We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience!”

Tamambo Karen Blixen
Ranked #3 of 564 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Tamambo Karen Blixen Coffee Garden Restaurant is located in a beautiful peaceful garden setting on Karen Road, on the site of the original Blixen farmhouse property. The Restaurant is open for breakfast from 06.00Am through to 10.00Pm. Diners have a fine choice of different areas for lunch or dinner. There is the indoor restaurant with adjacent outdoor terrace and garden, for a la carte dining. There are also a variety of functions areas such as the Grand Marquee Sultan style tent, available for 'royal style' wedding functions, dinners and conferences. The Grogan House is a lovely space for private dinners and exclusive functions For many Karen residents, the bar which opens out to a shisha lounge is a popular place to meet and mingle with delicious cocktails and bar snacks and satellite TV.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice experience!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Nice place to relax, food is ok, have had one bad experience with chicken salad and food poisoning. Sundays buffet are average though

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    300
    83
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good but inconsistent”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I've been a frequent visitor to Tamambo during my business trips to the region. We often take guests there for lunch and dinner. The gardens are great and the lunch service is very good and well presented. Often the Manager is at the front, helping out and keeping things running smoothly. The food and menu is only one step below the nearby Talisman, Open House and Haru.restaurants.

However, once the sun sets it can be a different story. Evenings can be frustrating with no sign of management, staff pooled at the bar and extremely slow service. The food is still good but it is unfortunate to have to beg for it.

Helpful?
1 Thank jared c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Inconsistent but great for Lunch”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I go to Tamambo often but have a love hate relationship. Lunches are well presented and the service is great. Often with the Manager helping out on the front line. The food has improved greatly and the menu is varied. Just one step down from Talisman and Haru.

However, wait until the sun sets and you will see a different story. On the last two occasions I stopped for dinner I practically had to beg for food and then again for the bill.

Sad

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jared c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and surroundings”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had lunch here after a very busy morning. The surroundings are gorgeous and present many great photo opportunities. We sat outside as it was a very warm day, however our table was slightly in the shade provided by a tree that must have been 100+ years old.
The food was gorgeous. It was lunchtime and lady recommended I try the burger as they are "the best in Nairobi". Well I only tasted one burger in Nairobi, but plenty around the world and this has to be up there with the nicest burger I have ever tasted. Presentation was fantastic and the price was also very reasonable. My wife had prawns and they were lovely too. Great quality food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bookieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“An oasis after a long drive.”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

It had a colonial and appearance and the charm of yesteryear with lovely tables set up on the beautiful lawns and outside verandahs. It gave it a very colonial grand touch. The food was tasty and

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank getaway25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamambo Karen Blixen also viewed

 

Been to Tamambo Karen Blixen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing