We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Never ridden an Ostrich? This is the place to try” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maasai Ostrich Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maasai Ostrich Resort
Ranked #59 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Never ridden an Ostrich? This is the place to try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This place is located a fair ways outside of Nairobi, so it ended up being over an hour's drive for us. Still, it was well worth the trip (once, anyway - I don't know that I would go back unless I had guests from out of town who wanted to experience the novelty of riding an ostrich). The resort is a little run down, but still makes for a pleasant afternoon. I took my three kids and they enjoyed the playground, inflatable bounce house, and the pool. We had a delicious lunch of nyama choma, which is basically a giant plate of various grilled meats - Ostrich meat is surprisingly good! The highlight of our visit, though, was when the kids got to clamber up onto a saddled, 6 foot tall ostrich and ride it around. Those birds can really move! We also took a tour of the ostrich farm, which was very interesting and we all came back with our heads filled with Ostrich trivia. Bottom line: not a bad way to spend an afternoon if you're looking for an easy day trip out of Nairobi

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
2
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Holtsville, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Located about 30 minutes from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, the Maasai Ostrich Resort was a fun last stop before we headed home. If you are planning on visiting this resort I would recommend taking an afternoon trip here and not spending the night as it is a fairly pricey resort, unless you are with children as this facility has a pool, playground, bounce house and many other activities for kids to enjoy. The facility has a nice outdoor restaurant where they grill various meats including ostrich and provide you with the opportunity to view the farm (which is home to some 30,000 ostriches) and even ride an ostrich if you choose. If you have never tried ostrich meat I would highly recommend it, we expected it to taste like duck, or goose, or some kind of gamey poultry but it was far from that. The ostrich meat was more similar to a steak in flavor but the texture of brisket. So if you have some extra time on your vacation I would recommend a nice day trip to this resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were a large family group visiting this hotel from central Nairobi for the day. We did not actually sleep in the hotel so stars are given based on what we saw when looking round.
Unfortunately, the place is a difficult drive from Nairobi so try to go on the way to or from somewhere else. The last stretch had unmade road (about 20-30 minutes). It is a remote place so it is very relaxing and has a good atmosphere with lots of ostrich hide decorations. It was clean and reasonably well cared for. There is an outdoor swimming pool and children's play area. We did the ostrich tour (30-40 minutes) which was interesting as you are told a lot about them and can see them at different stages in their development. Finally, each of us had an ostrich ride which was great fun. There is currently only 1 ostrich capable of doing this and if you look too tall/fat it is not possible to ride, only to sit on. The meal was very pleasant but noone wanted ostrich as we had got too friendly with them!!! An interesting trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anita3695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

Masai Ostrich Resort is located past Kitengela town, along a long stretch (7km?) of unmade road through farmland.

The place was very empty when we arrived. We were given the pick of their accommodation, rooms within the main building – two which had 2 double beds in each, and one that was a suite though little bigger than the others) and tents in the gardens. We opted for the inside rooms as the weather wasn’t great. The bedroom was huge, with a sofa, table, TV and loads of wardrobe space. You could hold a party in the bathroom and still have space to move, it was that big!

The grounds of the hotel were very attractive, with a pool that looked decidedly green, maybe they don’t bother cleaning it out when the hotel is quiet. Beyond the tents, behind a hedge, are the ostrich enclosures. They will take you on a tour of the farm (at a small cost), something we didn’t do as the weather was poor on the afternoon that we were there.

The food was quite reasonable, both in price and quality. Not surprisingly, ostrich meat was on the menu in various forms. I had the ostrich rolls for lunch, quite chewy as they had been overdone, but the ostrich fillets I had at dinner were very tender and tasty. Breakfast was quite good; a selection of fruits, weetabix, eggs/bacon/sausage and toast, with juice and tea/coffee.

We left the next morning, a Saturday, as I felt that the place didn’t feel so special that I wanted to spend longer. Maybe that was unfair as it probably got busier at the weekend because it wasn’t too far from Nairobi. Perhaps I should have given it the benefit of the doubt and stayed a further night. With better weather on the morning we left, a tour of the farm would have been very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mwingereza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANILA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

After crossing the border from Tanzania to Namanga, Kenya and before reaching Nairobi, we went for a side trip to the Maasai Ostrich Resort in Kitengela, Kenya. This is along the Highway leading from Namanga to Uhuru Highway. It's about 10-minute rough driving from the main highway to the resort. By rough, I mean that it's best to bring along an SUV as the terrain is really rough and rolling. Along the short drive, you'll get a terrific view of the plains and you can hardly see the main highway where you came from.

The resort is like an oasis in a desert. There's a pool and grounds for relaxation. Of course, their specialty dish is the "mbuni choma" or ostrich barbecue. And they taste yummy!! The meat is beef-like in taste and texture..hardly chicken-ish or turkey-ish.....Their strawberry ice cream is quite very good too! Homemade from what I understand...

And while waiting for your choma, you can take a closer look at their ostrich pens and see some of their ostrich. After having our choma, we took the guided tour across the resort. We got to hold a real ostrich egg that weighs much like a bowling ball....according to our guide, they are the major supplier of ostrich meat in restaurants and hotels in Nairobi....quite true considering that they have about 3000 ostrich in their farms.

An ostrich is slaughtered at 8 months because the quality and taste of its meat is achieved during that period of growth. The tour will take about half an hour to an hour...depending on how many pictures you'd like to take along the ostriches....but all in all, it was quite a day-ending to see those big birds in groups and in different age stages....

If you're coming from Namanga, it's not something to be missed!

Helpful?
1 Thank MJMSASAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Weston Hotel
#37 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Park Place Hotel
#122 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
The Ndemi Place
#44 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Hill Estate
Meltonia Luxury Suites
Meltonia Luxury Suites
#54 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
House of Waine
#13 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Osoita Lodge
#23 of 183 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maasai Ostrich Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maasai Ostrich Resort

Property: Maasai Ostrich Resort
Address: Kitengela | Kajiado district, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Maasai Ostrich Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing