underwhelming, despite the great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This place has a LOT of charm. One feels so welcome, the staff are great and everyone has friendly smiles. The little gift shop is beautiful (of course much more expensive than other places, but this is at the Karen Blixen Coffee Garden after all)...

The rolling lawns and great service is appreciated. We popped in for lunch (with no reservation) and were promptly seated under one of the trees. Great start. I ordered a juice, my wife ordered a water and a cold drink. The juice arrived... with the cold drink a few minutes later. The water seemed to have been forgotten. Whatever, it was fine, we were relaxed and in a good mood.

A bread basket arrived with more than enough little breads (at least six) - served with butter (olive oil and balsamic were on the table ... a plus!). Things are getting better!

We ordered mains (having politely declined the buffet offer). As we were not too hungry, we ordered a cob salad and a cheeseburger (which is served with chips), which we always share halfway through. Unfortunately, this is where it all fell completely flat. The cheeseburger was just a bun and a patty (which was quite peppery) and a slab of cheese on it... no other toppings on the burger? For Ksh850, I have had burgers that were ten times better in Nairobi (URBAN in Westgate - amazing!). The chips which were served with the burger were a bit cold and looked tired.

The salad, which came in at a cool Ksh1050 (approximately) was served in a deep-fried tortilla-like bowl. The salad itself was fine, but why oh why serve a salad (supposedly healthy option) in such an oil-drenched bowl?! (It was not crunchy at all, just oily, terrible.)

The cappuchino was fine.

Overall, a bit underwhelming. Such a pity, because it really is beautiful and the service is great (despite the water mishap). Perhaps it was just an off day, because the place is clearly popular.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinK2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamambo Karen Blixen also viewed

 

Been to Tamambo Karen Blixen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing