We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar for a social drink”
Review of Mercury Lounge

Mercury Lounge
Ranked #162 of 566 Restaurants in Nairobi
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Bar for a social drink”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The interior is too dark and should be lightened by painting the walls in lighter colours. Music is also too loud later in the evening making it hard to carry on a conversation. However, the tapas food is good and the drinks and cocktails are served well.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MTILBURY19b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    21
    13
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
HCMC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good drinks”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Never ate here, but the drinks are good and the ambiance is cool. Definitely want to go back and try the food, it does look good1

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank infinitemass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A contender for the best bar in Nairobi”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Mercury Lounge is situated at ABC Centre, which is a little out of the way for the average tourist. So primarily populated by a quite up-market local crowd, and expatriates in the know. For my money, it's a really excellent nightspot. Good selection of liquors, including boutique bourbons, a good choice of single malts, and various quality tequilas, vodkas, etc. (It's the only bar I've been to in Kenya where they serve their vodka chilled as a matter of course.) Excellent staff behind the bar (I've never sat anywhere else). Oh, and they do a free pour, another rarity in Nairobi where the British taught them to carefully and slowly measure the alcohol content. Nice ambiance, can get a little crowded towards the end of the week. Mostly recorded music with the occasional live accompaniment, tastes tend towards Afro jazz. Very pleasant, not too loud so it's possible to have a decent conversation. Also has a reasonably extensive menu, all good. (Needs to be OK because one of Nairobi's better restaurants -- Seven -- is virtually next door.) Pricing is not outrageous if you stick to standard drinks, can add up if you get stuck into the Woodfords, Talisker or Belvedere. To top it off, there's virtually unlimited parking because in the daytime it's a small shopping centre, but at night only the restaurants are open. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Mercury Lounge has so much potential. First, the ambience is great. Really nice sitting both on the inside and outside and great reception when you enter. Order your first drink and then it goes downhill. Perhaps there's a sign somewhere that states 'self service after your first order'. The waiters and waitresses are all hanging around looking busy, but not sure serving who. We had to walk to the counter pretty much we needed top up on drinks. Ok, lets talk food. I have read other reviews saying the food is descent, so I will conclude the ONE AND ONLY time we ate here (pork chops) the chef had a bad day because it came burnt. The music, I must say was quite good.

Helpful?
1 Thank AMigwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Raising the service and lounge bar in Kenya”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Born and bred here in Nairobi Kenya and being a someone that does not shy away from going out from time to time... I have found myself being a complete fanatic about quality and service standards in restaurants and eateries in Nairobi. For lack of another word all I can say is FABULOUS

Mercury Lounge has managed to find the perfect balance between style, ambiance service and food quality. Not wanting to be a walking talking billboard for them, and I am right now... I find their cocktails spot on, the music and the DJ's most excellent and entertaining. I would and will go back again and again and again... go go go its awesome awesome awesome and make sure you try their Mojitos... aye caramaba! :)

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ngethe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercury Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Mercury Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing