We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed staying in Kenya” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maasai Ostrich Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maasai Ostrich Resort
Ranked #61 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I enjoyed staying in Kenya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Although the hotel isn't the best in terms of cleanliness .i like the service they provide. The staff are friendly and they do not expect tips since it's in Africa. I hope to stay there when I visit again

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Livingout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
1
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I visited the ostrich farm on a lazy weekend with the express aim of riding an ostrich for the first time in my life. The first time I went there i was scared of riding the ostrich which is why I was now determined to pull it off. The establishment is in an old colonial style house. The drive there is long but the road is in good condition. The distance makes it a lovely getaway because there is very little outside distraction.

I got there at lunch time and was lucky to find the place not very busy. The reception guys were very helpful and they even agreed to move me to a different room after they showed me a much bigger room which I instantly liked. I was lucky that the weekend was not very busy. The bathroom (quite large) has a bathtub (a bonus) and the hot water is reliable.

I had a platter dish with various meats with ostrich meat being the highlight. I had forgotten how it tastes. Dinner was equally good but generally plain so the highlight was actually the different types of meat available, which I really enjoyed.

There was not much for me to do at the place so I ended up chatting with other guests in the evening. There is a swimming pool that is well kept. Good for those hot afternoons that Kajiado tends to have. They also had a bbq on Sunday and events for kids such as facepainting.

The next morning we went on a tour of the farm during which we learnt a lot about rearing of ostriches. At the end of the tour, the ostriches that we were to ride were brought to the riding area.

The ostrich riding is quite safe because there are two guides who help the visitor sit on the bird without falling off and then they guide the bird around the area. If you are brave enough, they make it run.

I enjoyed the stay and relaxed quite a bit. Definitely worth another visit.

Room Tip: The rooms inside the house are much warmer than the tents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin_Wahogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I was there on 15th Jan. Its a nice and cool place to see. The guided tour shows you the life cycle of ostriches. You will definitely enjoy, if you are an animal lover. You can have a ride over tamed ostriches. The staff is really cooperative. In the end you can also taste the dishes made with ostriches meat. Its a nice relaxing place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noman1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We went here with my business partners and our families for an end year reunion. The food, though pricey was mostly cold.

Other than a pool, TVs, swings for the kids and ostrich rides there is nothing really that exciting to do the whole time/day.

You end up retreating into groups to talk but nothing actively communal to do as a group in-spite of the great exclusive location with wide spaces.

Most of the greener outdoor places were muddy, a sign that the area floods during rain season.

Either there is no adequate parking or it was simply not thought through hence vehicles were merely heaped along the karb which was not interesting.

The staffs were helpful though and the kids enjoyed the separately paid pool.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DominicM969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This place is located a fair ways outside of Nairobi, so it ended up being over an hour's drive for us. Still, it was well worth the trip (once, anyway - I don't know that I would go back unless I had guests from out of town who wanted to experience the novelty of riding an ostrich). The resort is a little run down, but still makes for a pleasant afternoon. I took my three kids and they enjoyed the playground, inflatable bounce house, and the pool. We had a delicious lunch of nyama choma, which is basically a giant plate of various grilled meats - Ostrich meat is surprisingly good! The highlight of our visit, though, was when the kids got to clamber up onto a saddled, 6 foot tall ostrich and ride it around. Those birds can really move! We also took a tour of the ostrich farm, which was very interesting and we all came back with our heads filled with Ostrich trivia. Bottom line: not a bad way to spend an afternoon if you're looking for an easy day trip out of Nairobi

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holtsville, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Located about 30 minutes from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, the Maasai Ostrich Resort was a fun last stop before we headed home. If you are planning on visiting this resort I would recommend taking an afternoon trip here and not spending the night as it is a fairly pricey resort, unless you are with children as this facility has a pool, playground, bounce house and many other activities for kids to enjoy. The facility has a nice outdoor restaurant where they grill various meats including ostrich and provide you with the opportunity to view the farm (which is home to some 30,000 ostriches) and even ride an ostrich if you choose. If you have never tried ostrich meat I would highly recommend it, we expected it to taste like duck, or goose, or some kind of gamey poultry but it was far from that. The ostrich meat was more similar to a steak in flavor but the texture of brisket. So if you have some extra time on your vacation I would recommend a nice day trip to this resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were a large family group visiting this hotel from central Nairobi for the day. We did not actually sleep in the hotel so stars are given based on what we saw when looking round.
Unfortunately, the place is a difficult drive from Nairobi so try to go on the way to or from somewhere else. The last stretch had unmade road (about 20-30 minutes). It is a remote place so it is very relaxing and has a good atmosphere with lots of ostrich hide decorations. It was clean and reasonably well cared for. There is an outdoor swimming pool and children's play area. We did the ostrich tour (30-40 minutes) which was interesting as you are told a lot about them and can see them at different stages in their development. Finally, each of us had an ostrich ride which was great fun. There is currently only 1 ostrich capable of doing this and if you look too tall/fat it is not possible to ride, only to sit on. The meal was very pleasant but noone wanted ostrich as we had got too friendly with them!!! An interesting trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anita3695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Weston Hotel
#38 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
The Ndemi Place
#44 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Meltonia Luxury Suites
Meltonia Luxury Suites
#51 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Place Hotel
#118 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
House of Waine
#12 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Hotel Rio
#89 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maasai Ostrich Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maasai Ostrich Resort

Property: Maasai Ostrich Resort
Address: Kitengela | Kajiado district, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Maasai Ostrich Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing