We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Don't Make a Special Trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Market

The Village Market
Book In Advance
$75*
and up
Nairobi City Tour
Ranked #13 of 109 things to do in Nairobi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: East Africa's largest entertainment and shopping destination. Description: The Village Market is East Africa's largest Shopping, Recreation and Entertainment destination. The complex is home to over 150 outlets covering 210,000 square feet of retail space, 20,000 square feet of office space in addition to a host of recreation facilities. The mall essentially provides residents of the area with high-end shopping and entertainment, satisfying a niche that was not previously explored. As the name suggests, the complex embodies the spirit of the African market in an open-air setting. To live up to its African theme, are waterfalls, rivers and over 2000 exotic plants and gardens, giving this magnificent shopping centre an edge over other shopping malls. Since its inception 14 years ago, The Village Market has revolutionized shopping while redefining recreation and entertainment. Over the years, the centre has successfully been able to blend modernity and culture to provide an aura of modern shopping.This innovation has not gone unnoticed. Due to its remarkable architectural design, The Village Market has earned numerous accolades including the coveted International Council of Shopping Centres' Design Award.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
137 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Don't Make a Special Trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The Village Market is a small mall that offers a moderately-sized supermarket, two smaller markets and many small shops. There are a few good gift shops, some banks with ATMs, beauty shops, manicure shops, clothing stores, etc. , a food court with an excellent bakery (Tiramisu) and several upscale restaurants. I cannot see this as a destination, but if you happen to be in the neighborhood, you may want to stop in for lunch or dinner. The most interesting thing at Village Market is the African metal art that is scattered about, but I wouldn't forgo some of Nairobi's art museums and galleries in favor of a trip to the Village Market.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SoFudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    71
    28
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Great shopping centre to bring gifts home and to relax!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Nairobi has a number of nice shopping areas. The Village Market is my favorite mall. This unique mall has both an open and closed design. The weather is usually so nice in Nairobi that it's fun to be in a shopping centre that takes advantage of this wonderful climate. It has a range of shops from lower to higher end. It has a very tasty food court and several nice restaurants so that you can take a break and relax. I have not had problems at the Village Market. However, for those who may have concerns, the Village Market has increased security since the Westgate Mall attack.

In addition, for those who like art, the Village Market has a few nice places to purchase contemporary art and jewelry such as Kalabash. You may also want to see the Kitengela Glass kiosk in the mall. You may also want to stop by the Kikoy Co. to purchase Kenyan Kikoy fabrics. For more tourist type art and gifts, you can visit the Maasai Market at the Village Market. (The Maasai Market moves around Nairobi so ask your hotel for when it will be at the Village Market.)

If you want more art options, you can spend several hours at the Village Market. Then, you can go to nearby sites such as the Home Gallery (www.african-tribal-arts.com; + 254 722 703 264) for ceremonial West and East African art and some modern art (paintings). For contemporary and modern art, you can also include a trip to Banana Hill Gallery (see TripAdvisor listing).

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mabel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“"Good place but..."”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

I'm a regular at the food court that was recently renovated. And can i just say "thank u"for dividing the food court into a smoking and non-smoking area. I love the changes and it look like it came with an attitude adjustment from the waiters. They are more friendly. Prime cuts is just the place to eat. The food is fantastic.
My issue is with "TIRAMISU" bakery. Your cakes and pastries are ridiculously overpriced and not worth it at all. What with all your items that one can't pronounce, your chef needs to step it up. I was thoroughly disappointed even with the service. If your craving something sweet i recomend dormans or art caffe. I DO NOT recommend "TIRAMISU".

Helpful?
Thank eunice2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
Level Contributor
107 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great place to chill!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

For anyone planing a trip to Nairobi The Village Market is a great place to visit chill,shop and wonderful lunch. My parents and I just had lunch there and we ordered the chili garlic mutton at Kazana's which came with a choice of rice or naan another plate of kebab and I had a mouth watering plate of grilled lamb chops from Prime Cuts, with a choice of two sides, I chose the coleslaw and fries. The total bill for the two dishes from Kazana's was $1500 schillings = $18.00us and my dish came to $900 schillings = $11.00us plus a bottle of coke. Well worth it!!! I plan to go back when I return from our next road trip. The art cafe which is located on the upper level is another hip place to visit I was there the night prior with some friends and just split a pizza which was very fresh and tasty!!! Plus they had and extensive menu to choose from. Look for more blogs over the next few days!

Helpful?
Thank alyd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

A wonderful elegant setting with many different variety of restaurants ranging from Indian, Chinese, continental etc.

They have the lovely mini golf course, water slides, bowling and cinema. No doubt, one could spend a weekend there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank zahid m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Market also viewed

 

Been to The Village Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing